We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Restaurante Goya

Restaurante Goya
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 10/21
8:00 PM
Ranked #26 of 808 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We dined at this restaurant together with my brother and his wife. The experience was first rate from start to finish. Fabulous décor, brilliant service and excellent food.
Joanna looked after us particularly well. Couldn't fault it.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trevorp360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joana S, General Manager at Restaurante Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Mr. Trevor,
Thank you so much for your kind review on TripAdvisor! Me and my team are very pleased to know that you all have enjoyed the experience at Goya.
We hope to see you soon!
All the best to you!
Kind regards,
Joana Sousa :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 2,350 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Please go and enjoy the decor / ambience and experience the quality food that is prepared and served. Choose the concept option that includes the wine pairing. The whole evening was true joy. Book in advance using the Fork to ensure you get a table to avoid disappointment.

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank paul7465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joana S, General Manager at Restaurante Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Mr. Paul,
Thank you so much for your high recommendation on your review!
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the experience at Goya and we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Kind regards,
Joana Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely French themed restaurant in Funchal
We found this restaurant by chance and they managed to squeeze the two of us in on a Saturday night. I would recommend booking. Lovely atmosphere and decor with a violinist playing as we dined.
Food was very good and varied and the service was excellent
Would recommend and would definitely go back

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Theladyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joana S, General Manager at Restaurante Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your visit and positive review at TripAdvisor.
Every Saturday night we have our lovely Susanna Almassy playing violin beautifully.
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the experience with us, and we thank you also for your recommendation!
We hope to see you soon! Maybe on Sunday, as we have a really amazing live show with a violinist from our Madeira Orchestra and Pianist.

Kind regards,
Joana Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

went for my birthday booked online (got 30%off so great deal )
walked in to a free glass of fizz which was great showed to table
lovely decor like a old royal palace very nice
given menus and ordered drinks service good
food very good when it came out well presented
started to go down hill after that when bigger groups came in waiters seemed to run around them plus all waiters were serving all tables should stick to one side of the restaurant might help
waited over 30 mins for the desert menu which ruined the evening for us
they took off extra 10% which was good of them
we would go back and hope for better service because the food and ambiance was five stars

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank chrisclawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joana S, General Manager at Restaurante Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Mr. Chris,
First, let me just thank you for have chosen Goya to celebrate your special occasion.
If possible, could you please tell us in which day you have visited Goya? Send us an e-mail to restgoya@gmail.com to the information.
We apologize because the service didn't exceed your expectations.
Thank you for giving us 5 star to the ambience and food! That means a lot for us.
We really hope to welcome you back very soon!
On Thursday we have Divas Night with a Soprano Singer and Pianist, and on Sunday we have a lovely live show with a Violin and Piano.
Kind regards,
Joana Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited Goya with friends last year, and were so impressed that we re-visited this restaurant with the same friends this year. If anything it was even better. Service excellent and very friendly. Quality of food excellent and perfectly cooked and presented. Definitely a winner this one - keep up the good work.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joana S, General Manager at Restaurante Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Mrs. Lynne,
Thank you so much for your return visit to Goya with your friends. It is very good for us to know that you have noticed an improvement from year to year.
We hope to welcome youback soon.
Kind regards,
Joana Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Goya also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante Goya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing