We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, great views but a couple of issues” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Gardens
Ranked #35 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great views but a couple of issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed the last week in April, check in was good with friendly staff. I booked a sea view room but we got a bay view, which was nice, the room did'nt get the sun on the balcony during the day but this could be a bonus in the hotter months, however it was great on the evenings watching the sun go down with a bottle of wine. The room was a bit dated but was very good and very clean, the only problem with the room was that there was no safe as advertised, mentioned this the the staff member at reception, who said they had been having problem was the safe mechanisms, so safes had been removed from some of the rooms.

I chose this hotel because we did'nt want to stay in town particularly in the lido area, wanted to stay in quite hotel with a view and this hotel fitted the bill, excellent views and gardens, this is very much an adults only hotel which for us was a bonus. We booked the flights, transfers and hotel independently which we found worked out cheaper than a package holiday, however we were very surprised to be invited to the usual package holiday style welcome meeting when we checked in, don't attend these when we do go on package holidays so had no intention attending this one.

We visited the pool on the second day even though the hotel guests are mostly Germans there was no culture of putting towels on sun beds, we checked out the facilities, the sauna was clean but wasn't switch on at the time, think you just switch it on yourself by turning the timer, the jacuzzi on the other hand was disgustingly dirty, there was a film of dirt floating on the top, smelt disgusting with flies hovering over the top. My husband's profession is water hygiene and this was one of the worst jacuzzi's he's seen, even if the water was drained, jacuzzi cleaned and dosed, the bacteria will be still in the filtration system and anyone who uses it could end up in deadly circumstances, particularly as the average age of the hotel clients were in their seventies who could be more supeptiable to illness by using the jacuzzi particularly if not in the best of health. Personally we wouldn't use a jacuzzi / spa but I advise nobody to use this one. Another issue was the swimming pool, the water level was at least a foot below the normal level, another indication that there is a poor pool dilution / hygiene regime, the pool was topped up on our next visit which was a few days later but it is not acceptable to let the water level drop to the level it was on our first visit. It was a shame because apart from this all other areas of the hotel was well kept especially the garden.

The breakfast was basic but enough to set you up for the day, however I have never seen so much blatant food taking from the breakfast room, people were walking out with ready made sandwiches and yogurts, there we even taking the tea spoon for the yogurts and filling empty drinks bottles with the juices, it's one thing sneaking a bit of fruit in a bag but this was people showing themselves up.

As mentioned most of the guests are German and a lot of them are on the half board option, we looked at the choices on this option and was glad we didn't opt for this. We did eat in the restaurant a couple of time and although more expensive than town the food was excellent with excellent service, waiters are very knowledgable especially John ( not how you spell his name but pronounce similar).

Apart from the pool issues we had a pleasant time at the hotel and would recommend it if you want a quiet hotel. We used the No.39 bus to and from town which I can only describe as a roller coaster ride without the harness, the hotel guests would get off the bus looked at each other had a giggle about it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrsvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    119
    27
    6
    7
See reviews for
46
235
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here late November 2012 for a week. Had a superior room overlooking the bay. Beautiful views, enjoyed watching cruise ships arriving and departing daily. Room was clean and tidy, cleaned regularly. Would have liked tea and coffee making facilities for that early morning wake up routine but it appears very few hotels in Madeira provide such facilities, according to other tourists we met whilst there.
'Soup or salad, fish or meat', if you go half board, you will get to know this phrase very well. The quality of the food is OK, but does become repetitive after a while (about 2 days) but you can go al a carte and get some reduction. The al a carte food if very good.
Getting into Funchal is easy, either use the free shuttle mini-bus (but remember to book at reception early), the local bus services or arrange a taxi. Tended to go in on the bus (stop immediately outside the car park) and take a taxi back (paid around 6 euros). Funchal is very attractive and safe, good restaurants and bars in town and enough to do for a few days. First time in Madiera, weather was good (rained a little but still pleasantly warm, lots of rainbows).
Highly recommend the cable car ride and a toboggan ride back down, take the taxi at the bottom back into town, very long and steep walk otherwise, legs like jelly at the end.
The hotel has the best views in town but it is remote and may not be suitable for everyone. If you don't mind being out of the centre and having to travel into town to go anywhere, I would recommend. In my opinion, it is good value for money.
Took a wildlife safari trip, took a Levada walk and sailed on a pirate ship - all very good fun.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTrumptons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

When we arrived at this hotel, i was very enthusiastic because the hotel looked nice, and the views were astonishing. The staff gave us some information and they were promoting the hotels facilities, like the swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. But it seemed that the jacuzzi was not filled with any water, the swimming pool was more filled with leaves than water... and the sauna was also not clean. I'm not interested in this kind facilities but they really shoudn't promote it...

After we arrived at the room, i saw that there was a serieus gap on the sliding door from the top to the bottom. I really don't get it that the staff don't see this kind of things. Because of this we had a very noisy and windy room.


On the first evening we went to the bar to get a drink. Once we received our drink, one of our companions started to yell because a mouse was sitting at the curtains. The bar tender said that the mouse was sitting there already for a whole week, he said that they were installing mouse traps, but they couldn't catch the mouse. I wanted to give the hotel some mercy because i know that it's not easy to catch the mouse where a lot of food can be found.

That evening we went to our chamber, and there was a big cockroach sitting before our room door.

It is really not my intention to give the hotel bad ratings, but these 3 things are enough to never visit this hotel again. This hotel is overrated and definitely need a renovation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic location overlooking Funchal, though a bus ride to get there. However buses are regular and reliable. The room was comfortable and clean with tasteful furnishings. Towels and linen changed regularly. Pool was clean but cold in April, as was the Jacuzzi. There is a Sauna that warms up quickly (and no charge).Breakfasts were adequate but not quite to 4 star standard. The real dissappointment was the lack of hot water in the bathroom. Usually luke-warm or cold, very occassionally warm but never hot. Not 4 star at all. Having said that, overall we enjoyed our stay in Madeira.

Room Tip: If you book a junior suite check that there is hot water on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lowspark292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel is on the edge of Funchal (or rather its western suburb Sao Goncalo) so is not ideal if you want to be in the centre of Funchal but it does not take that long to drive into the centre and the environment is much nicer than around many of the hotels in the centre. It is high up above the sea and from the breakfast room and the left hand end of the hotel there is a fantastic view over the bay of Funchal. The value was excellent. We booked it with Easyjet from London Gatwick in late March and for the two of us it was only just over £200 each for flights and the hotel (including breakfasts but plus the usual Easyjet charge for suitcases). Our room was quite nice and of a reasonable size. The bed was very comfortable. There was some slight mold growth on a few parts of the grouting to the tiles above the bath but not enough to be a problem and the bedroom and bathroom were generally very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room had a sea view. The disadvantage was that there was some road noise from the road in front of the hotel but the road was not that busy and we did not find it to be that much of a problem. The buffet breakfast was about average and quite acceptable, not the best but certainly not the worst we have encountered. We did not use the hotel restaurant, so I do not know how good it is. The menu did not seem anything special and there were much cheaper ones in central Funchal. There is a free courtesy bus into Funchal but only twice a day each way. We had a car so did not use it. I think there may be other local bus services as some guests appeared to be using them but I do not know enough to comment. There was adequate free parking at the hotel when we were there. Overall, we are very happy to have chosen this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just back from a two week stay. Had a superior room with a fabulous view of the harbour and Funchal. We were able to watch the cruise ships coming in and out. The room was spotless as with the rest of the Hotel. Clean bathroom towels most days. A pity that there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room though. Didn't hear any noise from adjacent rooms. The breakfast was adequate for us as we are not big eaters, although the choice was limited. We ate in the restaurant 4 times as we were on a B&B basis, and found the food cooked to a high standard. The staff were all friendly and well presented. The receptionists were extremely helpful and very efficient. The barman was very friendly and also very efficient.

Room Tip: Book a superior room overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank magpieMillbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The location from the hotel is very good with a beautiful view over Funchal.

Good things;
• Rooms are looking good and cleaned daily.
• It is a quiet Hotel.
• Free Sauna and Jacuzzi
• Close to the city center.
• Perfect place for New year’s evening, amazing fire work.
• For the money you pay you get a good value of quality.

Things what can be better:
• Breakfast is good but simple if you stay longer than a few days it will be boring.
• Dinner in the restaurant connected at the hotel is much more expensive then in the centre and of less quality, I tried it two times but it was not so good.
* Swimming pool is freezing

A car is a must have on Madeira it is beautiful to drive around and easy to drive if you are not afraid of heights.
The Hotel does provide a free shuttle to the centre and a bus stop is in the front of the Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johanpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#31 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
3.5 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
4.0 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#25 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
3.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Gardens

Property: Ocean Gardens
Address: Rua Conde Carvalhal 321 | Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-054, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#33 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Gardens Hotel with a privileged location on the top of a cliff, offers amazing ocean views and views to the Bay of Funchal. This charming Hotel, offers to its guests comfort and well-being in a welcoming and familiar atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Gardens Funchal
Ocean Gardens Hotel Funchal
Ocean Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing