We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and reasonably priced”
Review of O Tasco

O Tasco
Ranked #22 of 621 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $22
Cuisines: Diner, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Madeira Typical Food
wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly and reasonably priced”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The family who run the small but clean restaurant were friendly and helpfull,and unique in that, you tried a small portion and chose your meal from the counter display, but this meant selection was smaller than usual.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank elecdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    192
    49
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“HIgh Quality, home-cooked Tapas”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is a superb place for a quality tapas style lunch. Mum cooks and son is front of house. All is prepared daily and listed on a blackboard outside. No prices displayed; but so what? As soon as one is greeted by the unassuming son, the pride in their produce is clear and well deserved. He insisted we sampled from his small tapas selection at the counter. However we could tell it was quality and simply ordered 5 "small" plates to share plus beans and salad (and a bottle of wine). Stunning quality. I have never had marinated octupus as tender as this. All (cold) fish dishes exuded wonderful use of sauces and herbs.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jamiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“could not find fault”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We came here for lunch one afternoon, mainly to determine if it was suitable for a night out for 2 couples... We were greeted by a most friendly man we now know to be Fernando... he kindly explained their limited menu and offered to allow us to taste a small selection of their daily cold tapas style dishes.. we had the best and most tender octopus I have ever tried, skipjack tuna, scabbard nuggets, hot meatballs, etc... everything was so fresh and full of flavour... we knew instantly that it was worthy of a night time visit and so we booked for the rest of our party.. That evening was even better with a main course of tuna kebabs and more meatballs... their house wine was just the type we would normally order and for a house wine, is as good as many establishments would charge a premium for.. We were so impressed we have booked for our final night... As said previously, do not expect fine dining and a vast choice, however it is good honest fresh food, served with absolute courtesy. Situated in the old town right at the very end of Rua Santa Maria to the sea bathing area, then turn left up a steep bank and walk for 50 metres..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank topcop999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a super find!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We chose this restaurant based on previous reviews from Trip Advisor, and were not disappointed. O Tasco is very casual and really informal, and there are no menus. Don't go here if you want fine dining.
We booked by telephone and our taxi driver dropped us off right by the front door. At first, we thought we had come to the wrong place as it wasn't what we were expecting, however we soon settled into their ways. Before we sat down, we were shown what dishes were being prepared and available for that evening and given little samples of some options. I guess the menu changes daily, depending on market supply. Some of the side dishes were unusual, but really complemented the skewered tuna we had as a main course. All the food was well prepared, of a good quality and really tasty. We were recommended a great wine that we had with our meal and thoroughly enjoyed our entire dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin13H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice owners, great food”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

There is only one thing that's NOT all that good about "O Tasco" and that's its location. It's hard to find - and once you've found it, you sit right next to a narrow street corner that sees a lot of traffic. But the moment you immerse into the restaurant, everything is great. The owners are very nice and helpful (and fluent in English!) – the recommended us some of their food since we were not familiar with the Portuguese cuisine. And everything we tasted (including shark!) was great. I can wholeheartedly recommend this restaurant to anyone in the area!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank beckhambauer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Tasco also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to O Tasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing