We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, good times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great views, good times”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Visited for a week middle of November as a Thomson package. The hotel is little outside of the town but is on a main bus route with a stop just outside the hotel. We were on the 6th floor with a room on the side of the hotel looking out over gardens towards the sea. The hotel and rooms are very clean, the staff exceptionally friendly who all speak excellent English. Stayed on a half board basis, all meals were buffet and offered a great choice. The Thomson staff were very knowledgable, though the reception staff were equally as good. The outside areas were well tended, the sun terrace on the roof offers fantastic views and a great place to sunbathe. The hotel location would not be suitable for anyone who struggles with walking as even off the bus, the walk is a short sharp incline.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    621
    167
    44
    13
See reviews for
59
1,544
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from our 4th trip to Madeira but 1st stay at this hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay but found hills hard going. We knew about hotel location before we went so knew what to expect, so walked downhill to Funchal and got local bus back- stops only yards form hotel. People that moan about not knowing about hills need to do more research before booking their holiday! Room was comfortable and we had a lovelymountain view from the 6th floor. Food good but could have done with a little more variety. Entertainment acceptable tho a little repetative at times, and I wish Thomsons would update the quizes at the end of each season as the ones we did this time were the same as we did in Algarve in June. Also I would suggest that daytime entertainment needs to be rearranged as having quiz at lunchtime is stupid, should be at 4.00 lilke other hotels.All in all I would recommend this hotel and will go back in future

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are very good, and you don't get problem of barking dogs like some seaview c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelholic73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Came in November, so out of full season, but this did not seem to affect the hotel.
The room was spacious and comfortable, and we had a full sea view from only the first floor. The bed was comfy and massive, and even if it was 2 singles pushed together, it was difficult to tell! The en-suite was also nice and both were well decorated and kept exceptionally clean. A small balcony overlooking the pool and sea was great to sit out on in a morning.
Breakfast was better than expected and every morning there was a good selection of cooked breakfast items, breads, fruit and meats. There was no queuing for the food and it was all kept warm. Also omelettes could be made to order.
Evening meals were nice, and each night there was a different theme. We ate there 3 nights, for Italian, Madeiran, and another one which i cant remember (!) and all were good and there was plenty of choice. I have eaten better meals, but for hotel food included in a package it was better than I expected and definitely enough to go around. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout the hotel, and made us feel very welcome.
There is a rooftop terrace which was brilliant to lay out on when the sun was out, and a jacuzzi up there too which was relaxing and had a beautiful view over Funchal.
The one criticism I would say is that it is a good 15-20 minute walk into the new town, and another 10 minutes on top of that to the old town area all downhill, so a very long uphill walk back!. This wasn't made clear to us on booking, but didn't cause too many problems, and the taxis are cheap (€5 back to the hotel from most places in town) and chatty. Also, it is a very quiet hotel, with occupancy averaging 50+, which didn't bother us but may affect some people's judgement.
We didn't go to any of the nighttime entertainment so can't comment on that aspect.
Overall, a fantastic hotel, very comfortable and lovely staff. Would recommend for a relaxed holiday.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

As we have just returned I thought it would be good to express how much we enjoyed our stay at the Savoy Gardens.

We stayed a week from November 5th, and pure coincidence we were in room 307.

I agree with all the comments made by Stevos1959 (room 308. I don't think we met them) I have only one concern and that is for anybody with walking problems this hotel is quite a climb from sea level although not the highest hotel,remember this is/was a volcanic island.

Taxis and bus route 24 that stops just a few yards from the hotel can resolve the issue.

It is also worth mentioning that 2,3 & 5 day local bus passes are available along with the red and yellow tourist bus (hop on hop off) that make travelling about the local area simple.

The food was very good but some of the combinations seemed a little confused.

All in all a good clean pleasant hotel with fantastic staff and the Tompson rep Jenny deserves a special mention nothing was to much trouble, always pleasant and very hard working.

So in conclusion thank you Savoy Gardens and Jenny.

Room Tip: Try and book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just returned (12/11/12) from a weeks holiday at the Savoy Gardens, we stayed in room 308. Its a really relaxing hotel with great friendly staff, food was good and the room was really nice although the bed was really hard we asked for another duvet to sleep on which they had no problem sorting. Our room had great views of the sea and down to Funchal.

I read a few reviews about the dogs barking and I have to say they were annoying but was only woken up once, we always take some ear plugs on holiday just in case and these helped my wife when the dogs started.

Entertainment was ok, Rebecca and Carl are the entertainment staff and they are good fun and bubbly always happy to help. Rebecca has a really good voice always a pleasure to listen too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stevos1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and myself paid a return visit to this hotel on 5th November 2012.
I can only endorse the many good reviews giving top marks to this hotel. The four star rating is well deserved and I can see no point in repeating what other reviewers have said. It is worth noting that some of the very worst reviews were probably justified at the time they were made, but it must be understood that they were reported before the hotel was refurbished and the comments may not now be relevant.

I would however like to pick out a few things that pleased me in particular.

1. The television in the rooms can be used for more than simply watching the usual TV broadcast channels. The menu provides access to information about the hotel facilities, weather forecast, news and messages from the hotel reception. For me the most important thing was the screen showing my daily running total of bar and restaurant bills charged to the room so I was able to see exactly how much I was spending as the week progressed. If the weather should be a problem then it is possible to watch pay-per-view feature films which may be selected from a library of over one hundred titles.

2. There is a computer with Internet connection in the lower ground floor reading/games room. This is available for visitors to use and the Internet connection is free. If you want to use it for exploring using Google Earth you will need to be patient as the connection is desperately slow. Alternatively, if you have your own laptop or similar, there is a Wi-Fi Internet connection available charged at a rate of 5Euros for a total connection time of one hour. At first this may seem expensive but if used daily to send and receive emails this should last for at least a week. I received a very strong connection on the top floor (room 707) and on the second floor (room 201).

3. The air conditioning was efficient and worked well in rooms 201 and 707 although one of the units in 707 was a bit noisy. (Yes, there are two independent units in a suite, one in each room.) Some visitors have reported difficulty with the air conditioning but perhaps they were unaware that the sliding door to the outside must be closed before the air conditioning will work ... the hotel doesn't want to cool the whole of Funchal!

The following are true for junior suites and suites. I'm not sure about standard rooms.

4. The mini-bar in the suite rooms the may be stocked by the hotel with your own personal choice of items which must be paid for, but what surprised me was that as an alternative it is completely free to use to keep any personally bought items such as cheese olives and wine etc. bought from local shops. Quite often there is a charge to use the "mini-bar" as a personal fridge.

5. The safe in the room is free to use. Just enter a four-digit number of your own choice and press the "lock" button. Key-in the number to unlock.

6. Tea, coffee, powdered milk and a bottle of water is provided every day free of charge in the room.

7. The use of bathrobe and slippers are not free and a small charge applies. No problem, I didn't want them anyway!

Room Tip: For me the best choice is always a junior suite on the highest floor with a sea view. I believe the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here for 1 week 29th October to 5th November 2012, booking through Thomson. The hotel is situated to the west of Funchal city centre and (like the rest of the city) on a steep hill. Transfer coaches cannot get to the front door and a short walk from the coach (or transfer by taxi) is required to get there.

The hotel is clean and well maintained with helpful and efficient Reception staff. Our room was one of the cheapest (termed a "Mountain View") at the back of the hotel. It did indeed have a view of the mountains and overlooked the gardens and roofs of the properties behind, though this was absolutely fine. The room itself was clean, comfortable, modern and well maintained. I agree with a previous reviewer that the hotel doesn't replenish tea and coffee - so take your own supplies if you want to use the kettle! Rooms are equipped with a Samsung TV with limited hotel remote and most channels (even local ones) have English programmes (with Portuguese sub-titles).

The grounds of the hotel are quite small and on several levels (it's on a a hill remember!), however the star feature is the roof top panoramic viewing deck equipped with sunbeds, a (free) jacuzzi and (wonderful idea) an honesty bar with drinks, snacks etc.

The downside of the hotel is the restaurant. Perfectly adequate for breakfast, but we went half-board and found that the quality of the dinners was lacking. The salad bar is fine and the deserts looked ok but the main courses were motorway service station standard. Admittedly they were trying to cater for the British tourist with food from home but they were poorly cooked and often inappropriate choices to languish in a bain-marie for long periods . Avoid the soups; it takes genius to make French Onion soup tasteless but they managed it! There are plenty of restaurants within a few minutes walk so unless you have mobility problems I would eat out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veritas_Vir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 87 in Funchal
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
815 reviews
1.7 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#10 of 87 in Funchal
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Savoy Gardens

Property: Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Address: Azinhaga Casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal (Formerly Savoy Gardens)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Savoy Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensimar Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Gardens
Savoy Gardens Funchal
Sensimar Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing