We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wicker Toboggan Sled Ride

Wicker Toboggan Sled Ride
Ranked #14 of 95 Tours in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had great fun and we all laughed all the way down. It cost us 30 euros per basket, 10 euros per photo and they ask you for tips too which we gave them 5 euros. We had 2 baskets so as you can imaging the cost does mount. Saying that I doubt there are many places (if any) in the world that you can travel on normal streets downhill at speed. It was really fun and my 5 and 9 year old loved it too.

We walked back to the town (which took us about 40 mins) with a complaining husband and 2 children in tow. It is very steep so only walk down if you have good shoes on. In hindsight I would have got the taxi at the toboggan and wouldn't have walked down.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    307
    107
    31
    40
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level Contributor
257 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Go for it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is great fun, but remember to keep your hands well inside the toboggan and hold on to your skirt. You go quite a long way down and if you can persuade one of your friends to take your photo part way down you will save yourself some money as the professional guy takes your photo without you noticing and then tries to sell it to you at the bottom.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jrandgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The only way to travel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Brilliant - sitting in a wicker basket, being pushed down the hill by 2 good looking men - what more could you ask for! Wasn't as scarey as I expected, so take your camera to video the journey. Remember to smile too, as the photographer is on route - cost 10 Euros at the end of the ride.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Longshanks186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

At €30 for a couple the ride isn't cheap but lasts over 10 minutes and is a must! The ride itself is very smooth and at times picks up amazing speed. Be ready for the attempt to sell you a picture at the end your trip (we walked away) and be prepared to make a decision upon how to return back to Funchal, the toboggan does not take you all the way back. We ignored the taxi driver telling it was too far to walk and walked! It's a straight downhill stroll which will take you through areas you would otherwise miss. One warning though, whilst the walk is downhill, some of the hills are very steep (I felt the effects in my legs the next day!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank romab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
343 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“An experience not to be missed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great fun, a ‘must-do’ when in Madeira. An experience not to be missed. It is not as scary as you would think and the ride lasted longer than I had expected, about 7 - 8 minutes. Since we were on an island tour from our cruise ship, we did not have the experience of having to deal with the taxi drivers at the bottom.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wicker Toboggan Sled Ride also viewed

 

Been to Wicker Toboggan Sled Ride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing