We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money.”
Review of Hotel Gorgulho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gorgulho
Ranked #84 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value for money.”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The hotel is very basic and quite old, however the location is fantastic and staff is very helpful and friendly. It can be noisy, especially the rooms facing the Lido area, as you can hear the entertainment coming from the pubs at night time and you can hear the traffic in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faustino74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    81
    108
    52
    55
See reviews for
50
162
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Me and my partner arrived back from here on wednesday and was very pleased with the experience. All staff were very pleasant and helpful. The place does need a refurb in some areas of the complex, however this did not dampen our stay. The pool area was never too busy so you could relax and work on your tan! We choose the bed and breakfast package and I was pleasantly pleased with the choice of food, i.e; hot food, cereal, fruit, various rolls and bread.......etc. Also the maids made the beds and stock your bathroom supplys everyday, however, if you are looking for a good nights sleep, then you may not find the beds very comfortable. The walk to Funchal city centre took about 45 minutes, so best to get the bus back after a long day sightseeing. Overall, we were pleased with the hotel in general and would stay there again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We got this hotel as a part of a last minute offer, so it was my own fault. This hotel looks like a prison from the outside and the inside has not been cared for since the 1960's. Personnel in reception were very nice, but that's just not enough. Smell of mold, no aircon, stuffy, dark and depressing.
After the first night we upgraded to a very nice place across the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JonS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Funchal hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Spent 14 days here in february 2012 and was quite happy with the hotel overall. The prices at this hotel are exceptionaly reasonable, particularly if you book direct. The hotel overall is quite old and the decor tired, but there are no issues with cleanliness or staff helpfulness - in a nutshell if you are happy with the standards you would experience in a travelodge in the UK then you would be happy with this. Towels are changes as often as you wish and bed linen three times a week. The position is perfect for anything you wish to do and views from the hotel are quite stunning from higher up.
Breakfast is adequate with reasonable choice, but if you are looking for the "full english" then be aware that the cooked food is a choice from fried eggs, scrambled eggs, baked beans and hotdog sausages and this doesn't vary, but there is an ample choice of other buffet foods. We did dine in on one occassion in the evening, but found the choice lacking compared with the fare and variety offered by many of the surrounding restaraunts.
Only real criticism we had, and this is not unique to this hotel, is that the dining room was really cold in the mornings, and likewise the bedrooms at night, there is no heating and none can be purchased on the island (We tried!!!)
We were overall very happy with what we got for our money and would certainly consider a return to this hotel - albeit when the mornings and evenings were warmer.

Room Tip: Get a west facing room to get the afternoon sun or ideally one at the front of the hotel and go high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Witwatersrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I have just returned from my third stay at this hotel- it may not look as up to date and modern as other hotels on the island- but what it is lacking in looks - is made up by the fabulous welcome- friendly and helpful staff- excellent food and very clean rooms.

The view from the balcony was stunning- the location is perfect- an easy walk into town- or bus stops outside the hotel- local shops and supermarket across the road.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank merri47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We spent 7 days at Gorgulho in February 2012. Yes it is a bit tired now and our room 806 was a bit cramped, but we had a 270 degree view from our balcony, the room was in fair decorative order and the bathroom had been upgraded, but needs a new shower head. The Hotel was spotlessly clean and our bed linen was changed three times and the towels changed most days. The food was adequate and the dinner menu changed every day. If you want 5 Star Cuisine stay at Reids Hotel. The location is great with 4 buses into town stopping almost outside the door and also an easy 30 min walk into town. And great walks past the Lido along the coast. Finally the staff were friendly and very helpful. All in all a reasonable budget hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neilgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich, germany
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This was a standard 3 star hotel which is what I paid for but the service, value and location made it a nice stay. An excellent room exactly as per my request - high floor, sea view, double bed, which I thought was great service. Location is fine, part of the hotel district of Funchal, with plenty of local services which I like. For breakfast lots of options with moderate quality, totally acceptable for 3*. I would definitely stay here again, though my advice would be to stay as high as possible on SW side for quietest room and sunset view.

Room Tip: SW side for quietest room and sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lessthanbizclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#59 of 86 in Funchal
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#41 of 86 in Funchal
331 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residencial Zarco
Residencial Zarco
#81 of 86 in Funchal
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gorgulho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gorgulho

Property: Hotel Gorgulho
Address: Rua Gorgulho 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-540, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gorgulho 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gorgulho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorgulho Hotel Funchal
Hotel Gorgulho Madeira/Funchal
Gorgulho Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing