We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quinta Sao Goncalo
Nearby Hotels
$140
$126
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$148
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Residencial Parque(Funchal)(Great Value!)
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
$357
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$246
$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$127
$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Porto Mare Hotel(Funchal)
$292
$183
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa(Funchal)
$577
$220
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveler rating
94
12
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
12
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bdressing roombreakfast was deliciousfunchal bayhuge roomstayed here for nightsritahillariesmaidmadeirabasis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 109 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2008

I can only echo everything the previous writer said! A wonderful little place, the suite with balcony is worth every penny!! A spectacular view. And, as said before, a huge bathroom & a four-poster bed. Rita and her staff are all so, so nice. They make you feel very welcome. Breakfast is all fresh and plentiful, and the evening meals lovely.
If you don't eat "in" the hill is a killer, but worth it for 2 good, reasonably priced restaurants. Or, the downhill walk of about 30 minutes to town offers plenty of choice, and taxis are a good price - but ask the price first!!
I have to agree that the barking dogs are a pain at night, even Rita is fed up with them, but it didn't manage to spoil our trip.
However, the weather did!! We had the worst weather since 1969, rain, rain and more rain!! The hairdryer supplied was very good at drying our clothes out!!
But not even the excellent lillte hotel can change the weather!! Would not bother with a big hotel - this place was just perfect!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ctietjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2008

This B&B gave us stunning views a beautiful room and a wonderful honeymoon.

The owner (Rita) did everything in and out (they helped a young baby eat her first proper food) of her power to make our stay and that of every guest there perfect.

We stayed in the suite with the balcony and this upgrade is definitely worth it as the views are stunning and a wonderful place to re-charge and build up to your next hill climb.

Situated in the old town you do feel like you are amongst the Madeirans and the dogs remind you of this, but it is something that is easily tuned out.

The breakfast is a great occasion with masses of food brought onto the attractive terrace and if you cant face a walk the dinners are wonderful and very thrifty too.

The down side for some might be the walking required to reach food and water in the form of restaurants. You can either head literally straight up or meander into town. I personally found it an opportunity to work off the massive breakfasts and prepare myself self for the inevitable massive dinner. Alternatively there are buses and taxis and an equivalent room with that view in the hotel district would be ten times the price and less secluded.

In conclusion wonderful accomodation wonderful service and I didnt even mention the complimentary night and free bottle of champagne we recieved as it was our honeymoon.

PS bathroom as big as most hotel rooms, twin sinks whirlpool bath and seperate shower... but I will shut up now

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlesllewellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2008

Thorsen, Copenhagen, Denmark

We stayed at Quinta São Gonçalo for 7 days in February 2008. It is a tasteful and peaceful family owned old manor house with a picturesque garden located in the outskirts of Funchal away from tourist crowds. There is a wonderful view of the coastline, the mountains and the town. The hosts Rita and Filipe de Vasconcelos are very friendly and helpful with valuable information and advice regarding trips on the island. The staff is also very kind and efficient. A healthy breakfast included in the room rate is served on the terrace of the Quinta. You can have a tasteful 3 course candlelight dinner in the lovely dining room, and at a very reasonable price. We dined 4 out of the 7 days at the Quinta. For the last dinner the kitchen even repeated our favorite passion fruit desert. We would be happy to return to this very homely Quinta and can recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

We stayed at this Quinta for 5 days in December. It was an absolute delight. The room was immaculate with beautiful hardwood floors and a lovely ensuite bathroom (powerful shower, loads of hot water and the most incredible views of the sea and Funchal. As other reviews mention, the breakfasts are a real highlight, especially the guava jam and great coffee. We felt very welcomed and enjoyed chatting with Rita, the owner. The weather wasn't great while we were there, but the garden was still a lovely setting for reading/watching the sunset etc. We would recommend a hire car to make the most of your stay here - the hill outside the Quinta is very steep, and the nearest restaurant is up! If you want to avoid the big hotels yet still have high quality accommodation, I would strongly recommend Quinta Sao Goncalo, and in particular one of the two sea view rooms if they are available.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bedoubear67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2007

    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews