We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but high up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Went in November for a week, the hotel is lovely and we had a good seaview from our room, all meals were buffet style hot and cold, some meals we found strange combinations but on the whole the food was good. The hotel is much higher up than the lido area, we enjoy walking but this was just too much for us and used the bus, we like to walk after dinner but there wasn't anywhere to walk without a very steep walk back to the hotel. Funchal is very pretty but unless you want to go on the organised walks there isn't a lot to do and walking of course includes a steep climb. The landing at Funchal airport wasn't very good at all and had I known about the problems they sometimes have I would not have gone there.

Room Tip: The seaview rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,515 - 1,521 of 1,942 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks stay at this lovely hotel.Madeira is a beautiful place and is a marvel at night when you can go on the roof terrace and look out at the islands christmas lights. The Savoy Garden is on a very steep incline so the coach cannot pull up outside the hotel ,and the luggage has to taken by minibus to and from the airport.
The food was excellent and plenty of choice at breakfast and in the evening meal.Our room was on the west side of the hotel overlooking the garden,we could also see the sea and the sun was shining onto our balcony from 2.oopm unitl it set.Our balcony was small but adequate.The drinks are quite expensive at the hotel,especially the water ,if ordered at the evening meal.All in all a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deedeeYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I visited Maderia as a golden wedding present to ourselves. Because this was a special occasion the Hotel upgraded our room to a sea view and provided us with champagne and fruit on the actual day free of charge.
Coffee and tea are provided in the room on the first day but a charge is made to replenish them on subsequent days which I think is a bit mean.
The room itself had the best of both world in that we had a mountain view and a sea view being on the corner of the hotel. The room was large although the balcony was a trifle small, but this did not affect our enjoyment. I understand that the complete sea view rooms at the front have larger balconies. The staff were warm and friendly and the food could not be faulted. The only complaint is that the hotel seemed to be surrounded by barking dogs which could only be cut out by shutting all the windows, not the first choice when the temperature was around 70f.

Room Tip: All rooms seem perfectly adequate The ones at the front have a full sea view, the ones at the back a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kenneth e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was my first visit to Madeira but hopefully won't be my last. Myself husband, sister and her partner stayed here for the last 2 weeks in November. We had seaview rooms on the top floor (7th). Excellent spacious rooms, huge comfy bed with a well presented bathroom everything was cleaned impeccably every day. The view from these rooms were fantastic across to funchal, we watched the cruise ships come in and out every day! We stayed half board and enjoyed the variety of food which was very good. Did see some of the entertainment at night which was of a high standard but were out most days so cant comment on the daytime activities. Madeira is a beautiful Island and is well worth exploring, we hired a car for a week and went everywhere, taking in some of the Levada walks. Buses and taxis are plentiful for going in and out of funchal, as i agree it is uphill back to the hotel, does keep you fit though. Having said that we did walk along to the lido area where a lot of the large hotels are situated and although it is flat it would still be a good walk into funchal from these, Savoy gardens is closer to town. I would recommend this hotel for a break and to hire a car. The thompson team and hotel staff are knowledgeable and very friendly with a smile for all.

Room Tip: Definitely a sea view for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Farmertomless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

just come back from the savoy gardens aftre spending a week there I wish I had booked for two.the room was excellent clean comfy and beautiful sea views.the food was varied and very tasty with plenty of selections and pipng hot.the staff are all very friendly and helpful and will advise you on any matters arising.the hotel is high up so buses or taxis are needed for walking back from town but the prices are very reasonable.I would say that the hotel is for over 50s as not enough for younger people to do although there is entertainment every evening and a lounge to have a drink I cant comment on the entertainment as I didnt go but the staff in the lounge are lovely.I will definitely be returning to the hotel next year hopefully for 2 weeks

Room Tip: rooms on the 5th floor overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackson27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Beautiful hotel with excellent, attentive staff. Used the spa on a cloudy day, treatments were lovely. Food was very good. Knew about the location before we booked, used to our advantage as evenings on the roof terrace were beautiful! Not suitable for fat un-fit moaning people. Our first visit to Madeira and won't be our last. Definitely would stay here again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Although we were pleased with the hotel and facilities ,our visit was very stressful as the front desk staff where not helpful ,poorly informed,and actually rude.
The problem started when the staff informed us that they did not have a confirmation number for our Expedia booking.We provided our printed reservation with the Itinerary number showing that the booking was paid in full. Despite this they suggested we should phone Expedia from an outside phone,at our expense, to obtain the confirmation number for them or they would charge us again for the same room. After 3 days they finally agreed to contact Expedia to obtain the Confirmation number . Finally close to our check out date, we were told upon asking that the number had been received from Expedia .Unfortunately by this time, our holiday was ruined by this unnecessary and upsetting experience.
Our suggestion is that certain front desk staff should be properly trained or fired, an opinion shared with us from another hotel in Funchal

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank klaus a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,355 reviews
0.3 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Enotel Lido Madeira
Enotel Lido Madeira
#22 of 88 in Funchal
2,573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#33 of 88 in Funchal
2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens

Address: Azinhaga Casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal (Formerly Savoy Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range: $87 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Gardens
Savoy Gardens Funchal
TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing