We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from the savoy gardens for the 2nd time and its as fabulous as it was last year.
The staff are wonderful, our room was so comfortable and spotlessly clean with a sea view.
The food which gets alot of criticism from people was lovely every night. The staff in the restaurant are great. It's not a big restaurant but there is a lovely atmosphere.
The entertainment is downstairs in the magnolia lounge and there is always something going on. The quizzes are fun there was a duo called infusion who were excellent. Carl is excellent and we realised he is a brilliant singer too he tells some pretty cheesy jokes though (sorry Carl lol)
The hotel is up a pretty steep hill which gets a bit wearing after a while, but it wouldn't put us off.
We hired a car to get around and the scenery is breathtaking. Madeira can be quite tricky to drive around but well worth it.
The pool though heated can be a bit chilly but there is the jacuzzi on the roof with spectacular views.
This is a hotel we could go back to every year, we love it and would recommend it to anyone. Thankyou to all at the savoy gardens for another brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gsagb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,509 - 1,515 of 1,953 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have just spent a week at the Savoy Gardens and we seem to be out of sync with most of the previous reviews. Yes it is clean and comfortable and the staff are helpful and friendly. We upgraded to a junior suite which was very nice but had no toiletries except a container of an unknown substance by the side of the bath.Bath robes were available for an extra charge. WiFi was slow and did not work at all for 2 days. You need to be pretty hardy to use the pool and it did'nt seem to us to be heated except by the sun.
Our main complaint is the restaurant which although had a majority of tables for two they were so close together that the might just as well have been for 4 or 6. Meals are buffet style which worked for breakfast but dinner was a chaotic affair with people moving about in cramped conditions. The menus were unimaginative and the food bland and often only just warm so by the time we got to our table was cold. After 3 nights we gave up on dinner although we were half board and went into Funchal where we found really good restaurants with fabulous food and very welcoming people.
The hotel is in a residential area up a steep hill about 30 minute walk from Funchal centre although there is a bus stop nearby you need to be pretty mobile if you want to walk.
Will definately go back to Madeira but not this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view with balcony. Book a taxi transfer from and to airport as coach cannot get to hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Would recommend the Savoy Gardens 110% to all & sundry. We were treated like royality from the start of holiday until we booked out..Our room was spotlessly clean massive & view to die for.

We had sea view room..you have to pay extra for but worth every penny..
The staff were attentive to your needs. They could not do enough for us to make sure we enjoyed our stay. .We had lovely table every night for dinner..( pool view) it was reserved for us
by head waiter. Food was lovely..Pipping hot..alternitivly you could have cold buffet..

Our bed linen was changed every two days with our fluffy white towels changed every day..
Could go on & on about hotel...Check it out for yourselve & you will see what I am on about.
Having been to Maderia 5 times before...will be going back in the near future.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms Level 6 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just arrived back from Madeira and a week's stay in this hotel. The literature we saw in advance made a great play on the "recent" refurbishment, so that must have been around for a while. However, the standards of decoration throughout are pleasant but unadvenurous; clean, tidy and well maintained. It is typical of hotels catering for mature europeans, mainly british package holiday visitors, with the added advantage of being closed to children(a personal view), the disadvantage being that it occasionally feels as though you are getting an early feel for what later life has to offer. The hotel employees are thorough, efficient, helpful and friendly throughout. The restaurant has an a la carte option but the vast majority of guests are on a package and are fed from a buffet arrangement. My disappointment with this was the almost total lack of anything akin to local cuisine style. The menu was unadventurous and bland (see earlier comment on the nature of most guests).
All in all, conveniently located, well run but nothing to rave about or set your tastebuds alight. The bar prices are high and the wine list limited to mediocre wines charged at a huge mark up.

Room Tip: opt for the sea view over the mountains and take your own comfort items as the hotel charges to top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luvinlifetilwedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel was good on the whole: clean, very friendly, efficient staff. Breakfast was excellent with a large variety of options. Dinner was very disappointing, however. Food was never more than lukewarm, sometimes tasteless, not interesting in flavour or appearance. The hotel would not be a convenient location for people with mobility problems - though there is an hourly bus service from Funchal centre - but we enjoyed the walk in and out each day. I would have given a 'very good' rating if the evening meals had been better. We plan to return to Madeira but not to this hotel, only because of the food in the evening.

Room Tip: Our room lacked an interesting view but this was not a problem to us. It is possible to have a larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

First time visit & we had a great holiday in this lovely hotel & agree that it is worth paying for the superb views. Rooms are lovely & the hotel staff are friendly & helpful. The entertainment team did a fab job & we found the bar staff in the Magnolia suite to be fun as well as efficient. The walk up is hilly but options to take bus/taxi at reasonable price if you are walked out! We found the buffet fine for breakfast but disappointed in the quality of the buffet evening meal which does not reflect the hotels 4star rating. Food kept warm warm is not enticing or particularly healthy. Great pool & facilities & Thomson team were always on hand.

Room Tip: Rooms higher on 5/6th Floor Front have supplement but have great seaviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatima591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a lovely friendly hotel with seaview rooms giving panoramic views across Funchal.
The breakfast is good with the usual English scrambled eggs etc and various continental foods.
The dinner can be a bit hit and miss. Some of the food is similar to school dinners and some is good.Overall though its good value for money but not a gastronomic treat.
It is on a hillside and for good walkers Funchal centre can be reached within 15 mins, or take the bus (close by) and be in in 2 mins.

Room Tip: well worth paying extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,012 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
935 reviews
0.3 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
1.3 mi away
Se Boutique Hotel
Se Boutique Hotel
#59 of 88 in Funchal
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens

Address: Azinhaga Casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal (Formerly Savoy Gardens)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range: $84 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Gardens
Savoy Gardens Funchal
TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing