We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“excellent for the price.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gorgulho

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Gorgulho
Ranked #85 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Staffs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent for the price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Studio had 2 hotplates and full sized fridge, but no kettle, toaster or microwave. However we managed very well with the limited equipment and would book again if money was tight. Staff were helpful, towels and bedding changed every other day. Plenty of sunbeds at the pool, pool towels supplied.

Room Tip: Third floor and above have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keepwalkingStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    80
    106
    49
    54
See reviews for
50
159
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Not the prettiest of Hotels to look at from the outside and once inside very basic and functional, no frills. So basic in fact there was no ceiling fan or air conditioning in the room which at 27-30 degrees would have been nice.
I went to reception on the first day to inquire about access to a little kitchenette the we had seen in the rooms when booking and had found behind two locked louvre doors only to be informed that we had only booked a basic room and if we wanted access it would cost 35 euros for the week.
The balconies for each room were small square concrete things with tilled floors and concrete walls that were discoloured and grubby looking.
The rooms were cleaned daily and kept nice however the communal areas needed the same attention. They were grubby with flakey paintwork and in need of some fixing up.
The breakfast was reasonable with a good choice of breads and jams, eggs (scrambled or fried) baked beans and the usual hotdog style sausages that hotels seem to serve in hot countries. There was also ham, cheese, fruit and cereal each morning all layed out buffet style.
The best thing this hotel had going for it was the location. There were several mini markets within a couple of minutes walk and some excellent restaurants. There was also a bus stop just around the corner with plenty of buses to take you the 10 minute journey into the main town centre.
With hindsight I would of paid a little extra for one of the other hotels in the same location and would not recommend this one unless you are on a tight budget and don't expect too much or aren't too fussy as you just need a place to crash and shower while you spend the day exploring.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary3007s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

A basic 3 star hotel that does what it says on the tin. Definitely 70's engineering that coul do with a bit of a facelift. However the staff were friendly, very helpfull and always had time to assist with any issues we had. Also while eing old the hotel was immaculately cleaned as was the pool which we sw being cleaned and maintained almost daily. The location gives excellent views over the bay but can be a little noisy in the evening/morning due to traffic. We were B&B and the breakfasts were of a good standard with a choice of continental or cooked - all on a self-serve basis and included in the price we paid. On the doorstep there are a hadful of decent cafes/restaurants the best of which we found to be the Pizzeria La Tricolore where the food was excellent as were the staff. All in all a good hotel which provides value for money with all the basics catered for. If you want the Ritz this isn't it - but if you are after a sound decent quality base to explore the lovely island this will do nicely.

Room Tip: For great views ask for a sea view on a higher floor (there's 10 floors in all)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vic397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Made a 5 days trip to Madeira and i choosed Hotel Gorgulho.
Great location, friendly staff, reasonable breakfast according to an 3 stars Hotel. Nice sea view, clean and quiet.
However this Hotel needs a urgent mantainance. First day the toilet lever broked, our fridge did not work properly.
I would choose again this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MiguelPorto_Portugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

The hotel is very basic and quite old, however the location is fantastic and staff is very helpful and friendly. It can be noisy, especially the rooms facing the Lido area, as you can hear the entertainment coming from the pubs at night time and you can hear the traffic in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faustino74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Me and my partner arrived back from here on wednesday and was very pleased with the experience. All staff were very pleasant and helpful. The place does need a refurb in some areas of the complex, however this did not dampen our stay. The pool area was never too busy so you could relax and work on your tan! We choose the bed and breakfast package and I was pleasantly pleased with the choice of food, i.e; hot food, cereal, fruit, various rolls and bread.......etc. Also the maids made the beds and stock your bathroom supplys everyday, however, if you are looking for a good nights sleep, then you may not find the beds very comfortable. The walk to Funchal city centre took about 45 minutes, so best to get the bus back after a long day sightseeing. Overall, we were pleased with the hotel in general and would stay there again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We got this hotel as a part of a last minute offer, so it was my own fault. This hotel looks like a prison from the outside and the inside has not been cared for since the 1960's. Personnel in reception were very nice, but that's just not enough. Smell of mold, no aircon, stuffy, dark and depressing.
After the first night we upgraded to a very nice place across the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JonS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Funchal hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
2.0 mi away
Residencial Parque
Residencial Parque
#59 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Flame Tree Madeira
The Flame Tree Madeira
#54 of 86 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.4 mi away
Residencial Colombo
Residencial Colombo
#80 of 86 in Funchal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#57 of 86 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.3 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
0.3 mi away
Estalagem Monte Verde & Melba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gorgulho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gorgulho

Property: Hotel Gorgulho
Address: Rua do Gorgulho, 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-450, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gorgulho 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Gorgulho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorgulho Hotel Funchal
Hotel Gorgulho Madeira/Funchal
Gorgulho Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing