We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residencial Zarco

Residencial Zarco
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residencial Zarco
Ranked #84 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Have been there 4nights with a friend!
Nice rooms....Not luxurious but very comfortable and clean!
Simple breakfast but good for the cheap price!
The best location possible....1min from Avenida do Mar (the main one)!
I recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JNeiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
5
11
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

At the tourist information desk at the airport we've been advised this guesthouse in the center of funchal. Cheap rooms..25€ per day,with bathroom. The only problem were the ants and cockroaches..after one night they gave us another room,because of our request. At least the new one had no "guests" inside..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Funchal hotels

Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very enjoyable stay... Amenities covers all of the basic needs. Staff was friendly and we would be happy to stay here again.The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis, It's in an ideal position for holiday makers as the sites and restaurants are pretty much on your door step. As for value €24 a night is as cheap as it gets. We found it very useful to have our own microwave and fridge giving us the option to dine in or out. With the additional balcony it gave us the option to enjoy the evening with a glass of wine!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captainkaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

arrived in funchal end of may prebooked this so called hotel well the reception is small and clustered the owner was working on something in that area I was shown to my room on the same level as the reception area thats the first floor no lift located right next to the main doors to hotel and reception noisy all night long the room very basic indeed the floor was sloping down like being at the top of a hill the floor was in need of repair deparately the shower and toilet were disgusting full of mold when you showered the water ran out into the bedroom the towels needed a wash could not stop the tap it was a disgrace the worst i have stayed in the morning at breakfast you were served with one coffee and a juice after that you had to pay for any extra you got your breakfast in a bag containing one piece of bread a butter and a jam no cereal nothing else had better in police cells the view from the window was of a square which was load at night the only good thing i can say is there is a bar underneath which is not connected to the hotel were you can get a good breakfast

Room Tip: stay away if you can but the best are the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marvin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Service = warm, friendly and efficient from helpful staff (e.g. let me change rooms no questions asked.)
Value = at €24 per night, this is a bargain, given its location.
Sleep quality = poor in courtyard rooms (noise magnified from reception area) and front (from adjacent bar.) Might be better in side rooms.
Cleanliness = spotless, quite an achievement in an old building full of character.
Location = city centre, unsurpassable.
Rooms = full of charm in this traditional Madeiran building, so much more pleasant than a modern, purpose-built slab hotel but, sadly, lacking the latter's sound-proofing in rooms.
Overall, would not return as do not enjoy resorting to ear plugs to achieve my prime need from a hotel; sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms opening on to the noisy courtyard, or at the front of the hotel above the neighbouring b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeBirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

it is a cheap but old and simple accomodation.It is a good location,near the centrum and near the sea promenade.
The higher rooms and rooms in front praça colombo and backrooms are quiter.
the breakfast is very basic,2 breads,jam and a triangle cheese

Room Tip: I prefer higher floorsand the rooms in front praça colombo
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gojibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great place to stay, in the middle of it all. Way better than the hotel zone. Everything is couple of minutes walk away. Clean, relatively well equipped, safe. Spent there three days, very happy with it.

Room Tip: Rooms with double bed have great views to the a beautiful square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Residencial Parque
Residencial Parque
#60 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergaria Catedral
Albergaria Catedral
#62 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residencial Mariazinha
Residencial Mariazinha
#53 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residencial Colombo
Residencial Colombo
#78 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Flame Tree Madeira
The Flame Tree Madeira
#58 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residencial Melba
Residencial Melba
#79 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Zarco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Zarco

Property: Residencial Zarco
Address: Rua Alfandega 113 | Largo dos Varadouros, Funchal, Madeira 9000-059, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Zarco 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Residencial Zarco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Zarco Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing