We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, intimate and beautiful”
Review of Residencial Pina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residencial Pina
Ranked #49 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2008

Came to the Pina for special anniversary, and it was fabulous experience. Lovely location - the view from our balcony overlooked hills of Funchal down to the ocean: absolutely stunning! Room and bathroom good - nothing fancy (no trouser presses etc) but comfortable and clean. Small and friendly bar on the ground floor did drinks and snacks - and always perfectly chilled glasses for the beer! - though we tended to take drinks up to balcony to enjoy the view! Lots of the rooms have view over sea, others over the mountain. Breakfast was crossaints and rolls, ham, cheese & fruit - and generous portions. Staff were incredibly helpful, esp. Michaela. Easy walk (20 mins) downhill into old town - walk back uphill good for keeping fit(!) but taxi only 4-5 euros. Perfectly sited really - close to town but quiet and intimate with glorious views. Very much hope to go back one day!

Stayed: April 2008
Thank ephemeraUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 96 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2008

This hotel turned out to be an excellent choice for us wanting a relaxing short break (though there were also families staying at the same time). The location is superb, overlooking the town and bay of Funchal. When you book see if you can get a room with sea view, you'll get a balcony and an unbeatable view.

The staff are courteous and helpful.

The bar (which acts as a local bar) is pleasant with an outside seating area. You can get snacks which are basic but tasty.

The breakfasts are simple bread and cold meat affairs, but there is a lot of it, we never managed to finish all they served up.

There is a small pool great for a short dip to cool off. There is parking for about 6 cars

The hotel is close to town but uphill so if you have trouble walking you'll need to make use of taxis. We walked most of the time and I don't think we were more than 20 mins from any part of the town ( but if you want to got to the hotel district you will need a cab

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bearinasuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2008

We came across this delightful Residencial quite by accident on our way down the hill from Monte. As we were looking for a place to spend three nights at the end of January we booked a room after being shown around.

The reception we received was warm and very helpful. The room we took had a lovely view of the bay and, despite being located above the bar, was very quiet. It was very spacious with kitchen facilities, an excellent large bathroom and a good sized balcony. Breakfast was simple and good. In all, this place is excellent value for money at 50 Euros a night, and is very well located for exploring the town. We will return!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Wellfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Chantal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vue sur funchal,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeroRenault17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alba1990trek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Côté piscine, les chambres du bas ont un petit jardin, et celles du haut un balcon avec vue sur mer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
1.5 mi away
The Flame Tree Madeira
The Flame Tree Madeira
#52 of 88 in Funchal
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#66 of 88 in Funchal
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Avenue Park
0.4 mi away
Residencial Parque
Residencial Parque
#62 of 88 in Funchal
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#35 of 88 in Funchal
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Pina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Pina

Address: Travessa Pina 8, Funchal, Madeira 9050-074, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#32 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $46 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Pina 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residencial Pina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Pina Funchal
Residencial Pina Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing