We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have just spent a week at this hotel and I must say what a lovely hotel. the staff are wonderful very helpful. The rooms are comfortable very clean. You have to use an anti bacterial hand cleanser before entering the restaraunt, which we thought was excellent especially as it is buffet service. Sea view rooms overlook the road so can get noisy at night with bikers, The hotel is in a residential area with a lot of dogs barking , but none of this was problem to us. However, some guests did find it a nuisance.
We found that the ages of the guests varied from late 20's upwards. We met some lovely people.
The bus into Funchal stops outside the Hotel and is just under 2.00 euros, we had a taxi back and ranged between 4.50 to 6.00 euros. The area is very hilly. They do have activities during the day, but you are not pressured into taking part.
Will we go back YES. thank you to all staff for making us welcome

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 22ladybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    635
    171
    47
    13
See reviews for
64
1,599
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (906)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This Hotel was booked as a package holiday with Thomson's Couples.
Happy with all aspects of the Hotel.
The only thing I would say is the dining tables are far too close together.
If sat next to sociable people thats ok but on several occasions we were sat next to people who did not speak between themselves never mind us.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celeryEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here for four days in the month of March. And, I have started planning for my next trip to the same place. The moments I spent here were just awesome. Nicely decorated and well-appointed rooms, amazing services of the staff, delicious food - this was all enough for me, to love this place. I would advise all my friends to visit the place once.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sergio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked last minute with Thomson's for this hotel in Funchal, Madeira. Everything went smoothly with the flight and transfers etc. The hotel is described as a "couples" hotel which means no children under 16. It's also apparently meant to be aimed at couples aged 35-50, although as this hotel used to be a Thomson's "Gold" hotel - it receives a lot of repeat business from older customers. I guess that gives some idea of the quality of the hotel - which is very good, although it was a bit weird being probably the youngest guest at the hotel, aged 42!!!! We usually travel independently, and have never stayed half board before, or in an exclusively British hotel, so the whole experience was a bit different for us.
While not necessarily being something that we would repeat again, there were some good points: the hotel is in a good location, about a mile from the centre of Funchal. We walked it in about 15-20 mins, and it is quite hilly. Its also not far from the Lido area where there are bars, restaurants and other big hotels. There didnt appear to be a beach in the area, although the lido has a pool and sea access.
The hotel also has a pool with plenty of sunbeds, parasols etc, and a sun deck on the roof with a hot tub and honesty bar. There is a spa, games room and outdoor games area also.
We had a 1st floor sea view room, which was lovely - spacious, bright and with the biggest bed ever! Very comfortable. There is also tv, hairdryer, kettle etc. The room was cleaned every day and was spotless.
The food was ok - quite bland but themed each night and the staff work hard to keep everyone happy. Its a buffet, and seemed to have soup, salads, meat, fish, veg and veggie option each night, regardless of the theme. The breakfasts were great - lots of choice - and set you up for the day. Drinks were quite pricey.
There was also entertainment which was a duo while we were there - but we only saw them for about half an hour. I think there may have been other entertainers, but it wasnt really our bag, so we tended to go out into the old town, or to local bars for a drink. There are plenty of options in the local area.
Overall - nice enough for a quiet relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JuliaandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

It must be recognised this is primarily a Thomson hotel, but still quite nice. Comfortable, a sea view room is a must, whatever level. Previous reports of road noise we disagree with, my wife is a light sleeper, no problems The dining tables can be considered close, but one does not have to talk to all and sundry, acknowledge only, this never was an issue for us as we always had a table of our own. Our only reservation with the food was the quality of the meat at times, otherwise plenty of choice and of expected standards. The hilly location could be a problem to those with walking difficulties, but local taxi alternaive is cheap. For the sure footed it is quite possible to walk to the far side of Funchal and back, we made day of it with visits to flower market. Blandy's winery, the fort etc. Although we were aware, it is a pity the "tea and coffee provided" only applies to the first night, payable thereafter, this should be clearer. There is no need to purchase expensive Thomson trips, better (smaller groups in 8 seater mini buses) and cheaper down the hill at Monumental location. All in all, we would consider a return trip, ideal for a week at this time of year.

Room Tip: A sea view room is a must, worth the suppliment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank keith47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent a pleasant week in the Savoy Gardens. As in previous reviews, the hotel is clean and stylishly furnished. We stayed in a mountain view room, which had views of neighbours' gardens and mountains in the background. A kettle and a fridge are provided in the room (so don't forget your teabags!). The breakfast and evening meals were delicious and the choice was plentiful. The rooftop balcony has impressive views overlooking Funchal, which is an interesting cosmopolitan city. The city centre is approximately a 20-25 minute walk downhill.
On rainy days, we made use of the games room in the hotel. There is a pool/billiard table, darts, table tennis, outside chess, boules, mini golf and driving nets, shuffleboard. Reception also have various table top games to play. There was free wi-fi and computer access (this is understood to be a temporary measure). There was a daily activity schedule including short walks, games, well-being classes, card and jewellery making and in the evening there was a folklore show, ballroom dancing show and nightly live music. The evening entertainment is low key. For lunches, there is a very reasonable sandwich/bakery nearby, which the locals use.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are north facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jigdolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just returned from our Honeymoon in this smart up to date Hotel,the Thomsons reps made our transfers very straight forward, the luggage goes in a separate van as the coach has to park down the hill and round the corner, so if you struggle to walk up fairly steep hills, please bear this in mind. Our room had a sea view, definitely worth doing as the view out the back isn't great, and won't get any sun at all. There is a busy road infront of the hotel which can be very noisy at times, so if your looking for a quiet location this isn't really the one for you. The room was lovely and clean, shower powerful, and theres a radio in the bathroom too, so you can wiggle about to that whilst washing. The bed was huge, but the mattress a bit on the hard side for my liking, but did sleep well. Now the food, what was there was of good quality, but we did feel it was limited in what they were offering , a bit on the plain side really but good enough. If you like jelly and ice cream your sorted. Overall a good hotel though, for older couples , we felt rather young there really, but everyone was so friendly there was always someone to talk to.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are best, but traffic noise is a bit of a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Selina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,812 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 86 in Funchal
1,347 reviews
1.7 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#10 of 86 in Funchal
1,780 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Savoy Gardens

Property: Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Address: Azinhaga Casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal (Formerly Savoy Gardens)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Savoy Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sensimar Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Gardens
Savoy Gardens Funchal
Sensimar Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing