We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Funchal
Post
Inbox
Search
  
Ways to Experience True Spirit
from $46.31
More Info
from $60.65
More Info
from $38.59
More Info
from $46.31
More Info
Reviews (1,322)
Filter reviews
1,322 results
Traveler rating
1,220
80
8
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,220
80
8
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jeep tour trout farm off road majestic mountains reuben levada walk great fun land rover defender glass floor cabo girao wine tasting great driver his enthusiasm recommend this trip driver guide stopped for lunch amazing views
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,322 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this tour online prior to our visit, via TA and based on the great reviews. It seemed to tick all our boxes, Skywalk which we had never experienced before,
seeing parts of the island that we could never experience on a tour bus or even a hire car. Icing on the cake is an interesting and knowledgable vinyard visit and wine tasting. Pick up from our hotel was bang on time. The whole tour is built around the 4x4 off road experience which was executed in a brilliant manner by Tony, our very knowledgable and entertaining guide for the (half) day whose driving skills are superb. The occupants of the other jeep on the tour also seemed to be having a great time with their guide "Penguin" !
Thank youTony and "True Spirit", great fun, knowledge and entertainment. We will certainly book another tour with you on our next visit.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank DollyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrueSpiritMadeira, Manager at True Spirit, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much Dolly! He really does enjoy what he does, we all do! It's a great island and a very
beautiful one too. Thank you for your kind words and your recommendation! We're glad you chose us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our guide was louis, he was amazing. He really made this experience fun. He shared lots of local information and was very funny. We had plenty of time at the stops to take photos and enjoy the scenery. The 4x4 experience was great because we got to go through all the narrower roads a coach wouldn't be able to access. This means you get to see the real Madeira. Dinner was at the trout farm. Very informative and nice to see somewhere in this day and age thay makes use of nature instead of relying on machines and technology to do all the work. He explained all about how the farm works using nature and looking after our planet. If you eat fish you can catch your own dinner aswell. Just before dinner we had a nice walk through the forest, which was good to stretch your legs. It was a flat easy walk, although I would reccomend using good boots as there is quiet a few tree roots sticking out so have to watch where your walking, quiet a few people kept tripping over them. There was 6 people on our tour although I think the 4x4 could have upto 8 people, I think 6 is just the right number and 8 people could feel a bit crowded.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank jessica030490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrueSpiritMadeira, Manager at True Spirit, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're super glad to hear all the nice things you have to say about our services!!!
Thank you for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An excellent 4.5 hour trip around the sights of Madeira including an off-road section followed by wine tasting in the North of the island under the guidance of Rui (in our Land Rover) and Tony (joined us with his team in a Discovery). Both guides were outstanding, both in their running commentary of what we were seeing around us and their interaction with us and between each other. Definitely both are colourful characters! We were with an Austrian couple and their delightful 4.5 year-old daughter and she clearly loved the experience, so I would rate this adventure for people of all ages. We had a fantastic day our, thanks in particular to Rui.

Date of experience: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Tour06286988705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrueSpiritMadeira, Manager at True Spirit, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're glad to hear back from you!! We'll let Rui know he did a great job, as usual! Thanks for your
nice comment and of course, for choosing True Spirit!
Hope we get to see you again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely Jeep ride and Luis was very good is nice Madeira I will come again i think summer is more good to see the big mountain to not be foggy , was very good thank you and nice people in my trip

Date of experience: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank helenegc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrueSpiritMadeira, Manager at True Spirit, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're extremely glad you enjoyed the tour so much!

Thanks for choosing us! We hope we can see you again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from best day out ever. Did TUI organised full day highlights of the east, with trout farm for lunch. Our guide Luis was very informative, and stopped many times to point out things, explain the flora of the island (and scrump the wild fruit ). Even fished for a trout for lunch! Perfect opportunity to see what the island has to offer, off and on road. Including a forest mountain walk and viewing from the eastern most tip of the island.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 335AndreaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews