We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the effort”

Igreja de Nossa Senhora do Monte
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.06*
and up
The Best of Madeira Island in One Day
Ranked #11 of 143 things to do in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 18th-century church, a pilgrimage site, is located in the picturesque village of Monte.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
555 reviews
298 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Worth the effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We visited this church during a one day stop on a cruise; we had arranged a rental car for the day, and whilst it is a little awkward to find the church because of all the one-way streets once there we were glad we had made the effort.

Monte is located above the port and city of Funchal and from the church you get magnificent views down to the city.
Whilst the church is worth visiting of equal interest are the sleds that one can ride down about 2km to Livramento; these are parked at the bottom of the steps up to the church.
If we had not had the car we might have considered trying them out, because the ride is one way, down hill.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Johnpsau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    460
    140
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Church in typical Portuguese style with a lot of steps to the door. I stopped counting at 53! Great view from the top of the steps and the church is worth a look too!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank April0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wabush labrador
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“churches are always interesting in this country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

visit ...take pictures from below and above.....from the bottom of the stairs especially...pictures inside are wonderful, just be sure you have a camera that can do them justice

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank wabushtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
224 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nothing special but sightseeing on Funchal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

There are zillions of churches like this one worldwide, many of them with nice sights, but for sure this is in the top part of the hits list. Once said this, it is part of the Monte show, and we as tourists must know: we were born to pay. Look at the Monte toboggan opinions and you'll discover why.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luis_de_Zaragoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pretty church”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very pretty approach despite the steps! Nice and ornate inside with a lovely painted ceiling. Splendid views over Funchal

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank wicksgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Igreja de Nossa Senhora do Monte also viewed

 
Camara De Lobos, Madeira
 

Been to Igreja de Nossa Senhora do Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing