We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quality budget accomodation”
Review of Residencial Zarco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residencial Zarco
Ranked #83 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you are looking for a budget accomodation, you need to look no more. Residencial Zarco is situated in the centre of Funchal, so it is close to all major attractions (old town, port, funicular line to Monte, bus stations etc), and also just a few steps away from many restaurants and bars. The service is nice, everyone is friendly and helpful.
We stayed there for 5 nights, and our room was cleaned and maintained every day, including changing of towels.
As said before, the breakfast is basic (OJ, 2 fresh buns, some cheese, jam and butter, and a hot drink), but you can bring your own food and they will keep it in the fridge for you.
Our room was not too big, but we actually used it only for sleeping and didn't spend any time in there during the day. As for sleeping, the matresses are covered with plastic wrap, so it makes it a little bit uncomfortable if you toss and turn during the night (my friends were not bothered with that, but it disturbed me a little bit!).
There was a small TV in the room, and the choice of channels was good.
I would probably stay here again ;)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyGoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 58 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

This hotel is just the place to stay if exploring Funchal and the Madeira island is what you go for.
I just stayed two night at Zarco, but pretty sure I will use it more next time I go to Madeira. Reasonably clean and maintained (though bathroom could need slight upgrade...) Basic, good breakfast. And the staff always very kind and helpful.
Mid-town will usually mean some noise, I would really say this has mostly the 'friendly, local sounds' form the local bar, small square outside and no through traffic. But weekends may mean some more late-night music from nearby music place.

Room Tip: top and facing south (for winter and spring)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petter800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Madeira and one of the reasons it was so magical is this accommodation. We asked at the reception of Zarco for accommodation and we were offered to stay in their studios that are 1 block from Residencial Zarco.

The room was spacious, kitchen corner functional, balcony small but lovely with a great view to a small street with little restaurants, clean bathroom with hot water. We originally booked for 3 nights but we were too comfortable and lazy, so we ended up staying 8! This place is indeed in the middle of Funchal, walking distance from anywhere and the street is not very busy so it is just a good solution in the middle of a beautiful Funchal.

.The price (30 Euro/night for the studio) was just 5 Euro more than for a standard room in Residencial. We really recommend their studio, ask for the one with a balcony!

Room Tip: ask for the balcony studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kariotka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

We're a young couple and stayed at Residencial Zarco for 7 nights.
Please notice: this is not a 5 star hotel, so, we can't be very demanding...
But, we liked staying here. Next we'll tell you the good and bad things, but, I can say right now that, if we go back to Madeira, we will stay here again.
I must start with the location: it's excelent. Really! Near everything and really really in the center.
The people there were nice. We dind't talk that much, but when we did, they were. :)
They changed the towels every day, and they were clean.
Lot's and lot's of hot water (really hot lol).
The breakfast... Well, we're portuguese and for us, who don't eat much in this meal, was more than suficient.
They have laundry service. We used it.
24 hour reception.
We stayd in a room with see view / The room had cable tv, not that we used it.
The price for the 7 nights in the center of the town.

Negative aspects (remind again: this is a residencial, not a 5 star hotel):
The room was not very clean, particulary the walls. But, nothing extreme. Would stay here again.
In the street, there's a metal bar. So, lots of noise in the street until late night. Warning: they'r nice young people just having fun! lol They don't mess with anyone! Just make noise! :p
It's difficult to park near the Residencial, but, there's a pay park near. We used it every day.

And I think we're done. We recomend it. We would come back. If you have any questions, be glad to message us! :)

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

I was supposed to stay for two weeks at this aprtment from 31st December to 14th January of this year. My friend had already been there for two days when i arrived and he had forewarned me about the beds.

They were like sleeping on rocks !! The springs stuck out so much i had red marks on my back in the morning and the pillow was so bad that my ears were sore when i awoke. That's to say when i awoke from the only half an hour of sleep that this bed allowed me. It was awful, didnt sleep at all not only due to the bed but the noise outside.

It is situated on a small street near the centre of town but was very noisy from 6am onwards. Also the shower only allowed enough hot water for 10 mins so only one person could take a decent shower or two cold take a very quick one. Not enough water to wash the hair aswell.

We had decided to move out after four days as we had already paid in advance for these days and at the end i was covered in bites presumably from the grotty blankets they supplied.

The staff were not helpful when we explained the problem of the beds and shower. When they did change the beds on our last day all they did was put a plastic sheet over the matress which didnt help at all.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaddyWak800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GoncaloLopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Catarina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergaria Catedral
Albergaria Catedral
#62 of 88 in Funchal
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residencial Parque
Residencial Parque
#65 of 88 in Funchal
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residencial Colombo
Residencial Colombo
#85 of 88 in Funchal
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Flame Tree Madeira
The Flame Tree Madeira
#50 of 88 in Funchal
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residencial Mariazinha
Residencial Mariazinha
#57 of 88 in Funchal
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#61 of 88 in Funchal
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Zarco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Zarco

Address: Rua Alfandega 113 | Largo dos Varadouros, Funchal, Madeira 9000-059, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Price Range: $24 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Zarco 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Residencial Zarco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Zarco Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing