We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location and ideal for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pestana Gardens Ocean Aparthotel
Ranked #76 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab location and ideal for families”
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Just returned from a week over Christmas and thought the hotel was perfect if you have children. Great location on a pebbly beach and you can walk to Funchal mainly on a car free promenade (through a tunnel which is wet underfoot) most of the way which takes about 11/2 hours approx passing lots of cafes/restaurants and lidos. The only noise you hear is the ocean and the views from the apartment were spectacular. The hotel staff went out of their way to be helpful and were great with our young children (3 & 5). Was a real break as breakfast was at the Pestana Bay next door which had a huge choice and there are two great restaurants outside the hotel one we ate in a lot was called By the Sea and has fab fresh sea food and always busy full of the locals and the other on the beach called the Yacht Club both cheaper than eating at the Pestana Bay. Weather was great, didn't expect to be sunbathing on Christmas Day and swimming in the pool but we were!!!! Free Shuttle bus into Funchal is also a bonus

Funchal is a lovely place, very clean and the Christmas street decorations were the best I've ever seen
We did the trip up to the Gardens by cable car which the children loved and also did a short levada walk by ourselves by catching the 47 bus to the Hortensia tea garden and walking 11/2 hours and catching the 29 bus back.(buses run every hour approx) The buses leave from the old town in Funchal right by the shuttle bus stop.(this is a much cheaper way of doing a levada walk as the tours charge 35 euros each) There was also a fair on by the harbour which was a bonus for the children!

The holiday exceeded my expectations and would thoroughly recommend the hotel with children as the space in the apartment is ideal with the facility to cook (hobs only) if required. The hotel is a good 3* in my opinion and is not too formal so great choice if you have two boisterous boys like I do!

  • Liked — The quiet location and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JenLePen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We stayed at the gardens 13th -20th August ' 07.

The location of pestanan gardens is wonderful; right on the beach.

The cleanliness of the rooms and public areas is second to none.

All staff from the maid to the manager were helpful.

We were shocked by the size of our one bed apart. it was so big, and actually could sleep seven.

The pool bar to which a previous review refers, was never open during our stay, although it was peak summer. The wooden pallets along the beach are there to provide a pathway, which worked well. The water in the tunnel, was noting more then natural leakage through the rocks.

Useful advice before you go:
Take tea, coffee, sugar and coffee mate, there are none provided in the room, and are very expensive in the supermarket.

Take mosquito plugs, and repellent if you are prone to bites, I got eaten alive, particularly at night, made worse I think because the apartments have no air-conditioning; it's hot!

Eat at the 'Regency Yacht Bar' right on the beach, food, staff and location were amazing, and certainly without doubt the highlight of our holiday.

  • Liked — the wonderful sea views
  • Disliked — the lack of air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jiiBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorks
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

just back from two weeks at the Gardens - brochure didn't mention the disused oil terminal right next door, or the mountain to climb to get to restaurants, shops etc., or the tunnel you had to practically swim through to go the other way to the restaurants ( there was still a hill to climb that way). The apartments were excellent, very clean and spacious - the maid service was second to none, clean sheets & towels every day. BUT there was no pool bar, although the facilities were there they were not in use. OK it's only next door to the Bay hotel where the pool was much better, but if you wanted to stay around the pool & have a drink it was at the Bay - also no night time anything at the Gardens, entertainment, bars etc were all the the Bay. Beware if you are less agile as the hike to the main road is daunting and the 'promenade' along the beach consists of pallets!! It's a bus or taxi to Funchal unless you are extremely fit. This is our 4th time to Madeira and we've usually stayed in Canico, but thought we'd have a change but it's back to Canico next year.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cherryYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNBURY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2007

We Stayed at the pestana ocean gardens aparthotel, it is right next door to pestana ocean bay aparthotel.
As we seemed to be out of season or the ocean gardens wasn't busy as no bars etc were open in the hotel, swimming pool and jacuzzi were though.
We used the facilities at the ocean bay which is right next door only a few minutes away. we had b&b and this is where we had our breakfast, buffet style which had eggs, bacon etc.
some guests had all inclusive and this is where all the food is served. only one restaurant here so if you want to eat out then there is only a couple of places local to walk to.
A cab or car ride into town is only about 10 minutes drive away
although the restaurants do seem to do the same and octopus is the only "fish" which isn't imported or so i was told. we ate out every night and never had a bad or expensive meal.
hotel itself was lovely, maid service every day and we felt really safe. pool could have been a bit warmer as it was heated but still only 23, and jacuzzi was nice too at 32. steam room and sauna nice aswell.
Hotel staff very helpfull and english spoken very well as it was on most of the island.
Most of the guests were 60+.
There isn't a sandy beach on madeira just rocky ones.
overall an a1 holiday and would use pestana again.
Madeira is well worth a visit.
any questions email me
myholidays@number9.me.uk

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank MOWGLI220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Orca Praia Hotel
Orca Praia Hotel
#37 of 86 in Funchal
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#32 of 86 in Funchal
1,752 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.8 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,899 reviews
1.3 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Gardens Ocean Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Gardens Ocean Aparthotel

Property: Pestana Gardens Ocean Aparthotel
Address: Rua Praia Formosa, Funchal, Madeira 9000-247, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pestana Gardens Ocean Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Gardens Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Gardens Ocean Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing