We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Perfect Stay with incredible views"”
Review of Quinta Mirabela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta Mirabela
Ranked #50 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Perfect Stay with incredible views"”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I am writing to say thank you to Paulo and all of your staff at the Quinta Mirabela. We stayed in July from the 6th - 13th and had such an amazing time.

To sum up this hotel in 1 word - "perfect"
The views from the 2 terraces are incredible, the hotel was modern and clean and away from the hustle and bustle of Funchal centre. Watching the toboggan speed down the road whilst stood by the pool was an experience that you would only get at the Quinta Mirabela.

Reception Staff:

Even before we arrived I contacted the reception staff who helped to arrange flowers for our room as a surprise for my partner and they were so nice and polite in dealing with my questions. Upon arrival we were greeted with a smile and the whole week we were there they were always smiling, were always willing to help and nothing was too much trouble for them.

Restaurant :

The chef's deserve a special mention as all the food we had was delicious especially the Madeira night on the terrace and the amazing passion fruit pudding :-).

All the waiting staff were friendly and professional and we really enjoyed eating in the restaurant as a-posed to going out to eat because of the friendly service and great food.

Don't pay attention to the comments on poor service in the resaurant as the staff here work their socks off and are always willing to help and if you want something hot for breakfast they cook eggs however you like them and bacon fresh.

Cleaning Staff:

After a long day out or just a relaxing time in the hotel by the pool we always went back to a nice clean room and although I didn't actually get to meet them I would like to thank them for making our room cosy and comfortable.

Rooms:

We stayed on floor 1 and the room was really nice and quiet. It was modern with a large comfortable bed and the bathroom was clean and spacious. The rooms on this floor and floor 0 are slightly more expensive but not much and it was worth every extra penny for the large private balcony which had amazing views over Funchal.

Travel and Trips:

Taxi's to Funchal centre from the hotel were around 8-10 euros but I would recommend confirming the price before hand so there is no confusion. If you ask at reception the lovely staff will arrange this for you. On the way back to the hotel in the evening the drivers will quote between 15 and 20 euros but we never paid more than 10 and if you stand your ground you should not pay any more. You can book most excursions directly through the hotel who make the phone calls and arrange times for pick ups etc for you.

Don't pay attention to the comments about dogs and bells because the bells start at 10/11am and stop at 8pm and are only on the hour and from the room we could not hear any dogs.

All in all we had an amazing stay at this hotel and will definitely be back to stay again. We have also recommended this hotel to everyone we have spoken to and now on trip advisor too :-). .

Thank you all again at the Quinta Mirabela and we hope to see you all again soon.

Our Kindest Regards

Luke and Amina

Room Tip: Floors 0 and 1 have a large private balcony - worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    63
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
16
179
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Excellent in almost every way. Take your own tea and coffee. The climb to the hotel is impossible - we were fit but in my opinion this could only be tackled in proper walking boots. \the hotel provides a courtesy bus but only twice a day - fares by taxi ranged from 6 to 15 euros dependent on which driver you got.

Room Tip: Room 107 was close by the restaurant but you never heard any noise. It was also larger than 403, whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My partner and checked in on 22 June 2013 and stayed for 11 nights. The hotel was absolutely perfect - great facilities, restuarant and staff, Would highly recommend this hotel - decorated to a high standard. The staff are very friendly and couldn't fault there customer service - first rate everytime. Can' wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma781806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Staid there our last night in our 4 day trip. We got a room on floor 0, but still had some view and personal balcony. The room was nice, althou some down points, like broken and loose lock on the bathroom, shower that maid a horrible flute noise and water damage spot over our bed.
The staff was really nice and helpful. We arrived early and the room was not ready so we got some coffee from the hotel bar. There is free parking right in front of the hotel that was good and the jacuzzi and the swimming pool was really nice.
Breakfast was a HUGE disappointment. Service was almost non, we had to look at others people plates to see what we could ask for as the waiter didn´t offer anything. When I asked for and boiled egg, I got a raw one. Jars of juice on the buffet table that had bees standing there for long so it had separated, and waiter was never around to ask him to fix it. and nothing was marked what was in what jar.
I had also sent a mail before hand about booking a massage. they sent me the spa list to my mail to see what they had to offer. But they did not mention that each day there is a 20% discount on one treatment and the massage I wanted was on discount the day we were that day. They never mention that so I booked it with another hotel. So it was quite sad to see that to late.
No free wi-fi in the room that we thought was a shame and read in the room book that the internet is 5€ per hour in the room.
The view from the top floor was amazing and the bar was good with good service. All the staff was really nice and helpful.
So over all good hotel, but I was not impressed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olios91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is ultra-modern, minimalistic in design and our air-conditioned room had fantastic views over Funchal from a covered balcony. The bed was really comfortable and the room was serviced beautifully. There was a mini-bar/fridge, mini-safe, well stocked bathroom and flat-screen tv...but no tea making facilities. Lifts were roomy and conveniently placed.

Breakfast was buffet style mainly, but you could ask for eggs freshly cooked any way you liked them. There was fruit juice, a great variety of fruit, cereals, toast, cold meats/cheese, salad, cakes, yoghourts of all flavours, tea and coffee...so more than enough to set you up for the day.

Reception and all other staff were friendly and helpful. There was a PC for guests to use and a well equipped gym, not to mention an outdoor pool and sun deck with great sun beds. Pool was a bit cold but we were lucky with the weather and sunbathing/swimming outdoors in January is sheer luxury for people from Wales!

The only drawback is the hill up to the hotel....but I guess if you want the views you gotta take the hill too! The hotel mini-bus will take you down to the centre at set times...which is worth booking at reception. Just get a taxi back ...as the hill is for fell-runners only! Make sure the taxis are on the meter...as we paid 12 euros on one occasion but were charged 7 or 8 euros most of the time so be warned!

Funchal is fabulous and it seems you can't go wrong food and drink wise.....though we found the best restaurants down in the 'Old Town' where all the front-doors are fantastically and imaginatively decorated...worth seeing in themselves! Quinta Mirabela itself has an extensive menu if you fancy a night in

All in all one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Beautiful hotel with fantastic views, perfect for a romantic weekend... Very relaxing atmosphere & very well decorated. Very good prices compared to other lower quality hotels. Very well connected to the centre of Funchal, however not to close so you get a sense of peace & quiet that you don't get when staying in the traditional "touristic" areas... Would highly recommend for a couples romantic break... Staff is always willing to help & very welcoming.

Room Tip: ask for a room above the restaurant the views are fantastic....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martacTrindade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at Quinta Mirabela for 10 days in March, and had a lovely time. The staff is professional, and keen to provide good service. We booked our tickets with a "no refund" rule, but got our money back since we were one day late because of a strike. We had a standard room without a balcony, but the view is simply amazing, and there is always the huge terrace to sit in the sun and enjoy a beer or a glass of wine. There is also a small balcony on the 4. floor, big enough for two persons if you would like some privacy.

Really good breakfast. You pick the bread, they make the eggs and bacon for you, so you wont have to get it out of a sweaty heater on the table.

I see a lot of people complain about noise from dogs, and I really can't say that it was anywhere near a problem. In the 10 days we heard dogs maybe one or two times, and not loud at all. The church, which is 100 meters from the hotel, is more of an annoyance than the dogs, since it plays a melody every hour. Gets a bit annoying the 20th time you've heard it, but no big problem at all.

The only downsides I have with the hotel is that it is small, which also in a way is a good thing, but it means that the bar closes an hour before midnight, and that you have to call for service wherever you are (playing pool, in the spa, at the pool, etc.). The staff is always happy to help, but it would be better to not have to call everytime you need something.

Also, the location. The view is amazing, and it's really nice to get off the main hotel strip. But it is quite a walk to get to town. Walking down is ok, takes about 20 minutes, and must be said to be good workout for your legs. Walking up takes double the time, and can be quite hard if you're not fit. a taxi home from town is about 10 euros. There is no supermarkets or kiosks around the hotel which are open a lot. Some really small kiosks, but couldn't figure out the opening hours.

All in all, a really nice hotel, with proffessional and nice staff, great view, clean and modern. But a bit far from the city center and everything really.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thfagert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.8 mi away
Quinta do Monte
Quinta do Monte
#57 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
1.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#20 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Quinta da Bela Vista
Quinta da Bela Vista
#21 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Mirabela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Mirabela

Property: Quinta Mirabela
Address: Caminho do Monte 105-107, Funchal, Madeira 9050-288, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#44 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Mirabela 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Quinta Mirabela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Mirabela Funchal
Quinta Mirabela Hotel Funchal
Quinta Mirabela Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing