We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright of Funchal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madeira Bright Star
Ranked #68 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Nice location between Casino Park and Pestana Carlton with great seaview and fine breakfast. Short way to every thing in Funchal . Friendly staff and 4* treatment all over . We are looking forward to go there again soon . And that will be the 1st. of dec.his very year for our christmas celebration 2012 .

Room Tip: Good location
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twitterfreddie4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Madeira Bright Star
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 84 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

After reading the reviews we were a little apprehensive, despite most of the reviews being two years old. The rooms were clean, linen and towels are changed daily although the bed is a little hard and the pillows a little lumpy! The breakfast served was of an adequate standard, I have definitely eaten a lot worse. There was a choice of cereals, yogurts, and a variety of fresh breads and pastries. There was even an option to have cooked food such as bacon and eggs etc. at no extra cost. The location was great as we could easily walk to the main centre and old town as well as the larger hotel complexes. The pool was basic but it had a lovely sun terrace area where you could buy snacks and drinks. All in all a pretty nice place and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JezandBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

This small hotel is perfect location for the port and probably the closest on foot. Perfect for the ferry to Porto Santo. I stay here because it is great value, the rooms are big with great balconies of approx 12ft. It is a good simple well run hotel. It has a small pool and small garden but hardly anyone uses them.
Views from your room are across the car park of the Quinta Da Penha Da Franca hotel and out to the sea on your left handside. Behind the hotel is the Pestana Casino Park hotel.
Breakfast is served in the funky breakfast room and a good selection is available (for the hotel size) from the cold buffet table. Staff are helpful and will assist wherever possible.
Its not for everyone but it works for me and is simplistic (think Premier Inn). Air conditioning not the best so have the balcony doors (floor to ceiling glass) open at night with the nets across and it is fantastic. Hard to get better value for money than this property for what it has to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mangomark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Nice clean rooms excellent vakue for money breakfast was a limited choice but plenty to eat
easy walking distance into old town for good restaurants

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandLOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

This hotel is situated between the centre of Funchal and the hotel zone. It only takes 10mins to walk into Funchal. You are situated 2-3mins walk from the Marina and some very good resturants that are recommended in all the guide books. The only negative thing is the pool is extremely cold - but they do state it is not heated!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred1000Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

I stayed here with my girlfriend and had a wonderful time for not a lot of money. The hotel was just to the side of the big hotels and could have been in a more idylic spot, but perhaps then it wouldnt have been as good value as it was.
The rooms were very much european 4* star standards and it had all the facilities of a 4* hotel so would not agree with the other reviews, it was simply a small hotel which made the difference in peoples expectations.
The hotel itself was small and very friendly, clean and well kept. The breakfast was plesant and plentiful and the pool was a welcome break from the sunshine. The other nice point for us was that it wasnt a large chain hotel so had a quiet atmosphere and it wasnt very busy so felt very relaxing.
This hotel isnt going to win any awards, but at the same time it is not charign the earth and is doing a very good job at being a small hotel. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone that wants a quiet break, but not to people who are wanting all the facilities and service of an international 4* hotel with the budget of a camping holiday.
Well worth the not many euros it cost us, thank you Bright Star!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BongoLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Bright Star in Funchal in mid Sept. 09. There were a few other older couples in the hotel of various nationalities and the weather was good. So, let me start by being kind...The Bright Star is a modern hotel and the location is just a pleasant ten minute stroll from the centre of Funchal. It was very clean. It was also close to some quite nice restaurants and a couple of so-called nightclubs and exclusive hotels. Their breakfasts were acceptable. There was always hot water in the shower. Now, for the complaints. There is NO WAY standards in this hotel comes close to any 4 star hotel we have ever stayed in. It completely lacked atmosphere, warmth and the sort of facilities one would expect from a luxury hotel. It has a pool area that was so small and uninspiring I only saw two others use it during the whole week. In the bedroom, beds were rock hard and there was only one pillow each. There was evidence of damp on the bedroom wall as if the bath had leaked. There were no great views from our balcony, which overlooked a car park. We enjoyed Madeira but would not return to this hotel. If their rating isn't down graded, then perhaps they should rename it. I suggest 'Faded Star'.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank theladycherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#46 of 88 in Funchal
469 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#57 of 88 in Funchal
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Funchal Design Hotel
Funchal Design Hotel
#59 of 88 in Funchal
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
#56 of 88 in Funchal
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Avenue Park
0.3 mi away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#33 of 88 in Funchal
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Bright Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Bright Star

Address: Rua Princesa Dona Amelia 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-019, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Price Range: $70 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Madeira Bright Star 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Madeira Bright Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Bright Star Hotel Funchal
Madeira Bright Star Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing