We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service with a superb atmosphere”

FX Restaurant & Sports Bar
Reserve with
FX Restaurant & Sports Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #184 of 738 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $34
Cuisines: Portuguese
Description: FX Restaurant & Sports Bar is a modern and versatile spot for your entertainment and gastronomy experience We are located in the south facade of the Galerias de Sao Lourenco overlooking Avenida do Mar in the heart of downtown Funchal. You can choose from a large outdoor dining/lounging area, a cozy dinning room and an inside Bar & Lounge. We broadcast live sports on our large screen TVs. On weekends and selected days we have live music performed by the most well-known and talented local bands.
Restaurant details
Description: FX Restaurant & Sports Bar is a modern and versatile spot for your entertainment and gastronomy experience We are located in the south facade of the Galerias de Sao Lourenco overlooking Avenida do Mar in the heart of downtown Funchal. You can choose from a large outdoor dining/lounging area, a cozy dinning room and an inside Bar & Lounge. We broadcast live sports on our large screen TVs. On weekends and selected days we have live music performed by the most well-known and talented local bands.
Reviewed April 12, 2015

FX is a very pleasant, clean and airy restaurant and as described (a Sports bar). The tables are nicely spaced and the background music was superb. Simple starter of Bruscetta da Camaroa (prawns) which was stunning. The better half had equivalent as a cocktail which she loved. This was followed by the Bife de Lombo na Predra (rump steak) which was nicely presented but unfortunately (not their fault) was not flavoursome. All washed down by a bottle and a half of Monte de Anforas which was great. Good prices for town but above all exceptional, friendly service. See you again soon.

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 129 of 240 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2015

We had three evening meals at FX. The first was reasonable but not great. The Second was extremely good. The third was very poor quality. They need to be more consistent with the quality of their meat and fish cooking. We never went back again.

Date of visit: March 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank holiday_quacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosePisa, Owner at FX Restaurant & Sports Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2015

Thank you for your review. At FX we rely in our guests feedback to keep improving our product and service. I wish you gave us more details about what dishes you were not happy with so we could work on them. I hope we will have the pleasure of your visit in the near future and we will endeavor to exceed your expectations.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2015 via mobile

We found this place whilst walking along the promenade. The waiter was very friendly. My dish was sardines. Little did I expect that being quite large they hadn't been gutted. He told me this was normal and that some customers enjoyed eating everything. This may be so but I should have been told as I don't ! My wife had steak on a stone which she greatly enjoyed but was not advised of a choice of portion size.

Thank 856stephenw856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosePisa, Owner at FX Restaurant & Sports Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2015

Thanks for your review. At FX we rely in our guests feedback to keep improving our product and service. The grilled sardines is one of the most traditional Portuguese dish and it is indeed served un-gutted and we are sorry that it was not to your taste. Both sizes of our steak on the stone are listed in our menu and we are sorry to hear that you might not have noticed it. We hope to see again in the near future as we are constantly improving and introducing new dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FX Restaurant & Sports Bar also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to FX Restaurant & Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing