We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel, great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Residence
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have just arrived back from the hotel and I can not say any bad words about it. Very clean, modern hotel, with an amazing staff. The staff is very helpful, they are nice and they really try to make your stay the best. The hotel has a very nice Spa section, where you can relax. The location is amazing, it is situated on the top of a cliff. The beach is approx 200m. Shops, bars, restaurants are just in a short walk. The bus stops at the front of the hotel and takes 10 min to be in the town center.
I highly recommend this hotel if you would like to relax and enjoy all the beauties of the island.

Room Tip: Rooms are very nice and modern, we have stayed in a room with side sea view and that was a great cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smpepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are sincerely glad to receive your review regarding your stay in our Hotel and are very happy that we had the opportunity to leave you such positive and memorable experience.

Sincerely hoping that you will consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holiday, we remain wishing you best regards from the sunny Madeira Island.

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    261
    71
    15
    11
See reviews for
167
425
26
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks in January in a room in Block C overlooking the pool with great side views of the sea and the hills.The room was clean with plenty of storage space and a kitchen area with a microwave and 2 cooker rings. A good shopping mall within 5 minutes of the hotel with plenty of restaurants in the area. This modern hotel was clean with good indoor facilities. Great pool sauna and spa. The breakfasts were very good and varied and all staff extremely friendly, polite and helpful.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel, facilities and about our team of professionals.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us. The reason we continue improving our services and facilities is to keep being the first choice in our city, and we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portstewart
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

New, modern hotel set across three blocks leading from the main road down to the sea. We were in a room in the block nearest the sea which housed both pools (indoor and outdoor), the spa, hairdresser and the bar and restaurant. Our room was a great size, with "balcony" - we were ground floor - wet room, TV, safe, tea/coffee facilities and mini bar. Fridge and tea coffee were both empty so we filled them ourselves from the local supermarket. Only problem we encountered was ants, loads of them, but we kept them at bay by not leaving stuff out. We also had a slight issue with getting the safe to work (at a cost of €1.50 per day) but this was resolved quickly by the staff on reception. I used the gym and the indoor pool whilst we were there - both were free, as were the sauna and steam room (only available after 5, but this suited as we were out most the day). There was ample parking on the street nearby which saved us the €5 per day the hotel charged for underground parking. All in all a great time, although wifi throughout the hotel would be good, as it is it's only available in the public areas at the moment. We never used the restaurant, breakfast was available for €11 each but as we are not big eaters we would eat at numerous nearby cafes and pay approx $5 for two toasted cheese & ham sandwiches and two coffees. Location wise, it's a way out of the center of town - we had a car which was handy, but it appeared that the island's bus service was very very good and numerous taxis were on hand should you have wanted them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nuzzonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We are sincerely glad to receive your review regarding your recent stay in our Hotel! We were so sorry to hear about the ants you had in your room, we wich you had let us known, we would have gladly solved this inconvenient situation for you promptly.

Please be sure that our main gold is to let our Guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave positive and memorable experiences throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Golden Residence Hotel and remain
with best regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed for a week over New Year for our first time in Madeira. We were amazed at the size of the hotel as it stretches over several blocks. We stayed in Block A which was lovely and quiet, and we had a side view of the sea. Personally, I would avoid Block C as many of the rooms overlook the pool bar area which I think may be noisy when it's busy. The hotel room was a really good size with lots of space and a kitchenette. Only thing we missed having in the room was a kettle. The hotel rooms lack personality, with no pictures on the walls, but other than that, we had no complaints. The staff were very helpful, particularly on reception. Only negative for us was the poor standard of food in the restaurant. Lovely restaurants close by though, so not really a problem. If you are doing any tours, don't use the Madeira Blue Sun company. They were very unprofessional and always late for pick up.

Room Tip: Block A is nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrimelinSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Regarding your opinion about our Restaurant, it is very important for us that you know that our Guest’s opinions are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

We're glad that you enjoyed your holiday and will look forward to seeing you again in a near future.

Kind regards from the sunny Madeira Island,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

we stayed over New year (great Fireworks!!) our room was a good size nice kingsize bed plenty of storage space,with safe (extra charge) kettle, hairdryer etc not sure about the wet room but thats just a personel thing but all clean and tidy as were all public areas and nice indoor/outdoor pools. All staff friendly and nothing was to much trouble. Breakfast was nice with plenty of choice . Hotel enjoys good location on cliff with nice views across sea and beach, its a bit of a wallk to Funchal (took us about an hour) but its very pleasent along the prom there is also a very good public tranport to town with stops right outside hotel.
we had a great stay and would not hesitate to use again

Edd

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edd60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We are sincerely glad to receive your review regarding your recent stay in our Hotel!
Our main gold is to let our Guests know how special they are to us, and I´m happy that we had the opportunity to leave you this positive and memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back at Golden Residence Hotel soon!

Kind regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I chose this hotel after many hours of researching. The main purpose of the trip was to see the New Year fireworks and although it is slightly too far out to view the fireworks, the hotel do a trip to the centre costing 10 euros per person return. There were a few hotels on my list and the main reason I chose this hotel is because Rosana took the time to reply back to my emails whereas other hotels such as Alto Lido never came back to me. It wasn't a problem that the hotel was in different blocks as they were connected by an underground walkway if it was too cold to cross the road with our 8 month old baby. The other reasons for choosing the hotel were because it had an indoor pool, it was minutes away by foot to a large shopping mall, the floors in the room were wooden so easy to disinfect to allow baby to crawl, the airport bus and other buses stop right outside the hotel, Internet was free ( though very poor quality), it had a good breakfast buffet, they provided a baby bath as well as crib for the baby and on hotels.com ( where I normally book all my hotels), it was the best value for money. If I had to point out the negatives, they would be that the toiletries provided are extremely minimal, the hotel is just a little too far out from the centre to walk with a pushchair, the Internet connection though free, was very poor, although the rooms were well decorated in a contemporary style, the wetroom style bathroom really let it down as the black floor gave the impression that the bathroom was not as clean as it could be. A lighter coloured floor would have made all the difference. Also at breakfast, there was orange squash rather than fresh juice. Aside from these minor criticisms, I would recommend this hotel to others, especially to families. I would also agree with the other reviewers that the staff on the whole are all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Decide whether you would prefer an apartment or hotel room. Our apartment was in block A so not in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sordnaxela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay in our Hotel!
We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us. The reason we continue improving our services and facilities is to keep being the first choice in our city, and we´ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guests needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Best regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for Christmas week on a BB basis. This was the first time we had been away for Christmas and was not disappointed. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The rooms were really clean. The breakfast was buffet style with plenty of it and varied in choice. The hotel is situated just outside the main town with a regular bus service just outside the door. Would definitely recommend and hope to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We are sincerely glad to receive your review regarding your recent stay in our Hotel and are happy that we had the opportunity to leave you this positive and memorable experience.

Sincerely hoping that you consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holiday, we remain wishing you and your family all the best for the New Year.

Best regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#22 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#25 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#14 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,584 reviews
0.9 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#10 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,203 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence

Property: Golden Residence
Address: Rua Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#30 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Residence welcomes you to a enchanting 4-star hotel in an excellent location on the south coast of Madeira. Overlooking the sea and some imposing cliffs, the opportunities for fantastic sunsets are offered every day during your holidays. Once inside, the hotel is built with many open spaces to make the most of the natural light and a modern and luxurious design with comfortable and functional public areas to rest, relax, read or socialize with your fellow guests. The atmosphere is complete with the panoramic sea views and some of the banana plantations still existing in Funchal. More than a hotel, at the Golden Residence you will find the perfect solution for a holiday where well-being and relaxation will take on a new meaning for you. The excellent service and careful attention for small detail is what makes the difference. ... and we encourage you to discover its many charms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing