We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So So”
Review of Dorisol Estrelicia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorisol Estrelicia
Ranked #83 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So So”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here all inclusive over Easter 2014. The hotel is clean and we found the staff to be quite pleasant when we convinced them that we were not French who formed the vast bulk of the clientele, whom they seemed to hate with a passion and for whom we had bizarrely been mistaken. The outdoor pool is incredibly cold but there is an indoor heated option though that is very highly chlorinated, probably because on more than one occasion we found a turd floating in it (all the occupants but us were adult French people). The main problem is the lunch and dinner service, which they seriously need to rethink. At lunchtimes the place was mobbed and it seemed that the food available was gone in minutes. At dinnertimes a similar overcrowding happened, which could be easily addressed by having a 2 sitting service with the service available chosen by the guests, subject to availability, at the start of the holiday and stuck to, perhaps with designated tables to avoid the stupidity of a single guest hogging a 4-person table whilst families stood about waiting to be seated. The food was fairly good but the sweets were very repetitive and lacked flavour and texture. The problems with the service and the rudeness of our Gallic cousins mean that we abandoned the hotel's restaurant for the final 2 nights preferring to pay for courtesy and choice over a scrum (my 6-year old was pushed aside by middle aged clientele desperate to access the serving dishes) and fairly samey fare. The entertainment was okay and one of the dancers is very good - he should be as he divulged to us that he is the principal dancer at the Madeira Ballet. I will not be booking this hotel again but there is every reason to think that a bit of thought on the part of the management (especially re the food-time problems) could make this a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Idotrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    124
    137
    69
    30
See reviews for
64
227
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed here for a two week package in January.I stayed in a quite small room on the pool side of the hotel. No balcony and with the window opening being quite low I would not leave children unsupervised in this room. Room clean and fairly well lit. Bathroom was very good with a large bath and lots of hot water.The room soap bars are non animal tested. Which is commendable.The main room had a small fridge,table ,two chairs and a tv, (which was poor in channel selection). The rooms and hotel are being modernised but it comes with a hospitalised look and feel to the place. There is little warmth and the reception area is a white walled mistake.The female receptionists are mainly friendly except one who demeans to serve you only! There is a function room which is comfortable but dimly lit. As were the stairs up to the hotel floors, There were no lights between each flight.. Quite dangerous. This hotel tries to be green and has recycle bins on each floor plus low energy lamps..The clientele when i was there was mainly German who were quiet with more talkative French.The morning meal was continental fare with cereals and some cooked meats plus a cooked breakfast. some fruit but only white bread in six different types but no wholemeal? There is a free coach which takes one to and from Funchal hourly.I usually look forward to relaxing over an evening meal but here in the L shaped dining room it was often a disaster.Even though the food was very good including delicately cooked fish and often a choice of potatoes which once were foiled wrapped jackets and another time a lightly salted version with some skin on. Very flavourful indeed. The vegetable choice was however limited.There was a salad too.The soup was very good most days with twice being excellent. But even though the chef did well the whole meal was often ruined by poor waiter service which was of a Fawlty Towers variety.Eating your meal became a game of chance in as much as when you left the table in between courses the waiters and waitresses would reset your table as if you had left!?This happened three times so I left my hotel key with very large fob in order to safeguard my place and they still did it!The wine service was questionable also as when I ordered a glass (140mm). It would arrive one inch short of the rim. At three Euros a go this was a bit rich..That coupled with the fact that the wine was too acidic and had no fruit taste persuaded me to give up with the drinks.There were also two rows of single tables in one of the dining rooms, one of which had seven squashed into an obviously too small a space. There were ten Inches only between each table! When a diner sat down one had to try not to watch someone's backside hover past your face sometimes inches away. Either that or they would catch the table cloth or knock someone's table.. Quite a few people complained but the Head Waiter would have none of it.. This hotel has a good chef trying his best but what is the point when the dining room is half empty due to such disastrous waiter service? If this hotel wants to attract custom it should have a refurb' rethink and sack it's head waiter.Honestly...I was very dissapointed and would have to really think about staying here again .Regards..

Room Tip: Most rooms are similar here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank valuematters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Funchal hotels

Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Although on a family trip where cost was important, This hotel seemed middle of the road when booking, however, 10 of us booked all inclusive for a 1 week stay at this hotel where we had to pay 10 euros deposit for the safe, another for a beach/swimming pool towel, both refundable, but if I wanted to return the towel for a fresh one it was at a cost of 3 euros each time.

The food was nice but very repetitive.
Breakfast included bacon on the first morning, but we never saw anymore for the rest of our holiday, it became a ham and cheese and toast cycle from there on!

Lunch was served in the pool bar where we where given the choice of either soup or salad to start, followed by fish of the day or chicken as a main course, these where tasty enough served with some rice and minimal garnish, but by the 5th day we where in despair with this minimal choice, my sister asked for an alternative choice from the menu at a cost, but was willing to pay just for the variety, which she did. The following day we all decided to do the same as she enjoyed her choice when on request......we where given a whole 'ALL INCLUSIVE' menu......gggggrrrrr this had clearly been available for the whole duration of our stay but never offered, despite there being 2 babies and one 9 year old clearly struggling with the food choices.

There where NO toiletries available other than the usual small bars of soap. No shower gel or shampoo.

For coffee after our evening meal we had to retreat to the pool bar from the restaurant.

Staff where sadly generally miserable on the whole and often seemed reluctant to be of help, in fact I often felt we where intruding.

However, the rooms although very small, met our needs and where spotlessly clean.

I would not be returning here as we had an extra night at a different hotel which was no comparison and confirmed our opinion on the Dorisol Estrelicia.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisolHotels, Gerente at Dorisol Estrelicia, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
First of all tank you by sending a review from your stay at Dorisol Estrelicia.

It’s with a feeling of sadness that we verify that your stay at our hotel was not as you desired.
Regarding the all inclusive and the breakfast, we are making big changes on the menu, including much more variety on the menu, but unfortunately the new one will be available only after the first of March.
Regarding the others subjects that you refer, we will check what happened during your stay to correct the flaws detected.

We hope in the future that you consider staying in one of our hotels, and checking in loco that your review was not ignored.

Thanks for your comment and we will use it to help correct the flaws detected.

Best regards

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

A Christmas Well Spent we arrived at the hotel on the 23/12/2013 till the 6/1 2014 having been to this hotel before we new what to expect on arrival we were greeted warmly and given two sets of keys to choose which room we wanted on settling into our chosen room a knock on the door a member of staff was stood there with a bottle of wine welcoming us back great touch. everything about this holiday for us was good the food the staff.we where all inclusive have no complaints at all the rooms are cleaned daily towels every otherday. as for some of the reviews i have read on the hotel do not be put of by these everybody is different. Madiera at christmas& new year is magical with so much going on. and if we get the right deal we will return.

Room Tip: we had room 1115 on floor 11 great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elsie1149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was our third visit to Madeira but our first staying at this hotel. The rooms were as expected except for the lack of tea/coffee making facilities advertised on their website, they did rectify this when requested. Housekeeping do a great job of cleaning the rooms every day and were always respectful of privacy by knocking to see if you were there prior to entering. The food was appalling, breakfast had a range of cold continental breakfast choices but only one 'hot' food choice which was always cold. The dinner consisted of a meat dish, a fish dish and a vegetarian option, without the signs it would have been impossible to identify some of the food and it was luke warm at best and cold at worst. We were served a gala dinner on Christmas Eve that resembled an eating challenge from I'm a celebrity...get me out of here, after three unidentified courses that we couldn't eat we asked the waitress what the fourth course was and she shrugged her shoulders and said she didn't know, we left and ate somewhere else. The staff were mostly sullen and some were down right rude, We would return to Madeira but we will give this hotel a wide berth.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crissy1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was our first time away at Christmas & also our first time to Madeira, the hotel was a complete let down, the food was boring with very little choice. Breakfast was probably the worst we had ever had on holiday, bacon only once a week, even the continental breakfast wasn't any better.
On the last day the hot choice was poached eggs done in some disgusting tomato sauce & tinned sliced mushrooms, we ended up having toast & jam. There was little or no entertainment. We had a 6 course meal on Christmas Eve...very nice I hear you say...well it might've been if the food had being hot & not taken so long between courses. Christmas Day itself was a waste of a day, there was hardly anything open, which being Christmas we understood but we did expect the hotel to lay bit more on for the paying guests, it was just like any other day, nothing at all happening during the day & not much more during the evening. WON'T BE RUSHING BACK!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faxrl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

A good hotel for the price, BUT, and this is a big but.. I was going to give a full 5 star review until I saw this; At the reception computer they have a sign asking people to review their hotel here at Trip Advisor in return for a voucher at a local wine-store. This seems like bribing if you as me, which I do not like at all! The reviews here should be independent and not "bought" votes! I dont know how it works as I did not want a voucher, but I dont see how it can be understood in any other way. (is this even legal?!)

This is a large hotel, and except for this small detail which I did not like I have nothing to complain about regarding the hotel itself. Of course, it is not the 5 star resort, but as always; you get what you pay for. Our room was nice with a new bathroom, and balcony facing the sea. It was very neatly cleaned every day. The breakfast was large, though some variation could have given som extra points. The pool-area also seemd nice.

We went here on a get-away with package tour company, and most other guests also seemed to be on the same sort of holiday. Which I guess most staying in the Lido area is anyway. So if you want authencity and locals instead of other tourists, choose a totally different area!

Room Tip: they have sooo many rooms, so asking for a room with seaview is possible. We had a room on 5th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
0.2 mi away
Dorisol Florasol
Dorisol Florasol
#52 of 85 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorisol Buganvilia
Dorisol Buganvilia
#64 of 85 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorisol Mimosa
Dorisol Mimosa
#71 of 85 in Funchal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 85 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dom Pedro Madeira
Dom Pedro Madeira
#1 of 2 in Machico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raga Hotel
Raga Hotel
#44 of 85 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorisol Estrelicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorisol Estrelicia

Property: Dorisol Estrelicia
Address: Rua Casa Branca 98, Funchal, Madeira 9004-535, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorisol Estrelicia 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Dorisol Estrelicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorisol Estrelicia Funchal
Dorisol Estrelicia Hotel Funchal
Dorisol Estrelicia Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing