We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Birthday Celebrations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Residence
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Family Birthday Celebrations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I took my mum away for her 50th Birthday along with my dad and sister.
Upon arrival we found the staff extremely helpful, friendly and spoke very good English.
We had 2 bedrooms located in block C, with one bedroom overlooking the rear of the hotel and one facing the pool.
Bedrooms were well appointed and very spacious, we even had a kitchenette in one room which was great for lunch as we were only half board.

The restaurant was clean and food on most days was delicious, however there were a couple of days where we all tried food which was either tasteless or not of good quality.
The restaurant has a theme each day which offers plenty of variety.

The hotel is located close by the Forum shopping centre and supermarkets.
There is also a great rock pool in the sea, around a 5 minute walk from the hotel which is fun for families.

The thing that made the hotel that more special was on my mum and dad’s birthday, the hotel arranged for a bottle of sparkling wine in the bedroom which proves they go the extra mile!

I would recommend this hotel to families and couples visiting the funchal area.

Room Tip: If you want to be in the hub of the hotel, request a bedroom in C Block where the restaurant and poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Broo72_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It was a real pleasure to have you and your parents as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel and we thank you very much for the excellent review.

Looking forward to welcome you and your parents back at our Hotel in a not too distant future, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    308
    86
    22
    11
See reviews for
192
509
38
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here in Feb 2013 and had a wonderful time, the staff are fantastic, the hotel is spotless and we couldn't have asked for a better location. We stayed for 4 nights and we're already planning a return visit for 7 nights with friends and family - the only thing I would say which is not negitive for me but is for people with kids, there's not much activites for them here so if you have kids over 18months they will probably get bored but if you are a couple, this hotel will not disappoint.

Room Tip: We stayed in the C block which was ideal as thats the block with the pools and resturant and bar. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nalwadda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel and would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

It is a great pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that hopefully we will welcome you back in a near future!

Yours sincerely,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznań
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Location - beautiful view of Cabo Girao, especially at night - looks like a Christmas tree! Too far to walk to Funchal, but there's a good bus service with bus nr 2 stopping just in front of the hotel and bus nr 1 stopping behind building A. (day tickets for 5 euros to buy at reception desk). Close to Forum Madeira - a shopping centre open to 11 pm. You can have nice walks - east to Lido (mainly by public promenade) and west to Camara do Lobos (partly by stone beach, but then along very comfortable wooden path)
Hotel - spacious rooms, a modern look, useful spaces like sun terraces or library; nice staff - starting from room service to managers - we were impressed by the restaurant manager working together with his team. Receptionists very helpful.
Food - good choice, good meats, desserts and home made yoghurt for breakfast. Wnen you have HB, you don't need more than a snack during the day.
Activities - nice idea of the barbecue by the pool, live music at dinners and zumba classes the best ever!

Room Tip: Rooms in building B at the ocean side are very nice but not at the 2nd floor - in the morning plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Please be sure that our main gold is to let our Guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave such positive experiences throughout your stay.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel and to the sunny Madeira Island, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in Madeira & the hotel was better than we expected. All the staff were very helpful & courteous. The reception staff had a lot of useful knowledge & we found Bernard particularly helpful. We were on HB basis and the food was very good, plentiful and with plenty of choice.

Sun terrace was very relaxing and away from the pool if you want peaceful relax.

Rooms were spacious and all good facilities and kept very clean.

Location is good although little far out for walking into Funchal every time but local buses are regular and easy to get the hang of.

A great place for a holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timeshappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

We sincerely hope that you consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holidays.

Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
175 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Madeira is a lovely island and well worth a visit. The type of hotel you choose is important and this is a nice 4 star accommodation right on the coast with great views of the Atlantic.
It's important to note that this is a very quiet location. The loudest things there are the cockerels and howling dogs that 'chorus' on occasion (A bit annoying but it goes with the territory and you can hardly fault the hotel for that - Close your window?).

It is close to shopping and transportation services with easy access to Funchal (About 15 minutes on a bus). You can buy a Giro Pass for the day for about 5 Euros, if you're going to make more than two bus trips it is worth it to get one. If you like a good walk there is a coastal pathway you can walk along and enjoy the views.

On arrival the lobby staff were very attentive and helpful and maintained that kind of service through our time there. It was my Birthday and the hotel had put a bottle of champers in the room with a card, nice touch :-)

Maid Service was again efficient. Bar Service and Restaurant could have been quicker. Everything was a little overly laid back for us. Drinks were slow and tables were not cleaned very quickly for other guests.

We stayed in the centre building and had a large suite. It was clean and spacious with a nice balcony, offering a view of the hillside and the Atlantic. Very relaxing in the evening with a few drinks and snacks. Plenty of storage and a small kitchenette. Living area with a couple of couches and an average sized flat screen TV. Beds were ok but we aren't very keen on the twin beds. There are no rooms with double beds or with a bath according to reception.

We only had a look at the Spa so we can't really comment on the service but it appears to definitely be a place to relax. There is a heated indoor pool in the Spa area as well. There is also a gym available which is well equipped.

All in all, we had a good time here. It is a lovely place to relax and get plenty of peace and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bloozydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for your review about our hotel as well as about our facilities.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us. The reason we continue improving our services is to keep being the first choice in our city, and we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipston on Stour
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were very impressed with Golden Residence. Very comfortable and clean with charming staff who wanted to please us. It is in a good position on the outskirts of the city - a 30 minute taxi ride from the airport (E25 arranged by the hotel and the same friendly driver who took us back there a week later - very proud of his town and gave us a description of the place in his impossible to understand English). The bus service was very good (occasionally late) into the center of the city from a bus stop right outside the hotel.
We were on a B&B basis and the breakfasts were excellent and we also had 2 very good dinners there as well. I cannot praise the staff more highly - all very helpful and smiling. We discovered a lovely restaurant round the corner called Doca do Cavacas (left out of hotel and down to small shopping area and then right down steps almost to the water's edge). The perfect little family (I presume) run restaurant with a small menu of excellent seafood.
As VictorSPbK says in his review, the rooms in Block A which is the top end of the hotel, are a bit noisy. Ours was not at the far top so we didn't hear the road noise but it ran parallel with a block of flats so we heard their noise (plus endlessly barking puppy left on a balcony all day long) and the two buildings side by side channeled the noise upwards. We had to shut the windows at night and use the AC which was a shame.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Regarding your opinion about the noises, it is very important for us that you know that our Guest’s opinions are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

We're glad that you enjoyed your holiday and will look forward to seeing you again in a near future.

Yours sincerely,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Convenient location of the hotel- not far from the down town (15-20 minutes by bus).
20 minutes by walk to the beach Praia Formosa.
Beautiful views from the rooms. Gorgeous panoramic view from the pool area.
Friendly staff speaking main European languages.
But I must mention that building A is located too close to the main thoroughfare - Estrada Monumental and it's pretty noisy in the rooms, especially when motocycles and buses pass by.

Room Tip: To choose a room in Building C
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorSPbK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are sincerely glad to receive your review regarding your stay in our Hotel and are happy that you have enjoyed it.

Sincerely hoping that you consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holiday, we remain with best regards from the sunny Madeira Island,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.9 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence

Property: Golden Residence
Address: Rua Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#29 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Residence welcomes you to a enchanting 4-star hotel in an excellent location on the south coast of Madeira. Overlooking the sea and some imposing cliffs, the opportunities for fantastic sunsets are offered every day during your holidays. Once inside, the hotel is built with many open spaces to make the most of the natural light and a modern and luxurious design with comfortable and functional public areas to rest, relax, read or socialize with your fellow guests. The atmosphere is complete with the panoramic sea views and some of the banana plantations still existing in Funchal. More than a hotel, at the Golden Residence you will find the perfect solution for a holiday where well-being and relaxation will take on a new meaning for you. The excellent service and careful attention for small detail is what makes the difference. ... and we encourage you to discover its many charms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Golden Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing