We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touring the mountains was great”
Review of Madeira Explorers

Madeira Explorers
Ranked #23 of 149 things to do in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gibraltar
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Touring the mountains was great”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Went on a whole day touring the mountains.
Waterfalls, valleys etc. we did it all and it was just great. They took us to see the old semi detached houses and how the water is taken from one part of the island to the other using special plants.
The tour guide was just great, very informative. But remember this tour is a long tour and can be very tiresome for older people.BUt we'll worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    92
    28
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Brilliant tour”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

If you visit Madiera shopping is fun to a point but there is so much more to see. This tour is great. The Levada is an elevated field irrigation channel. The thing that the pictures don't show is that it is high up on the side of a mountain. So the views are spectacular. You pass rural fields and crops. The guides give insight into the plants and crops you are seeing. This is not a difficult walk and is mostly level but be aware that there are some very steep drops if you stumble off the trail. The bathroom facilities have to be shared with the sheep and goats (ie the bushes). With that in mind it is a tour that should not be missed. I would love to do another tour with this group.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2dogsAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Can't blame the company for the weather, but...”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked two walks with Madeira Explorers, one half day to Serra D'Agua and a full day around the Lakes of Madeira. As it turned out we didn't do either. The half day seemed a mix up with the routes, although we still enjoyed the walk around Levada do Norte. At first we thought it was very tame and uninteresting, but it got much better in the second half. If you do this walk, persist with it, as the last hour is tremendous. How the locals are able to live on the side of these mountains and cultivate the small area of land they do is amazing. The second walk was changed due to very poor weather, and rather than do the high level walk around the ridges, we were asked to drop down into the valley to see the 25 waterfalls. The change was made when we were at the top of the mountains, as we had left bright sunshine in Funchal, but encountered heavy rain, strong winds and low cloud with poor visibility at the start of the planned walk. However, as the revised walk progressed, even this was too much in torrential rain and cold winds, so it was cut short. The result was we spent over 3 hours trudging through conditions normally reserved for the English Lake District! Very wet and very cold. Our guide was very concerned about our well being, and ensured we were all kept safe - as good a recommendation as one could wish for, but I can't say we weren't disappointed. Obviously we'll have to return and try again - hopefully in better weather. I would definitely use Madeira Explorers again, as they have shown themselves to be a very responsible and safety conscious organisation. They cannot help the weather. If you plan to do one of the full day Levada walks though, please plan for it being like an English walk in he mountains. That way you'll stay safe and as dry as possible.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked just the Lakes walk and were entertained all day by Alvaro. Excellent guide - very knowledgable and humourous, a delight to have as a guide. The "lakes" are really just rock pools, as someone else commented, but this walk takes in 3 quite different levadas with some quite different and spectacular scenery. We picked this walk as it was on our first full day on Madeira and a Sunday - so we didn't really trust the bus services to get us around. We were picked up at the hotel, collected some others for the group (I think there were 10 of us in all) and then whisked off to the start. Alvaro was a font of knowledge throughout the day, on the fanua and flora of the area, the history of the levadas, farming methods, cookery ...

We will definitely use this company again when we visit - as we surely will.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank andy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
632 reviews
264 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Levada walk”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Did this walk through this company with the most wonderful guide, Alvaro, that I have ever encountered on a trip. The man was fantastic and absolutely made the trip!
We did the Paradise Valley half day trip.

A well organised company.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HabLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madeira Explorers also viewed

 
Camara De Lobos, Madeira
 

Been to Madeira Explorers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing