We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas”
Review of Dorisol Estrelicia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorisol Estrelicia
Ranked #84 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

A Christmas Well Spent we arrived at the hotel on the 23/12/2013 till the 6/1 2014 having been to this hotel before we new what to expect on arrival we were greeted warmly and given two sets of keys to choose which room we wanted on settling into our chosen room a knock on the door a member of staff was stood there with a bottle of wine welcoming us back great touch. everything about this holiday for us was good the food the staff.we where all inclusive have no complaints at all the rooms are cleaned daily towels every otherday. as for some of the reviews i have read on the hotel do not be put of by these everybody is different. Madiera at christmas& new year is magical with so much going on. and if we get the right deal we will return.

Room Tip: we had room 1115 on floor 11 great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elsie1149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    131
    140
    75
    34
See reviews for
70
236
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was our third visit to Madeira but our first staying at this hotel. The rooms were as expected except for the lack of tea/coffee making facilities advertised on their website, they did rectify this when requested. Housekeeping do a great job of cleaning the rooms every day and were always respectful of privacy by knocking to see if you were there prior to entering. The food was appalling, breakfast had a range of cold continental breakfast choices but only one 'hot' food choice which was always cold. The dinner consisted of a meat dish, a fish dish and a vegetarian option, without the signs it would have been impossible to identify some of the food and it was luke warm at best and cold at worst. We were served a gala dinner on Christmas Eve that resembled an eating challenge from I'm a celebrity...get me out of here, after three unidentified courses that we couldn't eat we asked the waitress what the fourth course was and she shrugged her shoulders and said she didn't know, we left and ate somewhere else. The staff were mostly sullen and some were down right rude, We would return to Madeira but we will give this hotel a wide berth.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crissy1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Funchal hotels

halifax
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was our first time away at Christmas & also our first time to Madeira, the hotel was a complete let down, the food was boring with very little choice. Breakfast was probably the worst we had ever had on holiday, bacon only once a week, even the continental breakfast wasn't any better.
On the last day the hot choice was poached eggs done in some disgusting tomato sauce & tinned sliced mushrooms, we ended up having toast & jam. There was little or no entertainment. We had a 6 course meal on Christmas Eve...very nice I hear you say...well it might've been if the food had being hot & not taken so long between courses. Christmas Day itself was a waste of a day, there was hardly anything open, which being Christmas we understood but we did expect the hotel to lay bit more on for the paying guests, it was just like any other day, nothing at all happening during the day & not much more during the evening. WON'T BE RUSHING BACK!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faxrl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

A good hotel for the price, BUT, and this is a big but.. I was going to give a full 5 star review until I saw this; At the reception computer they have a sign asking people to review their hotel here at Trip Advisor in return for a voucher at a local wine-store. This seems like bribing if you as me, which I do not like at all! The reviews here should be independent and not "bought" votes! I dont know how it works as I did not want a voucher, but I dont see how it can be understood in any other way. (is this even legal?!)

This is a large hotel, and except for this small detail which I did not like I have nothing to complain about regarding the hotel itself. Of course, it is not the 5 star resort, but as always; you get what you pay for. Our room was nice with a new bathroom, and balcony facing the sea. It was very neatly cleaned every day. The breakfast was large, though some variation could have given som extra points. The pool-area also seemd nice.

We went here on a get-away with package tour company, and most other guests also seemed to be on the same sort of holiday. Which I guess most staying in the Lido area is anyway. So if you want authencity and locals instead of other tourists, choose a totally different area!

Room Tip: they have sooo many rooms, so asking for a room with seaview is possible. We had a room on 5th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangodays m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed for a week from 18th to 25th of november 2013.We found the hotel room was quite adequate with a small kitchen inside a cupboard with microwave,kettle,sink and fridge quite neat.Towels were changed every two days and soap provided, TV provided free ,Hair dryer,room was cleaned and beds made every day.Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice also eggs and bacon which was changed everyday for either boiled eggs,fried,scrambled or poached.There is a courtesy bus to funchal starting at 9am every hour until 6pm returns every hour starting at 9.30 until 6.30pm,if you are staying later than 6.30pm there is a local bus No 4 from funchal that drops you off at the drive entrance to the hotels but if you do not want to walk up the hill there is another local bus that drops you off at the rear of the hotel No 24 then you can just ring the bell at the gate and walk in NO uphill walking.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wadokai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just returned from an amazing two weeks staying at the dorisol estrelicia hotel, the food was excellent and catered for all tastes, the staff were very friendly and accommodating, the rooms were cleaned and tided every day, and an excellent laundry service was offered, this hotel was exceptional value for money and would definitely stay there again, and would recommend this hotel, just bear in mind that this hotel is situated at the top of a steep hill and you should be able bodied to walk up and down every day, there is a free bus provided in to Funchal but you do have to walk to the bottom of the hill and walk back up again on return.but overall amazing holiday :-)

Room Tip: If you ask for a veranda and a sea view, just a tip to say it is a very windy location,so a garden v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anademac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed 19th - 26th August 2013. Staff were friendly and helpful. The food was a little plain, but healthy and fresh it was a little samey when it came to deserts. It is worth eating out once or twice to try the local cuisine. Our only grumble was that we have a 1 year old with a good routine which we don't mind breaking but not serving meals until 7pm in the evening is pushing it when our little one eats between 4.30pm and 5.30pm. We were A.I. and prepared to buy her meals but the food available to buy stopped at 4.30pm in the hotel. We had to juggle a little and use the local supermarket down the road to compensate. Evening entertainment was ok, the kids play area was ok (Helena was an asset to them, the kids loved her), the outdoor pool was chilly and the hotel is in need of a few cosmetic touch ups but we would stay there again. Yes there is a steep path up to the hotel which is more noticeable when you have a buggy but we're from Sheffield so no biggie. Busses are very easy to use for excursions and the complimentary shuttle bus was very convenient. We often decided to walk into town or back or both. It took about 45 minutes to walk into Funchal's old town with the push chair.
There's a good supermarket near the market in Funchal there are other reviews about it on here I think.
Anyway a good clean basic and friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Pool view may have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 3Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
0.0 mi away
Dorisol Buganvilia
Dorisol Buganvilia
#65 of 86 in Funchal
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorisol Florasol
Dorisol Florasol
#51 of 86 in Funchal
394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorisol Mimosa
Dorisol Mimosa
#75 of 86 in Funchal
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Dom Pedro Madeira
Dom Pedro Madeira
#1 of 2 in Machico
796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
#57 of 86 in Funchal
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Jardins d’Ajuda Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorisol Estrelicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorisol Estrelicia

Property: Dorisol Estrelicia
Address: Rua Casa Branca 98, Funchal, Madeira 9004-535, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorisol Estrelicia 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorisol Estrelicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorisol Estrelicia Funchal
Dorisol Estrelicia Hotel Funchal
Dorisol Estrelicia Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing