We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience not to be missed”
Review of Restaurante Goya

Restaurante Goya
Reserve with
Restaurante Goya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 677 Restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: French, International
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We had been recommended this restaurant by friends and as it is very close to our hotel we thought we would give it a try. Our welcome was delightful. The decor is very tasteful and elegant.

There were 4 of us and we all had the concept menu - my husband does not drink alcohol so was charged 29€ instead of 39 for the all inclusive drink option. We each ordered different things for starter and main and all was wonderful although our friend had to return his steak as it was rare rather than the requested medium rare. This was handled extremely well and the waiter kept checking to see that we were happy.

The wine was of good quality and our glasses were kept topped up. The highlight was the chocolate fondant dessert. We have tried a few this holiday but this was the best.

An added bonus was the wonderful guitarist who plays there on Thursdays.

We will definitely be back next year.

2  Thank Globetrotting_Tilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grupo Forte R, Marketing Manager at Restaurante Goya, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to thank you very much for have tried Restaurante Goya on April 2014 and for writing a detailed review on TripAdvisor.

It is always a pleasure to read our guests' opinion on how we are doing, and we were definitely happy to know you had a wonderful experience with us.

It's good to know your welcome was delightful, and that you've enjoyed our decor, food and wines quality.

It's important to know our staff was always attentive and focused in checking if our costumers were happy.

About live music, we're happy to know you've enjoyed the guitarrist, but we here by to inform that we changed our schedule to Wednesday and to Saturday.

Many thanks for taking the time to give us feedback and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Best regards,

Marketing Manager • Joana Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,210 of 1,680 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

My wife and I were on holiday in Madeira and Restaurante Goya was recommended to us by a fellow traveller. We booked via the hotel customer services and at half past seven in the evening we arrived at the restaurant. We were immediately greeted by the maitre d' and taken to our table and given a glass of Spumante. The menu featured a la carte choices and an offer whereby you paid a fixed price of €39 per person for a complete meal. We both choose this option and chose our starter, main and dessert from the a large carte menu. We were given an amuse bouche of fois gras and a glass of excellent white wine while we waited. For starters I ordered scallops and Janine ordered prawns. Beautifully presented, it set the standard for the rest of the meal and as with all the good it was delicious. Between courses we were served a sorbet to cleanse the palette. For main we had respectively pork loin on a chestnut puree and sea bass served with seasonal vegetables, tiny new potatoes and brown rice. Fantastic! A really good red wine was served with the main and as with the white it was topped up as you consumed it by ever attentive waiters. For dessert I ordered chocolate orange fondant with vanilla ice cream. A triumph! We were then given a passion fruit licquor and offered a digestif such as Jagermeister. A fantastic meal, beautifully presented in tasteful surroundings. Wonderful staff made the experience even more memorable. This is without doubt one of the best meals I have eaten anywhere and I am going back on Saturday for my birthday meal. Seldom have I experienced such value for money or such a taste and visual feast. I would advise booking a table.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Graham1792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grupo Forte R, Marketing Manager at Restaurante Goya, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing your detailed review on TripAdvisor.

It's interesting to know Restaurante Goya was recommended by a fellow traveller, that means our work is recognized in a positive way.

We're proud to know your experience was memorable with us, and that our wonderful staff made it even more. Glad to know you've enjoyed our food presentation and quality, our wines, staff, service and surroundings.

Comments such as yours are always very encouraging and we will not miss to share them with the team to carry out their services even better.

Thank you very much for the advice to all Trip Advisor readers, and we hope you have a wonderful experience on Saturday for your birthday meal.

Best regards,

Marketing Manager • Joana Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

9 of us went For the first time , all really enjoyed the meals
Service was very good Not all on fixed €39 , But service was
Perfect ,
Only disappointment Table was booked for 7pm but 6 of us there
for 6.50 pm , Told not able to go to table , outside standing at 2 tables
With a few nuts and did give us drink ,Why???

2  Thank tony194015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grupo Forte R, Marketing Manager at Restaurante Goya, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to thank you very much for have tried Restaurante Goya and for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are happy that you were satisfied about our service and meals, however, to ensure excellent customer service, when we have a group with more than 6 people, we always provide an aperitif first, in order to enrich and balance the service, and then lead you to your table, as usual in all of our restaurants of Grupo Forte.

Thank you very much again for the feedback, and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Marketing Manager • Joana Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Excellent restaurant. We had already been to The Forte earlier on in the week and so were eager to sample The Goya. I was asked by one of the family members we ate with which of the two restaurants I preferred. My answer was both. They equally have excellent service, the food is good but are different, which can only be a positive. Would I go there again? Definitely. It and the Forte are far superior to all the other restaurants, including The Med. We have visited Madeira for our 10 visit and over the years have tried many restaurants.

2  Thank AliStevePeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grupo Forte R, Marketing Manager at Restaurante Goya, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear TripAdvisor member,

Your kind review of Restaurante Goya is very much appreciated.

So pleased to know that you've already visited 2 from our 3 restaurants of Grupo Forte (Forte, Goya and Mozart), and glad to know we've provided you an "excellent" experience.

We look forward to welcome you back again,

Warmest regards,

Marketing Manager • Joana Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were delighted to find that that Mozart and do Forte now have a sister restaurant very close to where we stayed in the Lido area of Funchal. The staff and menu are both excellent. It was only when we got to book at Mozart that we discovered the offer that they do eat at all three of the restaurants so we went back to Goya for a second visit. The whole experience was wonderful! The deal to eat at all three restaurants is €110 which of course includes all three courses with wines throughout AND an amuse bouche, sorbet between starter and main course and tea/coffee after is fantastic value. Well done to all the team!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MumsyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grupo Forte R, Marketing Manager at Restaurante Goya, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, please accept our kindest regards and our appreciation towards your review.

It is a great pleasure for us to know that you've tried our New Concept "Triple Voucher". It's a new product that we implemented on March 2014, and we are really glad to have the first feedback from you. It is our mission to exceed our customers' expectations, and we hope one more time to be succeed in it.

Thank you very much again for the review, and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Marketing Manager • Joana Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Goya also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante Goya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing