We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable!”
Review of Dorisol Estrelicia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorisol Estrelicia
Ranked #83 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean and comfortable with cleaning every day. There was enough space and with a safe, no minibar. Staff was a bit grumpy and when they almost forgot to return our passports, they didn't even say sorry. Did not try the breakfast, but it did not look good. It costs 7 € and for that price you can find much better and cheeper food at the local Doce Pingo.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bacon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    124
    140
    73
    31
See reviews for
67
230
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

we had a family trip for the 50 wedding anniversay of my parents. we decided to take the full package to make it easier for all of us (21 person in total). we paid a supplement of 126 euros per person to have everything inclusif. Please DO NOT take this option as it is a lie. if you pay your coffee, you get an expresso. If it is part of your package, they served you chikoree coffee.. same for orange juice. the coffee is not included after lunch, you have to wait 4pm as they set hours where you can have drinks and snack (not conductif when you have children as the purpose of this trip was to make it easy on the adults, not for them to check their watch all the time). the snack resumed at 1 yogurt cake, no choices. everything closed at 11pm.
We were 3 per rooms and they give you ONE key. When you ask the front desk for extra, they yelled at you and maked faces. we had to hide the keys to make sure that everyone can access during the day as we were not always together. Positive note, The restaurant staff was very nice and friendly, the food was good. The front desk and manager of the bar should be retrained as they do not understand the sense of hospitality with their POOR attitude.
the Island is beautiful, walking the levadas was a great experience.
It took months to set all our schedules together to come up with this trip to wow our parents and this hotel ruined it!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sophub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Funchal hotels

Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Hotel was great. The People were really friendly and I could ask what I wanted - They all answered.
The Hotel is close to the City Funchal, the Taxi Stops and the Sightseeing Busses.

I really enjoyed the trip on Madeira and I know I'll come back :)

Room Tip: If you are a smoker, choose a room with balcony, because the Hotel has rooms without a balcony and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Celine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel is a lot closer to the local restaurants ,shops and bars than I thought it would be and although it is up a steep hill if you are able bodied and not too unfit it wouldn't be a problem .
On first arrival the hotel was clean, decorative with a nice piano bar (entertainment every night) and an outside pool and terrace bar .on further investigation we found the indoor pool , jacuzzi and gym and tennis court. The spa area looked lovely and had a fantastic selection of treatments and very good prices unfortunately I just didn't have time to sample them. The Bouganvilla hotel also has an outdoor pool you can use but no bar .
Check in - we had booked 4 single rooms and asked for them together , unfortunately there had been a mix up and they had only assigned us 3 (floor 8) No balcony . so when sorted out I had a room the other side of the hotel and up some stairs (very difficult to climb with a suitcase as no lift to this part) the room was large with twin beds and a table with 2 chairs , I had a slight side sea view but the windows were small (my friends rooms were in a better position and everything worked well )
The room had a ceiling fan , large wardrobe with enough hangers for my clothes (would not be enough for 2 people) the room had a dressing table but no drawers for clothes but shelves in the wardrobe . I only found 1 plug socket and my fridge didn't work ,the lock on the door was difficult to open and lock again, the bathroom light switch was temperamental and the beds were very hard and the pillows very poor. The bathroom had a bath which was a lovely surprise and great to have , the shower ran off the taps but was very very powerful and temperature easily controlled , just be careful that the shower curtain is in the bath and fully pulled across or the floor gets flooded , towels are changed every other day one bath towel 1 hand towel .oh there is a bidet too.
we had an all inclusive package as it was not much more expensive than bed & breakfast the food was buffet style and fresh and plentiful if you are not fussy but as a prefered vegetarian the options were very very limited as even salads had meat added so as to not go hungry I did eat some dishes containing meat .
The drinks on offer for the All inclusive were also limited to local lager, wines , 3 local liqueurs , vodka ,gin, rum and whisky,a great thing was that bottled water , tea, coffee and hot chocolate were also included . I invented some of my own cocktails "Maderian sun rise (strawberry liqueur, orange juice ice) " Maderian sun set (strawberry liqueur, vodka ,orange juice and ice)and a "Rumba" (banana liqueur,rum,orange juice and ice) My friends enjoyed the white and rose wine .
Entertainment was ok and something different each evening, ballroom dancers, saxophonist , cabaret, reptile show and a traditional dance night and parrot show with barbeque on the pool terrace .
The staff were friendly and helpful and all spoke very good English , The hotel also had a courtesy bus that ran every hour (but not between lunch time) and it only took you as far as the Marina not all the way into town .
Over all for the price we paid the hotel was very good value Madeira is lovely and I would like to visit again

Room Tip: ask for a sea view and rooms with lift access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glittergalMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have just returned from this Hotel 10-12-12 to 17-12-12.
The Hotels were very tired and needed some attention which would not cost the earth to address.
All inclusive
The staff and the food was very good no complaints until you have due to the lack of customers got to eat Breckfast Lunch and Dinner in three different Buildings. You were also restricted as to where you could drink and you had to sign for every drink each time you went to the bar.
Some people staying in the lower building had to buy food for breckfast as they could not venture up the hill to the middle Building for breckfast. They were booked as bed and Breckfast.

Room Tip: If you have any problems walking do not go to this area or this group of Hotels. May be better in se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank berjenManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel works, it is not a luxury version, however it is much better than basic. The facilities are surprisingly extensive. It is priced very competitively and delivers well above that standard. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and have very good english (and every other language in Europe when you listen in at reception). The place is very clean and the lifts work well. There is a 7 day a week shuttle bus that gives a regular service into the centre of Funchal and it is free. The Wifi is in the bar and is fast and free. The outside pool is a bit cold but deep and quite long so is good for an exercise swim, the indoor pool is like a warm bath and very pleasant as are the jacuzzi and sauna. There is a well equipped gym. There are lots of well priced restaurants nearby that have good "tourist menu" offers, one was only 10 Euro for 2 courses including a glass of wine. HAve a good visit

Room Tip: When you book be sure to ask for a room with a balcony (if you need one) and whether you want mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komen, Slovenia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had 4 B&B in this hotel. Hotel rooms are not the same as in the photo of the hotel. We exected 3* rate hotel, but these is not worth. The rooms was very small, not good cleaned, with dirty sheets,... We immediately ask for another room, but the said that they don' t have any different or. bigger rooms. There was no AC in the hotel so we sleep with the open balcony doors but then we have mosquitoes all night... Breakfast was very terrible. The first day we eat bread and cheese, then the second we drink juice only. Tables was dirty, cheese and ham were served in a plastic container-box. We eat breakfast inside the restaurant, but also there were walking pigeons!
We were very disappointed so we decided to book another hotel after 2 night in this terrible hotel! We recommend that you pay 10 € a day more and you enyoj your holiday in totaly different hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
0.2 mi away
Dorisol Florasol
Dorisol Florasol
#52 of 86 in Funchal
381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorisol Buganvilia
Dorisol Buganvilia
#65 of 86 in Funchal
361 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorisol Mimosa
Dorisol Mimosa
#72 of 86 in Funchal
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Dom Pedro Madeira
Dom Pedro Madeira
#1 of 2 in Machico
750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
#61 of 86 in Funchal
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 86 in Funchal
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorisol Estrelicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorisol Estrelicia

Property: Dorisol Estrelicia
Address: Rua Casa Branca 98, Funchal, Madeira 9004-535, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorisol Estrelicia 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Dorisol Estrelicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorisol Estrelicia Funchal
Dorisol Estrelicia Hotel Funchal
Dorisol Estrelicia Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing