We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best steak on the stone😄”

Leeno's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 606 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located at the seafront of the Lido (Funchal) Leeno's is a small restaurant that is run by a team of young men who are focused to offer their clients a welcoming experience. Heart warming service and good food that is accessible to all people (locals and tourists) at reasonable prices. Their goal is to give you a reason for you to come back again.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best steak on the stone😄”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Good service good food ! The steak was the best I have ever tasted, the restaurant is modern clean, with a good atmosphere. The only down side is the location, with rows of community bins just behind the hedge and path opposite. The dustbin lorry emptied the glass bins as we were eating- what a shame .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino A, Owner at Leeno's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We're happy you enjoyed our restaurant, the food and atmosphere. Concerning the situation of the bins, we're discussing the matter with city council for an acceptable solution. We hope it will be solved soon.Obrigado for your visit ... and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,362
    350
    107
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely new restaurant”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Great food, lovely staff and considering its only been open a couple of weeks it looks like it is doing really well, I would definitely recommend it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terri Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino A, Owner at Leeno's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind recommendation. Hope in seeing you back soon. Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeira
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“great to see Leeno Back, great restaurant in the perfect location”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Bella Isla was good, friendly staff, good food, but it was nothing compared to this. Leeno has moved to the perfect location at the front of Melia, and is doing great food, perfect service and very good prices.

for lunch he has 2 specials, for dinner, a good menu, can recommend the chicken picado

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank expatinmadeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino A, Owner at Leeno's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and recommendation. It is a pleasure to see some of our past guests back again. Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Simply super food served with a smile”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

During a weeks holiday in late July visited here for numerous coffees, a couple of lunches and one dinner. Previously the Bella Illha cafe, opposite The Melia hotel was my favourite coffe stop, and this new restaurant is run by Lino and Lee who used to work there. Coffee is excellent, lunches good and Steak on a stone for dinner was wonderful. Prices are extremely reasonable and service is friendly. What more could you ask for? Oh, and please leave room for their Passion Fruit pudding topped with Kiwi jelly..... Delicious.
They are open early morning till late at night.
2 small things that may or may not matter; the beer on draught is Superbock and the tonic for their gin isn't Brisa!
My husband and I will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Calderglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino A, Owner at Leeno's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Calderglen. We thank you very much for your kind words and appreciate the time you took to write this review. We are looking forward in welcoming you both back again . A fresh coffee will be waiting for you .... Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply delicious.”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Newly opened, this restaurant is fast becoming one of the must eat in places in Funchal. Reasonably priced (2 courses each plus wine and coffee 45 euros) and fantastic service. You are not rushed and the staff are lovely. The beef espetada was the best I have eaten anywhere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 73Antonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino A, Owner at Leeno's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Me and the team appreciate very much your kind review. Also happy that you enjoyed. Come back soon. Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leeno's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Leeno's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing