We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice spot with 'special' hosts”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Madeira Holiday

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Janet2158
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed January 21, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Positives:
The apartment was clean.
The owner Cristina and her husband were lovely people, really helpful and friendly, and picked us up from the airport when we arrived.

Negatives:
The photographs supplied by the owner did not reflect the apartment we stayed in (Apartment 1b). We would have liked to upload our own photographs, but this page does not allow it.
The apartment was tired and dreary, the bed was hard, the crockery in the cupboards was mismatched, the bathroom basin had no plug, and the boiler in the kitchen leaked water and had to have the bowl under it emptied at regular intervals.
We were kept awake until 4.00 am the first night by neighbours chatting in their garden, and the constant barking of dogs, which we realise was not the fault of the owner.
The location of the apartment is on top of a steep hill, and although you can walk into Funchal, we would say it is not possible to walk back. We thought we were quite fit, but even the walk from the nearest bus stop back to the apartment was a struggle for us.
Due to a knee problem which made the steep hill difficult, we had to find alternative accommodation after the first night.
If you're thinking of booking this accommodation, you should be aware of the steep location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john f
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice spot with 'special' hosts”
Reviewed December 7, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I have finally got round to providing the excellent review the Madeira Holiday Flats deserve (we went late September)
Without boasting, we have for many years had frequent enjoyable holidays of all types, it is our passion, but I do not think we have ever been more pleasantly surprised by our hosts friendly attention and consideration.
After confirming our holiday we received an email from Cristina offering to meet us at the airport and not only did we get a free transfer to the hotel but also a tour of Funchal, thrown in.
When we arrived in the apartment there was Madeira cake and a small bottle of wine to enjoy, what a lovely touch. At the end of our week, after many cheerful chats, we did not want to impose, but again we were driven to the airport and our insistent offer of payment was refused.
The apartment was nice, very clean, adequate kitchen facilities and with a pleasant area to sit out and enjoy panoramic views of the harbour.
Although access is via a very steep, road, public transport is quite close and frequent.
The ‘fresh bread’ van gives a free alarm call every morning! What a wonderful way to start the day.
There is a supermarket and a few nice bars within walking distance, very reasonably priced for drinks/food and they do show sports channels.
Madeira is a beautiful island, so different to the Canaries.
The ‘Open Top Bus’ trips together with the excellent local promenade swimming pool complex, easily filled our week.
This was a low budget holiday made special by very special people.
If we spot another cheap flight and we will be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location and owners
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed March 5, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had a wonderful week .spotless apartment. Perfect hosts. Off a steep road but that was ok .had everything we needed will definatly be back x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue W
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant, home from home.”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely location overlooking funchal near bus stops and supermarket. Owner friendly and helpful with local information.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHEVALIER...
Calais, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: L’accueil et la gentillesse des propriétaire
Traveling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julie j
Reims, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in October 2015
Google Translation

Traveling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
didier n
Angers, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing