We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and amazing staff”
Review of Ocean Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Gardens
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Although a bus ride out of town - only about 1 mile but the road is dangerously narrow, steep and bendy this hotel is great - the views are amazing and the staff are helpful and friendly. We paid a little extra for a junior suite which was great with a large balcony overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: go for a junior suite - a little more cost but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 408 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

Lovely peaceful hotel with fantastic view of Funchal. Hotel is spotless and bright. We only ever book B&B because we like to try different local restaurants wherever we are in the world and had no problem with what was on offer for breakfast. Generally eggs (boiled, scrambled, poached, fried - although presentation could be improved as fried / poached end up a bit battered in a Bain Marie) but an egg is an egg in all fairness. Also a variation of beans, mushrooms, local bacon & frankfurters in rotation. Also cheese & ham available, along with lots of fresh fruit and juices. Local breads are amazing too. The hotel is too far away to walk into Funchal, although we did it one day in around 50 minutes, but wouldn't consider walking back though (too hilly). Bus route quite regular and stop right outside hotel for just short of EUR2 per person (1 way). You can also buy 3 / 5 day tickets I believe which works out cheaper. Last bus is 9:30pm back to hotel though. Taxi from Funchal to hotel is EUR8 / EUR10. Would recommend hiring a car for a day or two. You can see most of the island in that time. The waterfront in Funchal is currently being developed so not too nice to look at but believe it will be finished in September 2014 which will bring in the cruise ships again. Lovely place, lovely people, lovely time :-))

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Holidaymaker27_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful week. The whole Hotel is a credit to all the staff, it is spotless, every nook and cranny too. The staff are so helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are well maintained, although the bed was very hard, we still slept well in the peaceful surroundings. Breakfast was more than enough, plenty of choices throughout the week. We booked half board and were not disappointed, two starters, two mains, one a local fish, a meat, all freshly cooked once you had selected. You can view the Chefs cooking on a log griddle all smelt wonderful. Two desserts, smallish, but think of the calories saved! George, the head waiter and all his staff were so friendly, helpful and impeccably polite. The rest of your evening taken up with a few drinks inside or outside admiring the views.
Although the Hotel is away from the city it did not deter from the whole ambiance of peace and quite. In the daytime we were out and about, the local buses are frequent and reasonable, we headed east a few days to the imported sandy beach at Machico, a lovely little gem along the coast.
Don't bother with airport transport, use the local bus, there is a stop just outside the main doors. On the journey you get a feel of the area.
I rate our stay as one of the best, highly recommended, book and enjoy!

Room Tip: Superior bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed half board in a twin view superior room.
Room was very nice and the views over the bay superb.
The hotel is very smart and well kept with very helpful staff on hand at all times.
Breakfast a buffet with a very good selection with a good time span so you could have a early start or a late start.
The meals in the evening could not be faulted with 3 surperb courses chosen from a selected menu and could not be faulted.
The only problem with the hotel is that there is no place that you can walk to as the road can be quite dangerous.
Over all we had a great time here and was very pleased with our stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank The C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Arrived at the Ocean Gardens hotel last week of April for one week duration. Upon arrival the receptionist was very helpfull and insured that we had all the local information that we would nead for our stay.

The room was absolutly spotless and very well maintained. Only drawback was that there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The room was cleaned daily and the cleaners did a first class job.

The hotel is remotely position but for us it was perfect and there is a frequent bus service that stops outside the hotel. The hotel also run a courtesy bus to Funchal which is about 15 minutes away.

We stayed bed and breakfast and the breakfast was ok albeit a bit repetative but the amazing view from the table more than made up for that.

Swimming pool is on the small side but does provide the optIon to cool down when needed and is set in a very tranquil area with gardens and fantastic views down to Funchal.

We ate a couple of times in the resteraunt and the food was very good but a bit expensive. The same can be said about the drinks in the bar. We didn, t have a problem with this because we budgeted for this before we went on holiday and therefore expected it. The prices are pretty much the same even in Funchal itself.

Overall this hotel deserves the 4* rating and having stayed in many other hotels of the same rating we would definitely say that this one is up there with the best and we are already making plans to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
3  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have just returned from our stay at Ocean Gardens Hotel, and had a wonderful time. The main reason we chose this hotel was for the views & the location, and we weren't disappointed- it was beautiful. The hotel grounds are lovely & well-maintained. The hotel itself is clean and the rooms are comfortable. We found the staff to be helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good, & offered a wide selection. We ate in the restaurant a few times, which was nice (a little more expensive than restaurants in the centre of Funchal)- we would recommend the Portuguese meat dishes if you are eating there! It is not really possible to walk to the centre from the hotel, but the local bus runs regularly and stops right outside the hotel, and there is a free shuttle bus available. A taxi from Funchal back to the hotel costs around 10 euro- we usually got a taxi back as the last bus is quite early at around 9.30pm. The only disappointment was the new spa, which we were looking forward to trying- but it is expensive with no special offers for guests (other spa hotels I have stayed in usually offer a 50% discount on first treatments for guests, or similar). The spa staff were not very friendly... the only time I saw them speak to a guest was to tell them to get off a sun lounger reserved for the spa- despite the fact that it was only this other couple and ourselves at the pool at the time! Hopefully this will improve over the season, as the spa is still quite new. Also be warned that there is (currently) no jacuzzi, which is advertised on the website. Overall, this hotel was the perfect place to relax and was a good base for exploring the rest of the island. I would highly recommend Madeira as a holiday destination as there is lots to do- from canyoning, walking and swimming in natural volcanic pools to relaxing and taking afternoon tea at Reid's Palace! We would definitely stay at Ocean Gardens again if we went back to Madeira, as it was lovely and superb value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

A well appointed hotel, and the facilities are well above average. The staff were excellent and very helpful. The sole drawback was the quality of food in the attached restaurant which frankly was overpriced and below what was expected. Moreover with the hotel 15 minutes bus drive away from Funchal alternative dining was not really on. A great pity since all the other facilities were very good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
2  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
3.1 mi away
Pestana Village
Pestana Village
#28 of 88 in Funchal
955 reviews
4 mi away
Baia Azul
Baia Azul
#18 of 88 in Funchal
317 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#29 of 88 in Funchal
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#24 of 88 in Funchal
614 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
2.3 mi away
Quinta Mirabela
Quinta Mirabela
#48 of 88 in Funchal
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Gardens

Address: Estrada Conde Carvalhal 321, Funchal, Madeira 9060-054, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $69 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Gardens Hotel with a privileged location on the top of a cliff, offers amazing ocean views and views to the Bay of Funchal. This charming Hotel, offers to its guests comfort and well-being in a welcoming and familiar atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Gardens Funchal
Ocean Gardens Hotel Funchal
Ocean Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing