We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most excellent desserts ever”
Review of Golden Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Residence
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most excellent desserts ever”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

A very nice big appartment in Blok B. Very friendly staff. The food is good but the desserts are really excellent!!! Already looking forward to the next dinner.
Close to the sea. In walking distance of the old town of Funchal and if you don't want to walk you can take the bus. Close to a shopping centre that is open every day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerrysja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel and facilities.

The reason we continue improving our services is to keep being the first choice in our city, and we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    338
    95
    24
    12
See reviews for
217
548
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for 11 nights in mid-February, we were very impressed with this hotel, the staff were lovely, they helped in anyway they could and were always friendly and polite. Slightly disappointed that there was not a kettle in our room and the shower pressure was not brilliant and not very hot but otherwise our room was lovely with a very nice balcony. The restaurant and bar were super and run very well by the manager and his staff. Not a great deal of choice for a vegetarian and a lot of cold meat and cheese and no muesli for breakfast but really that is just being picky, we would really recommend this hotel and it's staff they were some of the best hotel staff we have ever met, from front of house to the cleaners, wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Primarily we would like you to know that we where very pleased to read your review regarding your stay in our Hotel!

We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed for not having a kettle in you room and that the shower was not functioning properly, we which you had let us known; we would have gladly solved this situation for you promptly.

Regarding your opinion about our Vegetarian choices, it is very important for us that you know that our guests opinion’s are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in and everything was immaculate and well run.
Hope the management read my comments in the leaflets asking for them. If they can get the food right (ie. hotter)I would say that in all other ways they cannot improve on what they are doing.
The weather was horrendous but thanks to the lovely room and flat screen t.v. we were not bored.

Room Tip: Ask for Block C closer to the sea and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FIRSTRESPONDER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

On my behalf and on behalf of our team of professionals, I thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers.

Inspite of the weather conditions you encountered, it is a great pleasure for us to know that you have experienced relaxing moments at Golden Residence Hotel and in Madeira.

Hopefully we will welcome you back in a near future!
In the meantime we remain with best regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Fantastic hotel and very clean. Everything is of high standard and the staff were very professional and helpful. Our room was lovely and spacious. I would return to this this hotel without a doubt. the experience made our holiday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aynslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel, facilities and about our team of professionals.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us. Be certain that we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth,England
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Recently returned from a one week stay at this hotel. Judging by the majority of previous reviews we were not likely to encounter any major problems. This proved to be the case. Without repeating over and over what others have said it would just be right to re-affirm that this is a modern,clean,comfortable, and well managed hotel. Two things which we didn't find totally ok were the buffet meals,particularly dinner, which we found to be a little undesirable on some days. This is of course is a personal thing. The other was ants. I notice other reviewers have noted this as well. This was more of an irritation than anything but nevertheless shouldn't be there! Despite a couple of reports to management they seemed unable to cure this. Without that I would have awarded a full five marks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raycblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Primarily we would like you to know that we where very pleased to receive your review regarding your recent stay in our Hotel!

We were so sorry to hear about the ants you had in your room, however Madeira being a tropical Island it is possible to find ants when leaving any food uncovered. However, we are very sorry for this inconvenience.

Please be sure that our main gold is to let our guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave some positive experiences throughout your stay.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin´
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I've always been cautious of 4 star hotels because sometimes they end up being a 3 star, but not in this case.
The hotel itself is only 6 years old and it shows with modern furnishings incredibly ergonomic, well designed and nothing hanging off etc. With 3 young children it was important that we had an indoor heated swimming pool to kill some time during the day, the pool was kept immaculate as was the jacuzzi . We stayed on a b&b basis and ate out in the evenings. The breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choice and freshness and enjoyed the freshly made omelettes most days. There are a number of sea food restaurant's at the bottom of the hill (2 minute walk) where you can enjoy Portugese culinary delights.
The hotel staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough to help our room was cleaned every day! The staff were polite and all spoke good English .
The apartment we stayed in was for a family of 4+1 infant which great because we could all be together, unlike other hotels which insist you on booking two rooms which becomes costly. The room itself was spacious ,well equipped with a balcony overlooking a banana plantation and the sea.
The sea views from the hotel are fantastic and we enjoyed a coffee every morning sat at the end of the pool area after breakfast overlooking the Atlantic . You can go for a stroll up the coast in either direction on well made paths.We hired a car for the week and opted to park it on the road adjacent to the hotel rather that the hotels underground car park (5€/ day) which to be honest wouldn't of broken the bank .
This hotel is a good 4 star , and now I can see why the reviews were so positive before ours.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farmboy227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Family,

It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel, facilities and about our team of professionals.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us. The reason we continue improving our services and facilities is to keep being the first choice in our city, and we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from our third visit to Madeira and stayed for one week for the first time at Golden Residence. We stayed on halfboard terms for one week in a very nice comfortable twin room in A block. The rooms are kept very clean and tidy, the housekeeping standard of care and attention to detail is outstanding. The restuarant (buffet service) is quite small for the size of hotel, it seems to struggle with the number of guests dining even when it is only at 70% capicity. Many of the waiting staff in the restuarant are inexperienced trainees and are under constant pressure to clear tables in between courses - even before you have finished eating! This was particularly annoying at times. The buffet food was varied and a reasonable selection but unfortunately on many occassions only warm or sometimes cold. The hotel position is excellent and is quiet at night for a restful holiday. The bus links into Funchal are excellent and stop outside hotel reception. The walks along the coast in both directions from the front of the hotel are amazing with superb views around each corner.
The reception staff are very polite and helpful. The indoor swimming pool in the basement of A block is OK for a short swim or jacuzzi, but lacks daylight and was not used much during the time we visited. The outdoor pool was not used as the water temperature was cold. The twice weekly entertainment during the evening is very low key so you really need to find something to do in the evenings outside the hotel closer to Funchal. We enjoyed our stay and would probably return on other occasion.

Room Tip: A Block twin rooms have small balconies which caputure any sun during the winter season. Lower C Blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisChristine190722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sincerely glad to receive your review regarding your stay in our Hotel and are happy that we had the opportunity to leave you a positive experience.

Regarding your opinion about our Restaurant, it is very important for us that you know that our Guest’s opinions are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

Sincerely hoping that you consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holiday, we remain wishing you all the best from the sunny Island of Madeira.

Best regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,903 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#20 of 86 in Funchal
236 reviews
1.0 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,140 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#26 of 86 in Funchal
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence

Property: Golden Residence
Address: Rua Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#29 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Residence welcomes you to a enchanting 4-star hotel in an excellent location on the south coast of Madeira. Overlooking the sea and some imposing cliffs, the opportunities for fantastic sunsets are offered every day during your holidays. Once inside, the hotel is built with many open spaces to make the most of the natural light and a modern and luxurious design with comfortable and functional public areas to rest, relax, read or socialize with your fellow guests. The atmosphere is complete with the panoramic sea views and some of the banana plantations still existing in Funchal. More than a hotel, at the Golden Residence you will find the perfect solution for a holiday where well-being and relaxation will take on a new meaning for you. The excellent service and careful attention for small detail is what makes the difference. ... and we encourage you to discover its many charms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing