We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing place for romantic grown ups...but not for kids and always allow 15 to 20 mins drive to anyware.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
denmark
1 review
“amazing place for romantic grown ups...but not for kids and always allow 15 to 20 mins drive to anyware.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2009

the hotel has out of this world views,really beautifull scenery and really friendly staff to go with it..staff are always helpfull(if you can find them).only problem we found was that the reception can be a little sparce sometimes..there are many coach trips to the hotel,but dont let this put you off in any way,they have no involvement in the hotel at all. they only use the carpark facilities..your first drive up to the hotel can be very nerve racking...ours was...lol..we stopped on a couple of occasions because of the high drops on the side of the roads..after the second time,we soon got used to it,as did many people we spoke to up there..i would recomend the place to people who dont have kids..

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccceciders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    52
    20
    8
    1
See reviews for
18
97
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2009

The hotel is located at a well known viewpoint overlooking 'The Nun's Valley' about 25 minutes drive from Funchal at the end of a steep mountain road. The main attraction of the hotel is the views of the Nun's Valley and surrounding mountains from both the bedrooms and the restaurant. The rooms are good but basic, all coming with en-suite bathroom with shower over the bath, bidet and hairdryer. There are twin rooms and doubles, some rooms with an additional single bed. The hotel is quite small, so staff levels are low at times but the staff are all very attentive and fairly friendly. We had no problem requesting and receiving extra hangers, early breakfast and we were offered extra towels. Breakfast was buffet and included cold and cooked breakfast. We enjoyed generous fruit salads, sausage, egg and bacon, croissants, bread, ham, cheese and a fruit bowl! Tea, coffee and fruit juice are also available. The evening meals are very good although the portions were huge and we struggled to get through two courses on all our visits. The staff are very helpful and attentive. We would have used the restaurant more but it was very cold in the evenings, that should not be a problem later in the year.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The cold restaurant
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yahoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of November. Despite the fact it was a nice stay, not sure if I would choose this hotel again.

Rooms - **: we stayed in a standard room and were quite happy about the size. Rooms are very basic, although clean and new. I was expecting more from a 4* hotel. One very thin blanket might suffice during the summer but November nights are quite chilly and definitely need more then that. There is no reading lights on night tables, only lights above beds which keep other person up. There is no tea/coffee making facilities, no mini bar. Beds are quite uncomfortable. Walls are quite thin and I was able to hear guests staying in the room next door. We stayed on -1 floor, so restaurant was above us. Walls being so thin meant we were woken up every morning by chairs dragging across the restaurant. Balconies were lovely with an amazing view, which makes you forget about the problems mentioned.

Food - ***: breakfast is absolutely awful. There is one type of cheap processed ham, one type of cheese. Unbelievebly for a coffee drinking nation, coffee wasn't a real coffee, instead we were served a substitute. No orange juice, just squash. Fruit salad made partially of fresh and mostly of tinned fruit. Dinner (we had a half board) was nice - 3 course meal - to chose between two starters, fish or meat and a dessert.

Staff - *****: Lovely. Extremely polite, couldn't do more. I had food poisoning one day (not from the hotel) and they were really nice, made me some toast, next day inquired about how I feel. Nothing was too much hassle.

Facilities - ****: free use of sauna and jacuzzi was great and shame we couldn't use it more then we have.

Summary: Such a shame about the rooms and breakfast. If they would work on it, this hotel would be so much better. Give it a try but don't expect too much from the rooms, certainly not a luxury as some ppl have mentioned here.

  • Liked — Staff, location, views
  • Disliked — Breakfast, basicness of the rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lehovec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2008

We have just returned from 8 nights at the Eira do Serrado and all I can say is that what a heavenly place and we can't wait to go back.

This Hotel is perched high on a mountain 1053m above Funchal with spectacular views over the Nun's Valley and the mountains beyond. It is very popular with walkers.

After a speedy check-in we went straight to our room and what a sight awaited us. Our room was very spacious with our own private balcony with views down the valley and the mountains above. Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis, with fresh towels. There is also a sauna and jacuzzi which was always quiet when we went and so relaxing before dinner.

The Hotel was very quiet and peaceful and just what we needed, no blaring music or drunks staggering in at 3am. However, if that is your thing this is not the place for you.

This Hotel is obviously out of the way so a car is recommended. Just a point of note, it stated on one review that Junction 8 was the one for the Hotel, I would advise drivers that if you want a route with signpsosting take Junction 10 it is much clearer to follow.

Food at the hotel was excellent with an excellent breakfast selection and plenty of choice for dinner and very reasonably priced (2 people with 3 courses and coffee, 1/2 bottle of wine and soft drinks around €65) and huge portions. Service in the restaurant was also very good. I can thoroughly recommend the beef cubes on a skewer.

We found the staff at the Hotel to be very friendly and helpful, especially Roy and Joel. Roy arranged a full day's taxi hire for us with a very good driver - Angelo - who was so nice and spoke excellent english. He took us on a tour of the west side of the island and we saw some spectacular sights which we would never have found ourselves and learned so many things about Madeira you don't get in a guide book. He was very proud of his island and rightly so, the place is just wonderful.

I would not recommend this hotel for people with young families or teenagers, there just isn't enough for them to do, however if you want to get away from it all then this is the ideal place.

  • Liked — Stunning views and fantastic staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skooshydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAMLINGHAM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

We stayed for ten days ,but wished we had had longer.you will need a hire car ,but i would recomend even if you drive for a living as i do ,to take a taxi from the airport to get a feel for the conditions and the style of driving ,then have the car delivered to the hotel.The staff at the hotel are the most helpful and genuinly friendly bunch i have meet ,as i stay away alot i am normally very critical of customer service and if things are n`t right i do tend to notice.The food is excelent value and quality,we eat in 8 nights out of the 10, normally after having the breakfast which saw us through the day and then we had dinner around 8.30pm.The menu although not vast ,we found our favorites [ my wife had the lamb chops which in most cases would be 2 maybe 3 to her suprise 7 chops plus salad and veg 14 euro`s ] There is no swiming pool ,but a sauna [ which if it`s not on you just turn the timer on] and a jucuzzi which you can sit and look out over nunn`s valley,from this room you can go on to a sun terrace,which we had to ourselves .As this is one of the stops for the tourist busses ,there is a steady stream of people coming up to look at the view ,but they are n`t a problem in the hotel as they are directed either to the shop or the cafe and do n`t interfer or spoil situation. As someone has already said a good trip out is to park at the cable car terminal for free and spend a day in funchal on foot ,as parking there ok but it`s very busy.we toured the whole island doing a section of the coast per day.One thing we found was the lack of good signage even to the well known tourist spots ,i would recomend a good map .If you have any question you feel i could answer please email me through tripadviser.I would recomend this hotel to any age group if you can drive ,as it makes a great base to tour from. Finaly one of the walks listed in the guide books is the nature reserve on the most eastern tip ,a good tip is to take your swiming gear and enjoy a swim after the 7k walk ,there are loads of fish ,and as the bay is sheltered it`s not too rough.

  • Liked — The staff and the location combined to make a very special 10 days
  • Disliked — no bar ,away from the resturant
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank KEITHMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2008

We stayed for 2 weeks at this hotel and it was fantastic. The location is simply stunning.

It is perched high above the Nun's Valley at an altitude of 1053m and the views across to the mountains are, without exaggeration, staggering.

Some reviews have highlighted the remoteness of the hotel and pointed out that it is a half hour drive to Funchal. To us, having spent a few days in Funchal, it was a welcome relief to be away from traffic and crowds. However, be warned - the road to the hotel - as with many roads on Madeira - is not for the faint-hearted. It is narrow, steep with many dangerous bends. If you are a nervous driver or dislike driving, think twice before booking unless you rely on local buses or tour companies. I drive for a living and found that I adjusted to the roads within a day or two. (See my post ref car hire on the island.)
The rooms on the first floor of the hotel have the best views with room 111 being the room with a balcony that gets sun most of the day. We stayed in a superior room.

The hotel is clean, modern and well decorated. We thought that the rooms had every facility required. The staff are friendly & helpful.
It is true that the hotel has no pool and there is no entertainment and if this is of concern, this hotel is not for you. However, in our opinion, the spectacular views and surrounding area more than make up for this.

The restaurant area also has spectacular views and meals can be taken on the small terrace (see www.eiradoserrado.com for photos). We opted for the half board option (at a supplement of 15 euros per person) and the food was very good and portions large. An excellent local garlic and herb bread accompanied every meal. However, the hotel offers a fixed weekly menu and we found the variety of choices were limited - especially if the local fish is not for you. The waiters were friendly and the service good. The wine was not overpriced, starting from 8/9 euros a bottle.

So, summing up, I would recommend this hotel for romantics (of any age), walkers and those who want respite from the pace of modern life. I would not recommend it for a family holiday with children or for those who want to party.

Days out - Tropical Gardens at Monte - a must. You can visit using the cable car from Funchal. However, we drove to Monte, parked free and took the cable car to Funchal for a day out in the capital.

Should you have any further queries, email me via Trip Advisor.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank ianrobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

The Hotel is situated amongst beautiful mountain scenery. If staying at the Hotel (car essential) take Junction 8 off the dual-carriageway in Funchal. The Hotel is very clean and the restaurant is very nice - the breakfast is very adequate (especially the fruit salad). The staff were efficient and friendly. Our bedroom had a large balcony overlooking the valley but the room itself was sparsely furnished. We would recommend this Hotel for the views alone and also the reasonable price for
B & B.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Basic facilities in the bedroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P'line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
6.7 mi away
Solar Da Bica
Solar Da Bica
#1 of 5 in Sao Vicente
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Quinta da Serra
Hotel Quinta da Serra
#1 of 2 in Estreito de Camara de Lobos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quinta do Monte
Quinta do Monte
#58 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra
#1 of 1 in Santo Antonio da Serra Machico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#35 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Flame Tree Madeira
The Flame Tree Madeira
#52 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA

Property: Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA
Address: Rua do Serrado | Curral das Freiras, Funchal, Madeira 9060-300, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA is a modern and comfortable 4-star country hotel. Surrounded by stunning scenery, the Hotel will impress you with the beauty of its fascinating mountains and breathtaking views stretching to the lush valleys below. Nature is present from all rooms and public areas of the hotel. It is the perfect place for a holiday, calm, romantic and unforgettable in Madeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Eira Do Serrado Hotel Funchal
Estalagem Eira Do Serrado Funchal
Eira Do Serrado Hotel & SPA Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing