We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madeira Bright Star
Ranked #71 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was NOT a 4 star hotel!! Very tired with no atmosphere - the lounge, reception, bar area (all one space) had no air-con, so it was quite stuffy and there was never anyone using this area and very little staff to offer service. Gave up on ordering coffee or a drink as there was no-one around on several occasions. WIFI only avail in reception, but again on several occasions we and other guests couldn't get connection. Balconies do not have view of sea as described on hotel website, but have view of a nearby hotel car park. Rooms ok but as many others state our bed creaked with every move we made, there was no light on the balcony so we couldn't read out there in the evenings, and one side of the balcony door didn't lock at all. Rumour from other guests who were regular visitors on business and knew the staff stated that staff haven't been paid for several months, Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patriciaannesearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 88 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed there with a kid and a friend of mine. Well, the hotel claims to be a 4 star hotel though i'd say it can have only 3 stars. It is small. Conveniently placed. The room was ok. Though the breakfasts were disappointing. The desserts were not enough for everyone and were not renewed even on request. The service was not of the 4 star hotel. There was just shampoo and no shower gel in the bathroom.(I didn't really care about this having those of my own).
The staff were never smiling and were never going to ask us how we were.Though they answered any questions we asked :)
What amazed me most was sitting at a table outside cost 20 euros per hour.
The island tours offered at the reception were overpriced. So was the hotel transfer to the airport. It's better to eat out in the Dolce vita shopping center that's nearby. It's cheaper and better.

Room Tip: Rooms ending with 1 have smaller balconies (say 101, 201 etc).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cherish_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a nice and human size hotel. Quite asy to find once you get out of the aerobus on Avenido do Infante. It's very clean, everybody is very helpfull there. They can call if you need to hire a car, they give you good advice if you need to find a restaurant.
You can easily walk either to the old Funchal or to the more touristic area.
Breakfast was ok. Not amazing choice but really you don't need more than what they can offer.
It is a good 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Small hotel - though it says 4 star that is debatable. Staff for the main friendly and got to know you as the week went on so you did not have to ask at reception for messages, etc.
Breakfast fairly predicable: hot food available on request.
Not sure about the dinner dining experience as I failed to locate a menu and though the dining room should be open at quoted times it did not seem to be.
Great location for access to Funchal centre but on the negative side awoken several times to street noise as well as young families staying in the hotel. There was also a problem with a vent or chimney from the kitchen that created a lot of noise on at least two occasions.
Balcony with a sea view was great for evening relaxation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank locationspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just had a wonderful week at the Madeira Bright Star as part of our 30th Wedding Anniversary. Perfectly situated / located equidistant from Funchal City Centre and the Lido area with the many grand hotels and coastal walks. Others had commented on the steep slope back to the hotel after a 15 minute walk back from Funchal but it is not over taxing or tiring at all.
Hotel staff are polite, friendly, look after you very well and will do everything they can to make your stay comfortable. Breakfast each morning provided us with fresh fruit, juices, cereals, rolls, cheese, cold meats, pastries, toast... and if you ask for it, a good cooked breakfast consisting of ommelette, bacon, fried egg, beans,sausage or a combination of same. Coffee is acceptable but be prepare to 'smuggle' a good old PG Tips tea bag into breakfast if you fancy a decent cuppa! The hotel is very clean and tidy, small enough to have the personal touch but also big enough to supply you with a beer or wine from the bar on your return to the hotel after a dinner out. Also ideal location for a number of very good quality restaurants such as the Chalet, Berninis and the local pub, The Prince Albert which does superb Pub Grub like, Steak and Guinness Pie, Beef Curry, burgers etc. etc.Hotels rooms are spacious with good TV, large bathroom and beds, hairdrier but no tea or coffee making facilities. Maid service is every day,very efficient with fresh towels and tolietries from friendly staff. A wonderful little hotel up a side street, almost a 'hidden Gem'. 30 minutes taxi transfer from Funchal Airport.

Room Tip: The rooms get the sun on the balcony from about 2.30pm onwards and it stays till about 6pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gazzaman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just come home from a very nice week in this hotel and can't think of any negative aspects ,staff are friendly and very helpful . The English cooked breakfast was very nice and the choice of cereals etc adequate ,the weather was warm and sunny but the pool was freezing, it's winter i suppose.One little tip, try to avoid room numbers ending in one as they have the smallest balconies.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Been to Madeira now a few times and I have to say that this is one of the best hotels I've stayed in on the Island..Fantastic lady on the reception who greeted us with great big smile and very warm welcome.
Hotel reception area immaculate,lots of glass walls with an amazing open plan layout.Small garden which is is the shade in the morning with an adequate small pool,was well cared for and tidy.It did catch the evening sun though!!
Room 303(which we were allocated) was spotless.Huge beds,fabulous bathroom with HOT running water no matter what time of day,again very bright and airy.Request for extra pillows was met with no problem.Balcony was great size with really good views towards the sea and the Lido,overlooking the roof of Quinta do penha do Franca.
Very easy access to town..Be warned though many older cab drivers dont know where the place is so its easier to get a cab to the Quinta de Penha do Franca then VERY short hoof around the corner.
Room was made up every day as long as you are out by 10 am and leave the card hanging out the door.Lovely lovely housemaid (who I forgot to leave a tip upon departure):-(.
Very sorry to leave,But will definately be back very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank intrepidtraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Windsor Hotel
Windsor Hotel
#85 of 88 in Funchal
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#45 of 88 in Funchal
477 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Jardins d’Ajuda Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dorisol Florasol
Dorisol Florasol
#54 of 88 in Funchal
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana CR7 Funchal
Pestana CR7 Funchal
#23 of 88 in Funchal
237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Albergaria Catedral
Albergaria Catedral
#64 of 88 in Funchal
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Bright Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Bright Star

Address: Rua Princesa Dona Amelia 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-019, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Price Range: $68 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Madeira Bright Star 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Madeira Bright Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Bright Star Hotel Funchal
Madeira Bright Star Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing