We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice for Funchal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Residence
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great choice for Funchal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great option. Not v central, but easy to get into historical centro by bus or taxi. Staff very friendly and helped with any request. Very nice rooms, everything modern and clean. Great spa to chill out after a day out sight seeing. Good restaurants within short walking distance (Barqueiro for great seafood). Lovely sunset

Room Tip: Try to get a room in block C close to the cliff with the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Thank you very much for the excellent review about the hotel and about our services.

We're glad that you enjoyed your holiday and will look forward to seeing you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    313
    88
    23
    11
See reviews for
196
515
38
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlander
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I can honestly say I could find no faults with the Golden Residence Hotel.. The location was perfect. Just outside the noise and hussle & bustle of the main town but near enough for all amenities. (The Forum shopping centre is just over the road).
All staff, from reception to cleaners were happy and helpfull . All facilities were very clean - bedrooms, dining rooms and pool areas - and it appears the staff work hard to keep it so..

Our room in Block C had a lovely seaview and at night the hills looked really pretty with all the distant lights. Room facilities were excellent and the kitchenette behind the wooden doors was a bonus. Just ask reception for a kettle - it will be with you within the hour!!

We chose half board - Food in the restaurant was on a buffet style and was lovely and plenty. The choice was yours to enjoy. Good service here again from the restaurant staff.

I would certainly recommend this to anyone who likes a quiet holiday.

Room Tip: Block C rooms with even numbers are morning sun Block C rooms with odd numbers are cooler until mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FussyGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel and facilities.

On my behalf and on behalf of our team of professionals, I thank you for your kind words.
It is a great pleasure for us to know that you have experienced good and relaxing moments at Golden Residence Hotel and in Madeira.

Hopefully we will welcome you back in a near future!
In the meantime we remain with best regards from the sunny Madeira Island,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just returned to UK from Maderia and wow what a fab hotel this is in a lovely spot near the dramatic cliffs with views to die for. This hotel enabled us to have a peaceful, romantic break with breath-taking scenery. The large sitting area with sofa,eating area and bathroom (with a wet area) was definitely a plus. We also enjoyed the lovely buffet food. The pool is not very big and a bit nippy, but there is a good-sized inside pool and spa facility. The massage I had was excellent and good value -.We would definitely return. The whole Island is so beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizp577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
It was a real pleasure to have had you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel, facilities and about our team of professionals.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us as well as unforgettable and relaxing moments.

The reason we continue improving our services and facilities is to keep being the first choice in our city, and we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

On arrival we were slightly disappointed as the hotel appeared to be a modern concrete complex divided into three separate blocks A, B and C. We were soon very happy though! We were in Block B and had a suite which provided us with a large bedroom, lounge and kitchen area and a balcony with a great view of the sea. Here you get the benefit of self-catering facilities as if in a Villa but combined with the comforts of a modern hotel On going over to Block C which has the restaurant and pools we were amazed by the incredible sea views. The location is excellent because any closer to Funchal and it is much less peaceful, with this location you are close to the Forum a large shopping centre with good supermarkets as well as a number of restaurants and other shops; this really is ideally located as you get peace and quiet but are also close to many amenities. The hotel was spotless, modern and comfortable and has access to the internet in several places should you need this. We didn’t use the spa facilities but guests we spoke to who had were delighted with them.

The staff were excellent, friendly and efficient at all times, especially the young trainees and appeared always to work as part of a team. Although we booked room only we ate in the hotel restaurant one night and were amazed at the efficiency of the operation with even the restaurant manager clearing tables and helping out throughout the evening, that is how the staff work. They were all multi lingual speaking Portuguese, English, French, German and probably lots of other languages too, were informed about local attractions and incredibly helpful at all times.

Buses run at regular intervals into Funchal and stop either immediately outside the hotel (number 1 I think) or near the Forum (number 2) which is then a short walk to the hotel.

We really missed everything about the hotel on leaving and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Please be sure that our main gold is to let our Guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave such positive and memorable experiences throughout your stay.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel and to the sunny Madeira Island, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed her in a side view suite (two people) for 5 nights on a 'rrom only' basis.

Emailed hotel prior to arrival requesting 'good' sea view and was accommodated in block A (block C which is nearest the sea has rooms not suites) Probably had one of the best sea views and also overlooked the banana plantation and (what looked like some derelict) houses next to the hotel. It was not a problem though as it was peaceful and we had morning sun (when it did shine!)
Level 5 of this block gives immediate access to the main road (but noise was never a problem) and a bus stop to Funchal. Also a 5 minute walk to the pleasant Forum Shopping centre which has a great supermarket to stock up on bits and pieces.Its approx an hours walk to Funchal.

Suite
Modern, spacious and spotless.Perfect!

Reception.
There seemed to be numerous new young staff who were all very efficient and friendly.Check in and out was easy and it was never busy.

Pool.
Visited this on a couple of occasions--weather was not good enough for anything more than this. Pool is lovely and there were ample beds. It was very windy when we were there.

Spa.
Visited this to escape the rain and was pleasantly surprised to have sole use of jaccuzi and pool. Didnt use sauna.

Restaurants.
Didnt visit as booked on a 'room only' basis, though did have a drink poolside which was duly delivered promptly by the waiter. There are a few restaurants near the hotel so you dont have to access Funchal to eat. (see my other reviews)

Couldnt fault the accommodation despite it being a fair distance from Fuchal. I did of course know this prior to booking and wanted to avoid any impact of the seafront construction work going on in the centre of Funchal.Its easily accessible by bus no 1 or 2 which stop just outside the hotel.

I would recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: Email hotel prior to arrival with your request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
It it's with great pleasure that we thank you for sharing such good comments with all TripAdivor readers.

We were very happy to have had the opportunity to leave you this positive and memorable experience while staying at our Hotel.

Sincerely hoping that you will consider the Golden Residence for your next holiday, we remain looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Yours sincerely,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

we stayed here for 4 nights b&b was an amazing stay . our room was clean tidy and very comfortable kitchenette was very good . we had a lovely view, we was in block b my mum and partner was above us in block b also . The staff was very helpful and friendly i was sending post cards home and i had been looking for a post box one morning . The receptionist was amazing and very helpful to me and posted my cards which was great help . was a little disappointed with the gym as says open 7 days a week but was not open on a Sunday plus we could not use the sauna, or Jacuzzi till after 5 pm :( . the outside pool was a tad cold but once you got in it was fine has a little changing room by the pool which i thought was a great idea. i thought it was a shame that the floor around the pool side was stony think it would of been better for something different as my hubby and i could not walk around bare footed . also the stones where in the pool :( but overall was a lovely hotel and would go back again next year .

Room Tip: block b room number 605 :) very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like thank you for your comment, which has deserved our best attention.
It is always a great pleasure for us to know that we had the opportunity to leave in our guests positive and memorable experiences while staying at the Golden Residence Hotel.
Concerning your comment, please note that we are one of the hotels in Madeira that does not charge for the use of Sauna, Steam baths and Jacuzzi – because the majority are already charging for it.
Due to the fact that most of our guests spend the day out of the hotel visiting this beautiful island and are back to the hotel at the end of the day; we have decided that only after 17h00 these services should be available for free.
With this management of costs and also thinking about the environment we are able to save and grant that we can continue to have this services for free for some time more…
Certain of your understanding we remain looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Your’s sincerely,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in this Hotel for one week; we booked a suite with (side) seaview. Bed & breakfast only. We stayed in Block B (the hotel has 3 Blocks - you will find the restaurant, swimming pool, sauna in Block C).
The suites are very spacious; the bedroom could be closed off from the living room by sliding doors. We had a little kitchen in our room - couple of plates, cups, glasses etc. were available.
The room was cleaned on a daily basis; the towels were replaced on a daily basis as well. No bath tub.
The breakfast buffet was very nice. Good choice of breadrolls, fresh fruit, yoghurts, eggs, etc. We did not try the dinner buffet.
We could park our rental car next to the hotel at no extra charge. We ate in a couple of restaurants close to the hotel. There are two supermarkets nearby the hotel (on large supermarket in the Forum shopping mall, another one in a building called Centromar).
Madeira is a beautiful island. If you would like to stay in a quiet area of Funchal, I can recommend the Golden Residence Hotel.

Room Tip: The Hotel has 3 blocks. In Block B you will find the reception desk. Block C and B are separated by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
It was a real pleasure to have you as our guests at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel and facilities.

We were happy to know that you enjoyed your holidays and will look forward to seeing you again.

Yours sincerely,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
1.0 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#27 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence

Property: Golden Residence
Address: Rua Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#29 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Residence welcomes you to a enchanting 4-star hotel in an excellent location on the south coast of Madeira. Overlooking the sea and some imposing cliffs, the opportunities for fantastic sunsets are offered every day during your holidays. Once inside, the hotel is built with many open spaces to make the most of the natural light and a modern and luxurious design with comfortable and functional public areas to rest, relax, read or socialize with your fellow guests. The atmosphere is complete with the panoramic sea views and some of the banana plantations still existing in Funchal. More than a hotel, at the Golden Residence you will find the perfect solution for a holiday where well-being and relaxation will take on a new meaning for you. The excellent service and careful attention for small detail is what makes the difference. ... and we encourage you to discover its many charms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing