We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is a lovely clean hotel with very friendly staff. Unfortunately we had a room on the back with no view, Room 115, we were offered a change but we decided we quite liked it after one night! The entertainment team were new and fresh, Carl and Gail tried to get to know the guests and were always smiling.
We found the hill a bit tiring but didn't let it bother us by using the local bus. It is not for anyone with walking problems as the front of the hotel has a steep slope.
Over all this is a great hotel on a lovely island, we can't wait to return but probably will pay for a sea view.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    621
    167
    44
    13
See reviews for
59
1,544
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I stayed at this Hotel for two weeks 1st Feb to 13th Feb 2012 however it is with great regret that I have to critisise this Hotel on no other aspect than its position which is half way up a very very steep hill.
I am a fairly fit 68 yr old and I have holidayed in most destinations around the world, but I have never stayed at a hotel where one needs a step ladder to reach the front door (this is the only method of entry) I have never seen as many people totaly unprepared for the terrain around this hotel, as most of the clients were in their 60s to 80s.
There is no access for disabled people to reach this hotel and any person with a slight or minor walking problem would not be able to use this hotel. Transfer busses cannot negotiate the tight lane which leads to the hotel consequently everyone is made to walk approx 200 metres to gain access to the hotel. Because no bussess can reach the hotel suitcases have to be transported separatley to the hotel in a lorry/van then clients have to carry their cases up a further flight of 9 steep steps to gain access to the hotel foyer. I cannot emphasise enough to anyone considering staying at this hotel to seek further advice and guidence and select some other Hotel in a more accessible location. The Savoy Garden Hotel is very good well run hotel and has many of the features to make for a very enjoyable holiday if it were not for the previous mentioned. The rooms are all very comfortable and well appointed (we occupied a room on the 5th floor overlooking the the rear of the hotel with a mountain view) this was a very quiet room and I was quite pleased with view. The dinning room is very airy and bright, a well run self service resteraunt for all meals, giving a very varied selection of good food with excellent helpful staff. The large swimming pool and terraces are exceptionaly well kept with lots of sun beds and seating in and around the hotel. Entertainment is varied but in the main supplied by a permenant team of two Thompson personel as well as two free lance singers(Obsession Duo) who were appearing on most nights during my stay. The theme nights were starring a couple of Ballroom Dancers who were very good also a Saxophonist & a Guitarist (reported to be Mungo Jerrys guitarist)?. The free internet access was appreciated, the sky television access and a choice of other english channels were also very helpful.

Would I return to this hotel - NO but only because of all the steep hills and hundreds of steps in and around the the hotel and leisure facillities.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aykley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed for a week at the end of January. Hotel rooms on 7 floors all with balconies, end rooms on floor 7 have huge balconies with the two at the east side enjoying panaramic views over Funchal and the harbour. 8th floor is the roof sun terrace with a bar, jacuzzi and sun beds. All sea view rooms overlook the large heated (21 C) swimming pool. Outside games area has shuffle board, putting, chess and a golf practice net. Games room has pool, darts and table tennis.
Evening entertainment was OK.
One internet computer in the library, WiFi is €5 per hour.
Hourly bus service to Funchal from just outside the hotel or a 30-40 min walk DOWN to Funchal and a long hard slog UP back to the hotel.
Overall we would certainly recommend this hotel for excellent value and food, very good rooms and service and although it is not in the best position, you do not need a car.
P.S. Take your own tea, coffee, chocolate for use in your room.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms above floor 3 are worth selecting, especially room 701 with great balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EconomicTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We needed to get away...and in search of Winter sun our options where very limited. We are both in our 30's so when we arrived we were a little bit surprised at the average age of most of the other guests (65+)..however we quickly found out that this was to our advantage! we had the pool, sauna and most of the leisure facilities to ourselves!

Breakfast, buffet and staff (very friendly) all excellent, wine list a little limited but hey it was good enough for us. We ate out twice in 7 days but the food outside the hotel was terrible....too many bad restaurants to choose from..so stick to the hotel. There is an a la carte menu available at an additional charge...if the buffet gets a little too much.

Overall we were delighted with this great find! cant fault it...

Room Tip: all rooms are nice, we had a mountain view and enjoyed...the sea facing rooms are a little bit bigge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed for one week, end of Januay, beginning of February, half board. Food was fab and plentiful and the evening meal was based on a different theme each night e.g. Italian, Chinese, Madeiran, but with a wide range of other basics which were on offer every day. Even the fussiest eater would have found it very, very hard to complain about choice given the wide variety of food available. Gluten free etc. options were available and clearly labelled. Al a carte was also an option in an adjoining part of the restaraunt. Wine was reasonalby priced, with special offers each night on particular labels.

Original artwork lines the walls in all public areas, inlcuding the stairwells, which creates a pleasant and interesting backdrop to all other activities.

The resident band, a duo called Obsession, were exceptionally cheesy (Sorry guys but you were) and people voted with their feet a bit when they played. It was very difficult to work out where they started and where the excessive and overproduced backing track of instrumental and backing vocals ended. It felt a bit like, do we really need you there, why not just put a CD on and we will sing along ourselves?

The other aspects of the entertainment were fine. Gail, one member of the entertainment staff had a really good voice, which you could actually differentiate from the backing track which she used.

The hotel is about 2km from the centre of Funchal, so within easy walking distance and a short distance from the sea. However, you need to know that the hotel, as they almost all are, is built on the side of a hill and so most trips on foot will end with a walk up quite a steep hill back to the hotel. We noticed that a lot of people walked into Funchal or down to the sea and got the bus back (very frequent service) or a taxi. The taxis all seem to be Mercedes and riduculously clean (they must wash them hourly). Anyone who has been, will know what I mean. There are ranks and ranks of the, all identical, and all immaculate.

West Island tour is brilliant and very good value for money, including a three course meal in an idyllic fishing village. One of the best tours we have been on, and we've done squillions over the years. Lavada walking trips are also highly recommended and graded so that you can choose on which suits you. They follow some of the thousands of kilometres of lavadas (water channels, which distribute water from the mountains to all parts of the island. Guides accompany parties and point out things of interest. Not to be missed if you are a walker.

Rooms in the hotel are brilliant, but don't be fooled by the term "Mountain View". Found it very difficult to understand how the air conditioning worked and couldn't find any instructions anywhere. Great to have FM in the bathroom. People everywhere were very, very friendly and helpful.

Had a brilliant time and would recommend.

Room Tip: "Mountain View" is streching the truth a bit. The view is mainly of neighbouring propertie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pianoman05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smethwick
Level Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Overall a fantastic stay full of great views, great trips, great food and excellent customer service. Well done Thomsons .. you really put Thomas Cook etc to shame. The entertainment was OK with Chris and Gayle really pleasant and trying hard to energise some pretty old guests. We got the average age of the guests down to 75 and we are in our 40's!!

My only gripe? The bar prices were high i.e. 14 euros a bottle of wine and the same as you could get for 4 euros down the road tut tut Savoy.

Sort this out and its a cracker of a place .... hills are very very steep so beware if walking is difficult. I could hammer nails with my calfs by the end of the stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Again Thomson have come up trumps with this couples hotel. We really enjoyed this hotel; it had a pleasant atmosphere and was nicely decorated and had original art work everywhere. The rooms were spacious and pleasant for the most part.The food was varied and well cooked and presented. The entertainment in the evenings was mainly produced by two young musicians called The Undercovers who had an extentive repertoire and were very talented. A young man called Johnnie Becks who I think was the events coordinator (or something similar) was extremely talented- not only could he sings brilliantly but he was also very funny - and Thomson should be grabbing him for their cruise ships before he goes on to greater heights. Zoe the rep was also a a talented young lady who could sing and play the guitar as well as being very helpful.
The Spa was excellent and the neck and back massage is highly recomended. One of the other guests was a trained masseuse and she said it was the best masage she ever had experienced.

The only negative points: 1) our room was really cold for the first couple of days when the temperature outside was lower than usual and getting the air conditioning switched off did not really help although the extra blankets for night time kept us warm then. In a 4 star hotel some form of heating should be available even if it is not needed the majority of the time - even a portable heater would have been welcome but this was unavailable. 2) It says quite clearly in the 'blurb' about the hotel that the room had complimentary tea and coffee making facilities what it did not say was that this was only for the first day and a charge was then set. This is totally unnecessary and in a 4 star hotel should come as standard. 3) The 'mountain view' rooms was not a 'mountain vew' unless you went out on the balcony and leaned over. Rather is was the view of the adjacent buildings. Pay the extra and get a sea view it would be worth it.
So apart from these few minor niggles a truly great holiday and a good hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely sea view (not mountain)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank madgejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 87 in Funchal
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
816 reviews
1.7 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#10 of 87 in Funchal
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Savoy Gardens

Property: Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Address: Azinhaga Casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal (Formerly Savoy Gardens)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Savoy Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensimar Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Gardens
Savoy Gardens Funchal
Sensimar Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing