We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for a stay in the cuore of Funchal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Do Centro Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Do Centro Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Carmo 20, Funchal, Madeira 9050-019, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Porto
Level Contributor
325 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Good price for a stay in the cuore of Funchal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel is acceptable, clean, with the basic conditions for a good night of sleep. I stayed in a triple bedroom with a big window facing the main street (but not very agreeable). The bathroom was big enought, but a litle "seedy".. Everything was clean but nothing was improved, only WC faces a good inovation.

The space is quite modest, old-fashioned decor and with very limiting access: there was only one outlet in the entire division of my room!! Unbelievable!!! In the morning, we easily heard noises of people chatting outside the rooms... around 8.00 am.. impossible to sleep (maybe because our room was in the 1first floor. Breakfast is poor, quite small, but decent and tasty: there´s coffe, milk, 3 types of brad and juice with with the usual equipment (cheese, ham, butter, jam).

Although, the location is perfect, you can walk to the main attractions within 5 mins - court, cathedral, etc. Also, if you have a car you are very close to the mains streets to travel.

My stay was good. If I would stay here again? I don´t know...

Positive:
- location is perfect.
- clean and cheap.
- easy to park the car.
- Staff is professional.

Negative
- old fashion.
- bad facilities.
- no mini bar or fridge.
- no FREE-WIFI!! (How is this possible?)
- bad mattresses (for a 3 star hotel not aceptable!)
- bathrooms need to improve.
- one outlet in the room!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InesPontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    23
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
19
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed a week with my wife in familiar Do Centro -hotel. The location for hiker is perfect, because most of the bus stops are within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel itself is a little bit modest, but the basics are in good condition: The staff is professional and friendly and the hotel and the rooms are kept very clean. The new benefit is that the quests of the hotel can use the roof pool of the very near hotel Windsor. It was always empty when we visited the pool.
The breakfast is small, I have to admit, but the rolls are fresh, tea is fine and the cheese and ham are OK. I have noticed that if I manage at home to lunch with one roll, why should I eat more on a holiday? I will be hungry after 4 hours even if I had for breakfast a horse.
The management should consider about buying mattresses to beds.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arbetare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The hotel was nice. Clean and good rooms. It's situated in Funchal down town away from the hotel area. This is good if you want to be in the middle and everything is around the corner. The breakfast room was quite small but kept the standards. We had a car and it was not so difficult to park at evening time. At day time there is a parking fee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cityscramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Breakfast is quite basic, but tasty and healthy. Rooms are clean and appliances are in order.
There are only one electrical outlet in the room and one in the bathroom. For charging multiple appliances it's better to bring an outlet splitter with you or buy one from the shop located near the hotel. There is no minibar or fridge in the room. Pillows are quite flat.
There is no free WiFi in the hotel, but shopping centres in Madeira provide free WiFi. The closest one - Anadia Shopping is located 300m from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daivanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

For the plus: the shower was oke. What went wrong: airco not sufficient, rude girl at the reception, no sense of hospitality, rotten pillows, pay wifi (the only place on our trip/visited 6 hotels), stuffy hotel, once modern (galaxy far far away), breakfast very poor. Receptionists shouting at each other.
We were just guests, passing by. No need to care about..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Funchal hotels

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location in centre of town. I would struggle to give this 3 stars though. Pillows were cheap and lumpy. Beds had waterproof plastic under normal sheets. Made sleeping difficult and uncomfortable. Other than that it was clean but basic.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessPirouette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel over Christmas. The staff are helpful, the decor is a little dated but rooms were very clean and the bed fairy even came and made the beds on Christmas day. My only minor niggle is that there was only one power socket in the room. It wasn't really a problem but a couple more would have removed the need to swap things round for charging.

As other reviewers mention, the breakfast leaves something to be desired. It is very basic continental breakfast fare of bread, ham and cheese. Pretty boring but there was nothing actually wrong with the food that was there.

The location really is superb. Right in the heart of Funchal within easy walking distance of the waterfront, old quarter, cable car etc. We hired motorbikes while we were there and were allowed to park them in the secure car park at the Windsor hotel with absolutely no fuss or cost.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel, unless you want lobster for breakfast or demand ultra contemporary styling for some reason.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 mi away
Residencial Greco
Residencial Greco
#85 of 87 in Funchal
3.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Windsor Hotel
Windsor Hotel
#79 of 87 in Funchal
3.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Orquidea
Hotel Orquidea
#60 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergaria Catedral
Albergaria Catedral
#64 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#52 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#28 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Do Centro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Do Centro Hotel

Property: Do Centro Hotel
Address: Rua Carmo 20, Funchal, Madeira 9050-019, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Do Centro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel do Centro, 3 stars hotel, offers their guests the perfect location for a quiet stay in Funchal. Its hospitality and its classic decor, adds a touch of informality to this hotel, making the customers stays unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Budget Places, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Do Centro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Do Centro Funchal
Do Centro Hotel Funchal
Do Centro Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing