We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exellent hotel to chill out”
Review of Ocean Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ocean Gardens
Ranked #29 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel was fantastic and ideal to just chill out and recharge your batteries ready for the next stint at work earning enough to pay for the next break.
It was a little further from the centre of the resort than we thought but the hotel laid on a mini bus free of charge several times each day.the food of an evening was very good but if you wanted a typical English breakfast you will be disappointed.
Overall I would recommend this hotel if as I said earlier joy want peace and quiet .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
3  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 392 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

What a lovely place to stay , clean, efficient, well run, friendly and helpful.
This hotel has a wonderful outlook to Funchal which is an hour downhill walk. Local busses pass every hour and the hotel offers a regular daily drop off and pick up from Funchal. The food is great with plenty to choose from at breakfast, snacks and a restaurant on site means you don't have to leave the hotel if you don't want too. The friendly staff will arrange tours and recommend places to visit or for a relaxing day, just lounge by the great pool. We will definitely be back for another relaxing week!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank MrsH1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The hotel was very nice and clean with a beautiful sea view. Receptionists extremely helpful. I had a twin room & was really pleased with it. Breakfast was fresh and more than adequate. I booked the transfers to/from the Hotel, but Bus 113 goes to/from the airport & stops outside the hotel for about 3 euros & 15 cents. Look at the timetable to ensure the bus you get on is not for example 7.00 (E) as this (E) means it is an express bus and does not stop at the Hotel/ Airport. The hotel has a free shuttle bus that goes into town at 10am and collects at 1pm or goes into town again at 3pm & collects at 5pm. They drop off & collect near the parks.
Bus into town is number 39 (yellow bus) & costs 1.95 euros & stops outside hotel on way into town & opp side of road on way back. The hotel restaurant is really expensive.
You cannot exchange money in the hotel or banks, but can do so at Bureau de change booths in Town.
I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
2  Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Went in the first week of December and the weather was disappointing, mainly rain with one fine day, which didn't help matters.

This hotel is 15 minutes drive from Funchal along narrow roads without pathways. The hotel did provide a few shuttle twice a day, which was appreciated.

The hotel pool was freezing and no jacuzzi, but sauna working, although I did not try it.

The food at buffet breakfast was hardly warm, although there was a good selection of bread rolls, jams and meat. The evening meal was provided by a restaurant adjacent to the hotel and this was reasonable. The bar prices were nearly double of those in Funchal centre. I forgot to take a travel kettle, so no herbal teas for me.
The hotel was quiet with very few guests, so no evening entertainment, no books and no games available for guests.

If you are not prepared to hire a car, I would say give this one a miss.
I have to give credit to the locals in Funchal, who were all very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynne1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel 1 week in the middle of November.This hotel is not exactly in Funchal,but this can be more advantage for many people who know what and how to do.First,easy access from and to airport,simply use bus nr.113(SAM bus company)3,30 euro each way.Bus station is 10 metres from hotel door.Than easy access from and to city centre,hotel offer shuttle bus for free...or use bus(company Horario)nr.39.Hotel rooms are well done and we found only few problems.Water in bathroom was hot only first 2 days of our stay,than warm enough for quick shower,but not for bath.And 3 from our 7 nights stay,there was some noise coming from some kind of generator belong to hotel as we got info from barman from hotel restaurant.We don't gave problem with sleeping,but for people who have that,we do not recommend staying in rooms 107-111.We were in room 111,and noise was actually very uncomfortable lasting all night and stopped at 7 am...
On the 4 floor of the hotel is massive terrace,with great view over Funchal,harbour and Atlantic Ocean.There is also swimming pool,but water was very cold,I think that couple of solar panels can do nice work and not cost big money..Sauna was also welcoming and apart there was no or broken light inside,worked well.Jacuzzi room was without jacuzzi,we got info from reception,that jacuzzi was broken and taken away just before we arrived.Hotel staffs were nice and friendly,breakfast more than good with wide choice of hot and cold meals and drinks.What we would love say separately was housekeeping service,this women deserve 5*,great everyday service.
We payed for week stay £243,and if we come back to Madeira,and price here will be still around 250-300 for week,we definitely come back here,despite few problems as were written above.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Mirek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Lovely Hotel Perfect Room great views fantastic staff
have given 5/5 despite the breakfast (it maybe plentiful but there are no words to describe the eggs bacon beans or the sausages) The latter were beige/grey and totally awful
If you're British and like your Tea take some tea bags
Avoid the bar unless you get a quote first. 22 Euros for 3 drinks in town same round was 10 Euros
The restaurant is well worth a visit, we had a table on the veranda, which was perfect.

Room Tip: low numbers are better west facing rooms have better views
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sticky2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had a wonderful week at this beautiful hotel. Exceptionally clean, spacious and nicely furnished rooms. (We had a sea view)We opted for B&B and a plentiful breakfast was offered. The pool area ( on top of the hotel with amazing views over Funchal) was lovely and peaceful. The only downside was that there is no pool bar although a phone is provided poolside to order any drinks/food to be bought up to you.
The hotel restaurant offered excellent food with great service but was a little pricey however the weekly Madeiran Folk Evening held in there on Friday was well worth going to and was thoroughly enjoyed by all.
The hotel runs a shuttle bus into Funchal and back twice a day. If you wished to spend the evening down in the town it was easy to get the local bus from just outside the hotel and was cheap (about 2 euros)
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and one even gave us a lift down into the town on her way home one evening to save us waiting for the bus!
It is a 15 minute ride on the bus from the hotel into town. It was not really possible to walk there but we loved the position of the hotel on the cliff as the views were spectacular and it was lovely and peaceful - which is what we were looking for. ( might be a bit quiet for some people though)
Overall it was an excellent hotel and we would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank kaziehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
3.5 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#27 of 88 in Funchal
581 reviews
4.0 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
257 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#4 of 13 in Canico
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#34 of 88 in Funchal
449 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
2.3 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#28 of 88 in Funchal
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Gardens

Address: Rua Conde Carvalhal 321 | Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-054, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $71 - $953 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Gardens Hotel with a privileged location on the top of a cliff, offers amazing ocean views and views to the Bay of Funchal. This charming Hotel, offers to its guests comfort and well-being in a welcoming and familiar atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Otel, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Gardens Funchal
Ocean Gardens Hotel Funchal
Ocean Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing