We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money , But rooms need renovation and updating.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dorisol Estrelicia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dorisol Estrelicia
Ranked #84 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
“Value for money , But rooms need renovation and updating.”
Reviewed November 18, 2010

A clean and tidy hotel on first appearance. Beautiful swimming pool and surrounding area. Very steep hill up to the hotel. Brilliant dining room - fantastic choice for breakfast. Most of the staff were very friendly and keen to help. Clean and tidy room , but , the bathroom was in need of repair. Mould on the tiles, cracked tiles all over shower area. Rotten bathroom door that did not close properly. Generally needed updating on a whole - lots of brown mahogony coloured veneer wood. Great free shuttle bus into town ( thank goodness ). Nice cheap hotel for sleeping in at night , but a better one could be found im sure.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    122
    134
    69
    27
See reviews for
63
220
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

A quiet spot with very helpful and friendly staff. A nice pool and always a sunbed when we stayed. Very clean and all basic amenities. Reasonable food if you do the all inclusive (I've had much worse all-in food at a five star). Sometimes you get a little more than what you pay for, so a five star for the few euros this holiday cost.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanQuann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

I like this hotel, it is a good base and is a bit like home
The hotel is long established and knows how to give a good service and value for money. It may not be a luxury establishment, but the staff are all keen to please and ready to help you to have an enjoyable stay. The swimming pools both outdoor and in are big enough to have a good excersize swim or just cool down, there is also a jacuzzi, a gym and albeit small a very good sauna. The rooms which may a bit small by modern standards have very good views over the sea or the town, you can ask for what you prefer. Breakfast is the normal international buffet style and very adequate, although the tea/coffee machines are a little hard to fathom.
There is a regular free shuttle bus to the centre of Funchal. There are good shops in easy walking distance, and less than a 15 minute walk to a new shopping mall which is quite extensive.
Local restaurants are all good, although the Fora D'oras which is on site is the best with a good selection of modestly priced dishes from Madeira, Italy and India.
There is a good WiFi link in the bar which is free, also a new addition this year is an underground car park.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Just arrived from a fab vacation at Madeira! Fantastic island! Have to say that Dorisol Hotels are very good for the price we paid! The rooms....a bit old fashioned...but we spent very little time in our rooms with so much to do outside. You can use the facilities from the 3 hotels: swimming pools, bars, restaurants, spa... it's well situated, u save money with the courtesy bus to go to the city centre which takes max 15 min, just down the road u have good restaurants open untill late and a bit further down a nice promenade with several night bars! The staff are realy nice and playful, the food nice too and u get to try traditional Madeira food! Definitly recommend it for a cheap and fab holiday!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWhite_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneve
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Apart from some comments i've read, must give my real impression, for the money you pay, you get an unexpected range of facilities. Ok, rooms are not up to 2010 but clean and clear. Food excelent, a magnificent breakfast with no miss of anything. Delicious bread and croissants, almost like ours at home, homemade cakes and waht a fresh water melon every day... Next time i wish i can have a better orange juice :). Staff very friendly and helpful. 3 swimming pools in the complex one of them inside the health club. Very good.
We've all enjoyed it. You can find a good restaurant by the road with different types of food, italian indian, so tasteful, so fantastic hours we've spent there. Beautiful island and a fantastic weather, warm enough and so blue the sky.
We'll be back, all of us. :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IBalland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

No expectation at all after being unable to book Gorgulha. After looking at that I am pleased Estrelicia was "forced" to be my choice. I am on a tight budget and treat a hotel room as a place to shower and sleep so do not need a fancy room but insist that it is clean. Mine was spotless. No balcony though they were willing to move me after a few days but I elected to stay where I was. Room comfortable for my needs and small fridge a convenience. Shower head in bathroom could use some attention but worked well enough.
Food was plentiful with really good fish every night. Meat did not cross my lips fro two weeks. Some quite odd accompaniments though as advised by one of my informants and a strange fixation with brussel sprouts. We even had brussel sprout soup one evening forcing me to abandon my usual green salad starter to try it. Different but not unpleasant. As the hotel's guest mix was not top heavy with Brits, more French than anything else, this seems quirky. Breakfast a nightmare with the French need for cafe au lait taking four runs of the coffee machine to get the mix right while a queue of 20 stretched round the dining room. Excellent Portuguese bread always available, other stuff variable. staff very helpful and very nice.
The courtesy bus was a boon for coming back to the hotel and avoiding the horrible climb. Going downhill to the bus stops was easy.
Entertainment was provided every night though I only watched maybe 10 mins or so but it seemed pretty good. it was not warm enough for me to swim outdoors but there is an excellent indoor heated pool. In any case I was too busy sightseeing.
Estrelicia was great value which is important to me though I would like to be in town next visit if I can find somewhere with a no single supplement period around the same price. Lots going on in the evenings that I would have attended if nearer.
I absolutely loved Madeira and a few folk wanted to know what I thought so I will write a review on that separately.
Thanks to the many helpers and advisors. trip exceeded all expectations.

Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank passwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

You get what you pay for. The price of this hotel was reasonable so we shouldn't have expected too much. It just needed a complete makeover. The room was average although not much room to stretch your legs on the balcony. The restaurant was comfortable but we didn't rate the food at all. The choice was poor and you needed 2 pairs of hands to serve yourself . Poor choice if you wanted a cooked breakfast. Hence we were in and out of the dining room at night within 30 minutes. The bar prices were very expensive but we found a lovely Portuguese bar at the bottom of the hotel driveway called "Local Bar" and affordable prices. They also serve first class light food. Definitely recommend it. Although there was a very good hotel courtesy bus to the town centre it only ran during the day so we were rather stuck to the hotel vicinity in the evenings. Being part of a chain I would expect higher standards from a hotel. Would only recommend this hotel to those looking for a budget holiday. Definitely not for us.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorwichTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Funchal hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
0.2 mi away
Dorisol Florasol
Dorisol Florasol
#56 of 87 in Funchal
358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorisol Buganvilia
Dorisol Buganvilia
#65 of 87 in Funchal
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorisol Mimosa
Dorisol Mimosa
#71 of 87 in Funchal
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 87 in Funchal
551 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dom Pedro Madeira
Dom Pedro Madeira
#1 of 2 in Machico
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel
Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel
#45 of 87 in Funchal
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorisol Estrelicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorisol Estrelicia

Property: Dorisol Estrelicia
Address: Rua Casa Branca 98, Funchal, Madeira 9004-535, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorisol Estrelicia 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorisol Estrelicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorisol Estrelicia Funchal
Dorisol Estrelicia Hotel Funchal
Dorisol Estrelicia Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing