We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Trip Advisor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Hayes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thank you Trip Advisor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Although our first visit, it is unlikely to be our last, feeling that we already knew both the Hotel and Funchal before arriving, this thanks to the very informative information read on Trip Advisor.

We can only agree with the numerous positive comments already made and, any intended visitors can have no fears that these comments are not correct.

The Hotel attracts adults of all ages, albeit in the main the majority were in the upper age bracket, of which we are members, but all that we socialised with were extremely nice and certainly not stick in the muds as has been mentioned in a few of the adverse comments.

Room cleanliness could not be faulted, breakfasts to die for, evening meals in the main ok, sufficient choice for even the most picky, just the odd evening where the combinations could have been better, but we still never went hungry.

All the staff that we encountered were extremely friendly and efficient, Reception staff efficient and always available, dining staff clearing tables promptly between courses and with finding your own table NOT a problem. Bar service could not have been better, particularly Malilde and the young evening bartender (can't remember his name, but he will remember our Red/Yellow card football relationship)

As for the Thomson team, Alex and Laura went out of their way to make our stay what it was and could not be faulted, with Laura entertaining us with her beautiful voice on a number of evenings, this alongside the brilliant "The Players". I understand all the above have now been deployed elsewhere but all a credit to the Thomson organisation.

Yes, the walk back from town is uphill but we are both just turned 70 and never resorted to buses or taxis during the week that we stayed, and still here to tell the tale.

All in all a lovely way to spend our 50th Wedding Anniversary, thank you Savoy Gardens for making it special, for the bottle of bubbly and arranging a special meal at the sister hotel Royal Savoy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Sensimar Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for posting your positive review on our hotel on this website. We were delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your first stay with us and so pleased to know that you found our team to be most helpful and friendly and particularly glad to note that the team ensured you had a wonderful 50th Wedding Anniversary Celebration with us - Congratulations ! Please be assured that your kind comments will be shared with everyone here, as these comments will certainly have an encouraging impact on their job satisfaction, too.
Also, you will be pleased to know that the Thomson team, Alex and Laura have moved on to another Thomson destination and now we have a new equally excellent team of representatives as well as a highly talented singing duo Matt & Sarah, who are back for a second season. Together, we are sure to be able to offer continued high standards of service excellence to all our guests.
We hope it will not be too long before we can welcome you back to our hotel.
Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    621
    167
    44
    13
See reviews for
59
1,544
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llwyngwril, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

I have a major problem writing the review of this hotel as it really is too good My problem is that because the hotel is so good it will become very popular and Thomson holidays will put the prices up and I really want to go again this year .The Staff, cleanliness, rooms ,food and location are all excellent,,so if you do go to the Savoy Gardens please don't tell anyone else about it

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and book a Junior Suite with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Sensimar Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a delightful review. We were extremely pleased to know that you had such a great experience on your first stay at our hotel and hope it will not be too long before we can welcome you back to the Savoy Gardens Hotel again.
Meanwhile, receive warm greetings from sunny Funchal !
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had such a fantastic time at this hotel two years ago, that we booked again for the same week this year - sometimes a risky strategy as we were therefore travelling with very high expectations that they could re-produce the excellent performance and standards we benefitted from last time (see our previous review "Bring clothes with stretchy waistbands"). But guess what - they did it again. Love the whole ambience of this hotel: the ubiquitous art; the views; the comfort; the cleanliness; the location; the food - and above all, really appreciate the good service and attention to detail.

There was a clue when we arrived. We recognised almost all the hotel staff team, even after two years, which led us to believe that they are all happy in their work, delivering consistently good service. Low staff turnover is always a very good indicator that things are managed well.

Had a great time and although we travel and stay in hotels a lot, this is still the only hotel we have stayed in which has a dedicated, tuneable, good quality FM radio in every bathroom to accompany guests who like to sing in the shower. Decadent or what?

The Thompson team also put in great performances and looked after our every need.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pianoman05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Sensimar Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you ever so much for providing such positive feedback on your recent stay. We were delighted to note that on this second visit your high expectations were meet at all levels, and even the smallest details were notable - "We did it again!", using your words. Also, your kind words of praise towards our staff members is much appreciated and will most certainly be shared with everyone here. I concur wholeheartedly that our staff are an asset and credit to the company.
Thank you again for your continued loyalty and hope it will not be too long before we can welcome you back to our hotel.
Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We are just back from our second visit to this hotel. Lovely room and spotlessly clean. Food very good although sometimes not very hot. Really enjoyed our stay and the weather was very nice although it was February. We are thinking of visiting at the same time next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dreamteam06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Sensimar Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such kind comments, which will be shared with the whole team here. We were so pleased to read, that your second stay with us was consistently good and we thank you most sincerely for your continued loyalty. Also, your constructive feedback on food temperature is much appreciated and will be used for immediate action and improvement.
Here, in Madeira we continue to enjoy the warm spring weather in February.
We really look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again next year, meanwhile, receive warm greetings from sunny Funchal !
With best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last year and found it very pleasant. The bedrooms were large and very modern. The food was all buffet with plenty of choice at breakfast. The evening buffet was varied and always first class. The desserts were delicious!
There was a very nice pool but for me it wasn't quite warm enough.
It was a good 20 minutes walk into the centre but we usually caught the bus which was just down the road.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be the quietest No spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Sensimar Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your posting your review. It was good to read your positive comments about our hotel and services and we are very pleased to know that your enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to having the pleasure of your return visit to the Savoy Gardens hotel, sometime in the near future.
Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed on 6th floor facing mountains. Dog barking most of day and cockerel crowing early morning. Room good but bed somewhat hard. 2 single beds pushed together. Breakfasts excellent. Dinners a bit hit and miss. Delicious salads but main meals a bit disjointed and not very hot. Plenty of choice of sweets. Great singing duo, The Players, in the evenings were brilliant but left to go on the cruise ships last Monday. Alex, the Thomson's rep, was also excellent but he has now moved on as well!

Room Tip: Try and go for a front room if you want to avoid barking dog and cockerel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeeBeeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Sensimar Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay. We are happy to read that overall you had a good stay and also found the breakfasts particularly notable. Though, we are sorry that you found the bed somewhat hard, these should be of the same quality throughout the hotel. Whilst details on this site remain anonymous, we would appreciate if you could let us know which room you stayed in so we can review that particular mattress and replace if necessary. Your constructive comment on the dinners not being hot enough is also much appreciated and will certainly review this point with the restaurant and kitchen team for improvement.
We are also very pleased to read that the musical Duo, The Players, as well as Alex, the Thomson representative, made a positive impact. They have moved on to other Thomson destinations and now, we have the return of the equally talented singing duo, Matt & Sarah, and Alex has been substituted by another team of excellent representatives.
Once again, many thanks and kind regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit and it lived up to all our expectations.
This hotel is a couples only and for those of a certain age who may wish to have a relaxing break this is the place to stay.
The staff are superb friendly and attentive.
The buffet breakfast and dinner have a good selection for all tastes. The quality is of a good standard.
Rooms with a sea view are spacious and maintained to a high level.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Sensimar Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for posting your kind review regarding your recent stay. We were delighted to read how your second stay with us was consistently good and thank you most sincerely for your continued loyalty. Your kind comments regarding the staff being friendly and attentive will of course be shared with everyone here.
We really hope we can continue to welcome you back many more times.
Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.7 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#10 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Savoy Gardens

Property: Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Address: Azinhaga Casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal (Formerly Savoy Gardens)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Savoy Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensimar Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Gardens
Savoy Gardens Funchal
Sensimar Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing