We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe and interesting walks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madeira Explorers

Madeira Explorers
Ranked #27 of 143 things to do in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Safe and interesting walks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Good range of walks and they pick you up from your hotel. The guide checked we all had waterproofs (you need them in Madeira as the weather is very unpredictable) and made sure we were safe throughout the walk. The levadas can be dangerous if you're careless so this was really important.

I would book with them again, in fact I will as I'm going back to Madeira in April 2013 for another walking holiday. I did do another walk with a different company but didn't feel safe as the guide didn't seem that bothered about whether we were kitted out appropriately or whether the conditions were suitable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank karen245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    87
    27
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great way to discover the island with wonderful guides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have done numerous walks with the Madeira explorers team over the years and have found that, consistently, the guides are well informed, helpful and fun. OUr last guide was Andreas and we did a peaks walk which, unfortunately was disappointing due to the poor weather conditions. Despite this Andreas kept us going and gave lots of interesting information about the area. Most impressive is the ability of the guides to speak a number of languages with fluency and skill.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I took the full day "Lakes of Madeira" which was a great choice. Unfortunately I am annoyed that I don't remember the name of the guide but he was amusing and knew the walk inside out! It was an easy walk even in the heat of the day.
Would recommend!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank seat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable staff & great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were due to do a walk in the mountains but due to the weather had to change to a levada walk. The driver (Cecilia) and guide (David) were really great and the walk was more enjoyable for his vast knowledge of the Island and flora & fauna. Not cheap but a good day out

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jwinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent guides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We did 2 walks with Madeira Explorers, this first was the 25 waterfalls one, this was a very nice walk, we were in a group of about 20. Our guide was very good giving details on plants and views. The 800m tunnel was fun, they even provided torches. Be aware though that there are no toilets on route so don’t drink too much! The 2nd walk we booked was the high peaks walk however the cloud was low that day so when they collected us from the hotel in the morning they offered us the choice of a refund or a lower level walk, we chose the walk which followed a levada down a valley past farms and our guide pointed out lots of trees and fruits that we wouldn’t have noticed ourselves, it was a very enjoyable walk if a little easier than the high peaks walk we had signed up for. Apparently they sometimes do a coastal walk as an alternative but it was too windy on our day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerSim0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madeira Explorers also viewed

 

Been to Madeira Explorers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing