We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful apartment in historic quinta.”
other travelers have booked this property
Inviting pool...all yours!!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Inviting pool...all yours!!!
Amazing view from the terrace...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Inviting pool...all yours!!!
Amazing view from the terrace...
Fantastic place for your holidays!!!
Long Entrance of the Quinta...
You can enjoy your meals up here...
Fabulous view from the terrace...
Beautiful bouganvilea on the entrance...
Be Welcome at this place!!!
the gardens all around the Quinta...
Relaxing terrace for a glass of wine...
Enjoy the fire work Festival in June from here...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Vivienne...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Delightful apartment in historic quinta.”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Helena and Roberto made us feel very welcome and were perfect but unobtrusive hosts throughout our stay. Jasmine apartment was comfortable, immaculately clean, well equipped and peaceful. We loved the tastefully furnished private patio area and also the well tended traditional gardens and pool. The views are far reaching, overlooking the harbour below, and far beyond. The apartment is tucked away from the main tourist trail, which we liked, but only 10-15 minutes walk down to the old town, alive with all the restaurants. There are taxis for approximately 5 euros back up the hill but we are moderately fit mid 60 year olds and normally walked. The bus service is very useful. There is a stop right outside the gate! There are also three other routes from the town stopping just round the corner on the way to the bakery, so a fairly regular local service. A few mosquitoes tend to linger in the apartment and round the pool so one needs to be aware and take precautions.
In summary a perfect apartment in a perfect setting. We will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjsmith70
Funchal, Portugal
2 reviews
“Perfect Relaxatioon in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Spent a week here with a friend and can honestly say was exactly what we needed. On arrival we were met by Helena who was warm and welcoming and made us feel like we where sharing her home. Gardens and views are stunning and the appartment ( Jasmine and lavender ) where both beautifully restored and equipped there was nothing that we we didn't have. The bakery a 10 minute walk is lovely and is great for pastries and lovely bread and town is 15 minutes downhill. Would definitely suggest taxis back but town is lovely with such friendly and hospitable people. We have both travelled around Europe and worldwide yet both of us would return to this beautiful island and these apartments. It really was the most relaxing and lovingly restored place we have both ever been. If you are looking for noise and nightlife then this is not the appartment for you.The beauty in this place is the peace, tranquility and beautiful views as well as the personal service you feel from the minute you meet the owners and Mr Alves that will pick you up from the airport if that's what you arrange. Will definitely be going back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan P
1 review
“Paradise in Funchal”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The location is amazing- cosy, clean apartment( with chocolate wellcome cake :-) ) beautiful garden, swimming pool, 20minutes walk to the center, comfortable street parking, few minutes to the great panneria. Very friendly and helpful stuff. We will visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinkmerli...
wales
2 reviews
“An Oasis of Tranquility in a green setting but close to down-town Funchal”
Reviewed May 28, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Conveniently located above town, Jasmine,this ground floor apartment offers considerable outside private garden space with plenty of seating under shade and fantastic views to the sea both from the garden and a communal area accessed up a stairway to the first floor, again with cushioned seating to be enjoyed with a glass or two of wine. The apartment was lovely, no problem with parking, and the bakery which is a short walk away, divine with bread and pastries to make your mouth water! Small supermarket next door to the bakery is great for basics. Just small tip, great to walk downhill to restaurants and not too far but perhaps use a taxi back up in the evening!
Apartment easy to access from motorway.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJMandKDM
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful accomodation and charming hosts”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed a week staying in the Jasmin apartment of Quinta Esperanca. The apartment is comfortable, roomy and suited our needs. The grounds offer great views and delightful ambience. In so many ways it was like being at a friends place, enjoying the beautiful flowers and just relaxing without the humdrum of scores of other hotel guests.
Our gracious hosts Helena and Roberto surprised us with such genuine warmth and care. Some delicious provisions on arrival helped us settle in after a late flight. The local bus stop is just outside the property and made the trip up and down to the city centre easy. Also the excellent bakery and small general store with a butcher was nearby, making shopping easy.
Our accomodation experience at the quinta was undoubtedly the highlight of our 4 weeks of travel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10liz1955
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peace”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

If you want a corner of Funchal that is nice and peaceful this is the place. Sitting in the garden you would not believe you were in quite a large city. The Accomodation itself is also excellent and Roberto and Helena are excellent hosts. This is an old house which has been lovingly restored to a high standard.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross H
Scottish Borders
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfection. Highly Recommend. Superb !”
Reviewed September 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

One Word - "Fantastic" !
Would not consider staying anywhere else in Funchal.
Superb apartment in perfect location.
10 minutes walk downhill to town centre and a 4.50 Euro taxi ride back. There is a bus stop just outside the gate but you cant hear a thing. The bakery is just around the corner (along with a small store) and is ideal for freshly baked goodies for breakfast. The pool is large and the perfect place to relax with a bottle of wine !
we made use of the BBQ a couple of times (go down to the market for fresh fish - Tuna is excellent).
A perfect place to stay and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.
We hope to return to Madeira as we had such a good time there and will definitely stay at this apartment again.
Thank you to Helena and Roberto for looking after us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, pool, bed, Everything...
Liked least: could not fault anything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2016
Dear Ross,
Can only thank you for your fantastic words and feedback about our place.
Look forward to having you again here and wish you all the best.
From a very sunny Madeira ,
Helena and Roberto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing