We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“CONGRATULATIONS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Residence
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“CONGRATULATIONS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in and everything was immaculate and well run.
Hope the management read my comments in the leaflets asking for them. If they can get the food right (ie. hotter)I would say that in all other ways they cannot improve on what they are doing.
The weather was horrendous but thanks to the lovely room and flat screen t.v. we were not bored.

Room Tip: Ask for Block C closer to the sea and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FIRSTRESPONDER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

On my behalf and on behalf of our team of professionals, I thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers.

Inspite of the weather conditions you encountered, it is a great pleasure for us to know that you have experienced relaxing moments at Golden Residence Hotel and in Madeira.

Hopefully we will welcome you back in a near future!
In the meantime we remain with best regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    274
    74
    16
    11
See reviews for
177
447
30
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Fantastic hotel and very clean. Everything is of high standard and the staff were very professional and helpful. Our room was lovely and spacious. I would return to this this hotel without a doubt. the experience made our holiday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aynslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel, facilities and about our team of professionals.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us. Be certain that we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth,England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Recently returned from a one week stay at this hotel. Judging by the majority of previous reviews we were not likely to encounter any major problems. This proved to be the case. Without repeating over and over what others have said it would just be right to re-affirm that this is a modern,clean,comfortable, and well managed hotel. Two things which we didn't find totally ok were the buffet meals,particularly dinner, which we found to be a little undesirable on some days. This is of course is a personal thing. The other was ants. I notice other reviewers have noted this as well. This was more of an irritation than anything but nevertheless shouldn't be there! Despite a couple of reports to management they seemed unable to cure this. Without that I would have awarded a full five marks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raycblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Primarily we would like you to know that we where very pleased to receive your review regarding your recent stay in our Hotel!

We were so sorry to hear about the ants you had in your room, however Madeira being a tropical Island it is possible to find ants when leaving any food uncovered. However, we are very sorry for this inconvenience.

Please be sure that our main gold is to let our guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave some positive experiences throughout your stay.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin´
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I've always been cautious of 4 star hotels because sometimes they end up being a 3 star, but not in this case.
The hotel itself is only 6 years old and it shows with modern furnishings incredibly ergonomic, well designed and nothing hanging off etc. With 3 young children it was important that we had an indoor heated swimming pool to kill some time during the day, the pool was kept immaculate as was the jacuzzi . We stayed on a b&b basis and ate out in the evenings. The breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choice and freshness and enjoyed the freshly made omelettes most days. There are a number of sea food restaurant's at the bottom of the hill (2 minute walk) where you can enjoy Portugese culinary delights.
The hotel staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough to help our room was cleaned every day! The staff were polite and all spoke good English .
The apartment we stayed in was for a family of 4+1 infant which great because we could all be together, unlike other hotels which insist you on booking two rooms which becomes costly. The room itself was spacious ,well equipped with a balcony overlooking a banana plantation and the sea.
The sea views from the hotel are fantastic and we enjoyed a coffee every morning sat at the end of the pool area after breakfast overlooking the Atlantic . You can go for a stroll up the coast in either direction on well made paths.We hired a car for the week and opted to park it on the road adjacent to the hotel rather that the hotels underground car park (5€/ day) which to be honest wouldn't of broken the bank .
This hotel is a good 4 star , and now I can see why the reviews were so positive before ours.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farmboy227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Family,

It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel, facilities and about our team of professionals.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us. The reason we continue improving our services and facilities is to keep being the first choice in our city, and we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from our third visit to Madeira and stayed for one week for the first time at Golden Residence. We stayed on halfboard terms for one week in a very nice comfortable twin room in A block. The rooms are kept very clean and tidy, the housekeeping standard of care and attention to detail is outstanding. The restuarant (buffet service) is quite small for the size of hotel, it seems to struggle with the number of guests dining even when it is only at 70% capicity. Many of the waiting staff in the restuarant are inexperienced trainees and are under constant pressure to clear tables in between courses - even before you have finished eating! This was particularly annoying at times. The buffet food was varied and a reasonable selection but unfortunately on many occassions only warm or sometimes cold. The hotel position is excellent and is quiet at night for a restful holiday. The bus links into Funchal are excellent and stop outside hotel reception. The walks along the coast in both directions from the front of the hotel are amazing with superb views around each corner.
The reception staff are very polite and helpful. The indoor swimming pool in the basement of A block is OK for a short swim or jacuzzi, but lacks daylight and was not used much during the time we visited. The outdoor pool was not used as the water temperature was cold. The twice weekly entertainment during the evening is very low key so you really need to find something to do in the evenings outside the hotel closer to Funchal. We enjoyed our stay and would probably return on other occasion.

Room Tip: A Block twin rooms have small balconies which caputure any sun during the winter season. Lower C Blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisChristine190722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sincerely glad to receive your review regarding your stay in our Hotel and are happy that we had the opportunity to leave you a positive experience.

Regarding your opinion about our Restaurant, it is very important for us that you know that our Guest’s opinions are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

Sincerely hoping that you consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holiday, we remain wishing you all the best from the sunny Island of Madeira.

Best regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked our trip at the drop of the hat in search of sunshine after being surrounded in snow for a month back in the UK and we have not been dissapointed! The hotel staff on arrival were very pleasant and checked us in effortlessly with a breif description of where to find local shops and bus routes, all within a few minutes walk i will add! The hotel staff have a high standard in all they do from cleaning to cocktail making!

The spa is well worth visiting and not overpriced for treatments as is the hair salon (my partner was very happy with the results). The outdoor pool is a little chilly to say the least 19.8 centigrade but was not expecting anything else at this time of year and did still use it to cool down from sun bathing.

We stayed in a non sea view apartment but were still more than happy with the views and if sat on the balcony could still see the sea! the apartment has everything you need to cater for small meals including double hob, fridge, sink etc. It did lack a kettle but boiling a small pan of water was not an issue for me to make a cup of tea, just as quick!

All in all a beautiful location just far enough away from the tourist area to get the 'feel' of local life but close enough to everything you could ever need to have a fantastic time here.

Local taxi to Funchal old town 7 euros from hotel each way. bus is small change.

Would recommend a car for a day or so as can travel around the island in around 5 hours and see much more then you would in a stuffy bus and stop and explore at will! parking in the underground car park is 5 euros a day or simply park alongside block A for free (also a hotel suggestion!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamieleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Please be sure that our main gold is to let our guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave such positive and memorable experiences throughout your stay.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel and to the sunny Madeira Island, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Special design style, modern hotel. Very large and well equipped rooms, super beds. Friendly staff. Lovely view. Busstop in front of the hotel, but we always took a taxi to Funchal, between 7 and 10 euros depending on the traffic. Good breakfast buffet, just stay away from the juice (colmes out of a machine and no good taste). Quality of lunch depends on the chef of the day... Lasagna one week really super and well presented, other day strange taste and totally different look. Buffetdinner is too expensive and not enough choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelgiumPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Primarily we would like to thank you for sharing your reviews.
We are very happy to know that we had the opportunity to leave you such positive experience during your stay at Golden Residence Hotel.

In regards to your opinion concerning the prices of our restaurant, we would like to point out that we have the most accesible prices in comparison with our hotel competitors.

Sincerely hoping that you will consider our Hotel for your next holiday, we remain wishing you best regards from the sunny Madeira Island.

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#13 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
0.9 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#27 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#23 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#10 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence

Property: Golden Residence
Address: Rua Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#30 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Residence welcomes you to a enchanting 4-star hotel in an excellent location on the south coast of Madeira. Overlooking the sea and some imposing cliffs, the opportunities for fantastic sunsets are offered every day during your holidays. Once inside, the hotel is built with many open spaces to make the most of the natural light and a modern and luxurious design with comfortable and functional public areas to rest, relax, read or socialize with your fellow guests. The atmosphere is complete with the panoramic sea views and some of the banana plantations still existing in Funchal. More than a hotel, at the Golden Residence you will find the perfect solution for a holiday where well-being and relaxation will take on a new meaning for you. The excellent service and careful attention for small detail is what makes the difference. ... and we encourage you to discover its many charms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Golden Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing