We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive and a great location”
Review of Duas Torres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duas Torres
Ranked #44 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and a great location”
Reviewed August 10, 2009

A friend and I recently stayed at the Duas Torres hotel after choosing this as our base when visiting a friend. The Hotel has a great location on the cliff top overlooking the sea. Our self catering room had a hob, microwave and fridge - more than adequate for us. The room was cleaned daily and to a high standard. The pool area was nice and for the main part very quiet - ideal for the 3 of us to get together, chat and relax. Opposite the complex is Forum da Madeira a modern shopping centre with a good supermarket on the lower ground floor and some excellent clothing and retail outlets - at very reasonable prices. There are a number of bars and restaurants in the area and as most nights we walked down to the Casino Da Madiera - we discovered a good selection of both local and international cuisines - with a variety of price ranges - something for everyone.

If you're planning to visit Funchal (which is a beautiful resort with lots to do) make sure you visit the Casino Da Madeira and take in it's fantastic dinner show, Viva La Diva - highly recommended and a great way to start your evening.

Duas Torres was a great base for us and inexpensive, if you're not expecting too much then this hotel comes highly recommended - we booked with hotelclub.com who offered a very easy online booking service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gregster2k9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    124
    32
    16
    11
See reviews for
54
167
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

The room was okay, nothing impressive, but at that price I guess you can't expect more. I enjoyed the stay and the view over the sea was amazing. The staff were very quiet, but kind. You can easily walk to the inner city from the hotel and there's a shopping mall just across the street.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spontainadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We stayed for one week at Duas Torres in Funchal and were satisfied with the hotel. The sea view from the balcony - as well as from the spacious pool area - was very nice. Even though there’s a few kilometres to the centre of Funchal, the location is quite good - there are no other hotels or high buildings to disturb the view, there’s a bus stop right outside the hotel, and there’s a modern and convenient shopping centre (with cinemas and restaurants as well) right across the street. In the evening and night the area’s rather boring with almost no bars, but that seemed to be a general problem in Funchal – that there’s not much nightlife. The room was bright and spacious, and though the furniture (two single beds) was a bit out-of-date, it was a pleasant place to stay. It’s nice that there’s a tennis court at the hotel, but it’s not so nice you have to pay 5 euro an hour to play. In the lobby there’s a computer with internet connection, but again - it’s a bit expensive to pay 1 euro for every 15 minutes online. Apart from minor things like this, Duas Torres is a recommendable hotel.

  • Liked — The view from the balcony and from the pool area
  • Disliked — The furniture in the room could have been more modern
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank morregard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Lovely hotel, views are amazing. Good location. The resturant was good and the staff were really helpful

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westonmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2009

Yes the hotel is tired but for value for money cannot be beaten. We paid just under £30 a night (the view alone was worth that) Rooms basic but clean, staff not overly friendly but they do their job well. Free mini bus into town if you want , it's about 40 mins quick walk though very pleasant if you take your time and stop for a drink along the way. Madeira Forum opposite with lots of shops,places to eat and a supermarket. Pool bar serves very good priced snacks and drinks, large beer 2e. This was our 2nd visit to Duas Torres but it won't be our last.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2009

This was our seventh trip to Madeira and having stayed previously in 4 star hotels we were not sure what to expect but were very pleasantly surprised.
We had a room with a sea and pool view and plenty of space. Self catering facilities were a little basic but we eat out every evening so did not really matter. Walls were a bit thin and any noisy neighbours were not welcome.
The bar and restaurant were 4 star standard and the staff friendly and helpful. Rooms were cleaned daily and linens changed. We used the bus from the airport and it stops right outside the door, very useful.
We would certainly not hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnimpLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

All was perfect,I do recommend !
The worse was have to come back home!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeLoius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Raga Hotel
Raga Hotel
#45 of 85 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#25 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 85 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#31 of 85 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
1.1 mi away
Orca Praia Hotel
Orca Praia Hotel
#37 of 85 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duas Torres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duas Torres

Property: Duas Torres
Address: Estrada Monumental 239, Funchal, Madeira 9004-536, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#8 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#31 Family Hotel in Funchal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#40 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Duas Torres 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Duas Torres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duas Torres Funchal
Duas Torres Hotel Funchal
Duas Torres Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing