We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The jury is out...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

As with anything, each person has different expectations.

Overall, it would be difficult to fault this this hotel as it's exceptionally clean, modern and well equipped. The pool area is lovely and as others have stated, there is a roof terrace with an honesty bar.

The rooms are a good size and (we had a sea view) there is a reasonable sized balcony. The maid service was exceptional. On a personal note, I'd prefer the room not to have carpet. It just doesn't work for me in a hotel abroad.

Food was buffet style and acceptable. Each evening had a theme, though in my view it represented just a couple of dishes from the norm so choice was a little repetitive. Breakfast was just that and acceptable. Food wise - my only fault was lack of choice for fresh fruit. Plenty of fruit salad but no loose fruit, bar apples. The odd tray of sliced melon for example, would have been lovely. Signs everywhere saying you couldn't take food away - maybe that's why there was little loose fruit choice!

Entertainment...not sure what to say here. The entertainment area was always full - so I'm not sure if it was just not to my taste or everyone else had simply nothing else to do. I could have quite happily hung myself after just one night. I don't think anyone would have noticed! It was dark down there and I'm sure a few were nodding off!!

There is a hairdressers and beauty salon, the latter was quite expensive.

The over riding thing for me about the hotel was it was well run, clean and good value but, bar the room maid, who was lovely, the staff were not particularly friendly. They're efficient and get the job done but there was just something missing. I felt sometimes that the staff were just going through the motions. Most staff were quite mature - maybe a mix of ages would lighten things up.

The hotel seems to be almost exclusive to Thomson. Their rep was on site daily (bar day off).

Position wise, the hotel is set back from the main road on a short (quarter mile or so) but steep hill. There is no hotel courtesy but there is a public bus each hour, just outside. Plenty more on the main road. Taxis are in abundance everywhere. It's about 6 Euros on a one way trip from the hotel to town. It's a nice walk downhill though. I think if you were struggling to walk for any reason, or simply chose not to, this would definitely not be your best choice.

Overall, it was ok but I wouldn't recommend it, nor return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,958)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,465 - 1,471 of 1,958 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have just returned from a fortnight at this hotel and we could not fault it, our second time there. Good choices of food at breakfast and dinner, the waiting staff are very helpful and courteous. Everything is kept spotlessly clean, and everyone entering the restaurant is encouraged to use the hand gel, a good sign that cleanliness is taken seriously by the management. We would recommend booking a front sea view room, these rooms are bigger and the views from the balcony are wonderful. Our chambermaid Helena could not have made us feel more welcome, the room was kept spotless. Changes of towels daily, and bedding several times while we were there. The beds are very comfortable. I also urge guests to make use of the hairdresser in the hotel, Louisa, she is very good and very reasonably priced. 10 euros for a shampoo, blow dry and tonging, if needed. I went to her several times and I was very happy with the results. I would add though that it is a bit of a climb up to the hotel, this time there, we walked down to the town and got the bus back, number 24 to just outside the hotel. If you walk a couple of streets down from the hotel you can gets lots of choice of buses into the centre of Funchal. A lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room, rooms at the back are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed for one week in May, and not many complaints. First the good news, the Hotel is clean, has many facilities and the bedrooms are large, airy and very comfortable with huge beds, and our room had a balcony with a sea view, and a large bathroom. The maid, Helena kept it very clean and topped up with fresh towels, soaps etc, and was always cheerful and friendly, despite having many rooms to service each day. The food was very good, with plenty of choices, and we particurly liked the no set time, seat yourself option at both breakfast and dinner. There is a large outdoor swimming pool with loungers, parasols etc. and also a rooftop sun terrace with whirlpool spa, an honesty bar,and views out over the sea, gloriously relaxing. The nightly entertainment was very enjoyable, and I loved the wellness classes provided each morning, and the fact that the Hotel is Adults Only was a bonus.
The bad news, the Hotel is situated on a steep hill, the usual for Maderia, and it is quite a climb back up from town or the sea front on hot sunny days, especially if you are unable to walk far, however the local bus into Funchal stops outside the Hotel, and a weeks pass can be bought quite cheaply. Although our room was very quiet and we hardly heard anything from neighbours or fellow quests, the balconies overlook a busy road, so there is quite a lot of traffic noise all day. My only complaint about the Resataurant is that the tables weren't cleared very quickly, and as it was buffet style, help yourself, we often found ourselves waiting quite some time for the dishes from one course to be cleared, before we could move on to the next course. A small niggle though and one that couldn't be solved by a little more attention by the Maitre 'D, and certainly not enough to spoil some great food, in a light, airy and very clean Restaurant.
We've been to Madeira many times, and this isn't our usual Hotel, but as we booked at the last minute we were a bit anxious as to what we would find. All in all it was a great week, in good 4 star accommodation, which we thoroughly enjoyed, were not disappointed, and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor with balcony and sea view, but the higher the floor, the less traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 650Frequenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this hotel - our first trip to Maderia - and it was perfect.
It does not look terrlbly exciting from the outside but it is well maintained, very clean and comfortable and the staff are all very friendly and helpful.
The food was first class both breakfast and evenings, lots of choice, always hot, and replenished regulary so no matter what time you went in to the dining room it always looked nice and appealing. With buffet style late dining can be a problem but we never came across it which was nice. They also asked guests to gel their hands on entering the dining room each time which with a buffet selection is a really good idea. The pool and facilities are excellent - the rooftop terrace with the honesty bar - a nice touch, along with the jacuzzi all make for a relaxing holiday. Granted it is hilly but it is Maderia. We walked into town and back each day and it was about half an hour each way, although a taxi back was only about 3 euros and a bus stop right outside the hotel if you preferred. We paid for a sea view and I'm glad we did, it was lovely and well worthit, the room was first class. Evening entertainment was pretty good and the Thomson staff worked hard to keep it interesting with a different theme every night so all credit to them.
I can't fault anything about our visit and would happily holiday there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NottinghamSue074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very good holiday, a bit of a climb up to the hotel, but it was clean good size rooms, went with my wife on the 15th April for one week. We were on a half board basis, buffet style meals fresh food was being served. Maid service was exellent,

Room Tip: Best rooms are witha sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B. D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our 1st time in Madeira and at the Savoy Gardens and we loved it. Madeira was a little more hilly than l expected and would not be suitable for anyone with walking difficulties but there is a bus stop ( down a tiny hill) just outside the hotel. The hotel is very good, comfortable, clean and has enormous beds.The staff are very friendly and efficient ( One day my husband put in the wrong code when locking the safe and couldn't remember what code he had put in(senior moment)after several attempts l reported the problem to the reception staff and they sent a chap within 10 minutes and it was sorted with 2.
The food is excellent, plenty of choice (Good job there aren't any scales in the bathroom).
The hotel has a good pool with plenty of loungers and brollies but the roof terrace is wonderful, quiet and relaxing and the jacuzzi is great.
The only downside is, we had a mountain view room and the balconies are very small, only room for 2 chairs, no table, and the mountains can be seen if you lean over and look to the right, over the other houses in the way( some of which are derelict), but who spends time of the balcony when its lovely on the roof terrace during the day and even to take a bottle of wine and glasses onto the roof terrace after your evening meal with the view of Funchal lit up. Other people who had a sea view room said their balconies weren't much bigger and they were woken up by dogs barking all night, (we couldn't hear anything) and not worth the extra £280 for a sea view.
The hotel is "cash free", it's easy to overspend on drinks etc., so be sure to keep a check on spending and have enough at the end of your hols to pay the bill.I would have liked a copy of the receipt each time we signed for bottles of water etc,to keep a better check. Although you can have the tea and coffee in your room replaced by the hotel it is much cheaper to take your own and buy milk from a shop a little way along the road.
We went on 3 trips with Thomson, and found them to be expensive ( others went with the local tour operators and said they had paid less than half for the same trips and they were great). Also the content of the trips is poor, especially the West Island which lasts for 8 hours, we had 4 10 minute stops for views, 1 half hour stop for a coffee and 1 hour 45 minutes for lunch which meant we were sat on the coach for over 5 hours out of the 8.When you add in the number of view stops on the East trip and the Nuns Valley trip you finish up with loads of views of mountains and villages that you can't place when you get home, they all look alike.
The cable cars are a must, stunning and the Bottanical Gardens are lovely with white peacocks amongst their aviary of parrots.
All in all a wonderful holiday.
We will return to Madeira and the Savoy Gardens again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank san_n_rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just return from savoy gardens,what a lovely hotel.rooms with sea view were large well decorated.
Staff at the hotel work hard to please you included evening entertainers who are so talented.
We meet some lovely people there also on the day trips which is a must.food was really good, I'm fussy to please. No one complain at all so well done to savoy gardens & Thompson we had such a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms a must .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank psargent12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,035 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,961 reviews
0.3 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens

Address: Azinhaga Casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal (Formerly Savoy Gardens)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range: $82 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Gardens
Savoy Gardens Funchal
TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing