We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Mirabela

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta Mirabela
Ranked #50 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
FUNCHAL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had an excellent time, the restaurant had a wonderful dinner and breakfast, the hotel had many
amenities beyond our needs with a beautiful view. I highly recommend them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
5 Thank ALLYSON W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    60
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
14
161
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We were recommended to eat here for the Saturday night June fireworks. The menu offered did not sound too exciting on the telephone but the price of Euros 25 was amazing. How could we go wrong? The hotel is just superb, modern styling and very restful. We were shown to our table on the terrace and the view was magical.

Service and dinner was totally excellent. Ceviche of swordfish, superb chicken soup, duck breast on spiced rice and fresh fruit with zabaglione complete the offer!

We were given a tour of the bedrooms and would have no hesitation staying here in 2013. OK it is a taxi ride from the town centre but it is well worth the effort. Peace and tranquility await - even the chiming Church clock has charm

P.S. The clock is turned off at night!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the de-luxe rooms. The view is magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louisehertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

A lot has been written about the Quinta Mirabela already, including some more negative comments. Some of those are true, others just depend on what you want. Yes, it's beautifully located above Funchal, which means that it's up a very steep road - that's just how Funchal is laid out. The design is modern and original and makes fantastic use of the location on the hill, with it's multi-level implementation of different terraces and all rooms have sea view. It's an oasis where one can easily while away a few days - it's quiet and private (with only 24 rooms), and has plenty of faculties (a nice spa, gym, small, but well equipped gym, large pool table, etc.). And it has a great restaurant, though that's also almost needed - there are no alternatives within any degree of walking distance. The menu, though, was amazing, adn we must have sampled most dishes in the week we were there, and found it surprisingly good value for a 5* place. They even have a special pizza over, with very good results. Perhaps the only thing that convince impress us was their home-made icecream.
Others have commented on the breakfast, and the selection not being very extensive. That is true, but then again they are only catering to less than 50 people. Thus there is no waffle station or other special things many modern 5* places provide. But we enjoyed it, there is prosecco included, and it's nicely small and familiar.
Reaching the place on foot is not really an option - the road outside is really just too steep. The hotel offers a free shuttle to town twice a day though, which we used - best way to reach Funchal. We also rented a car for the same rate we would have paid in town, and had the car brought to and picked up from the hotel, great service. For those with good shoes it is possible to walk down to a road intersection about 150 m down, from where you can catch a bus. Thus it works.
The rooms were very nice and we through they were very clean and well-kept. True there was no fruit basket or complementary water, as others have pointed out, but that didn't bother us. What I missed was wifi, though there are 2 free-of-charge PCs in the public spaces of the hotel, and they told me wifi is currently being installed.
Somewhere it said that the pool would be heated, but that was unfortunately not the case. We went in early June, and the water was still quite cold.
All in all, we loved the place and have already been recommending it. For a week or so it's great, especially if you are not into a beach vacation.

Room Tip: all water facing. There are some facing the pool with a balcony, which is not for everyone. We had o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nkerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trikala
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

+view,very friendly staff(excellent behavior), clean, luxury, good rooms, nice swimming pool, nice terrace view, design, free parking, hydromassage (water massage)


--no wi-fi (just a pc in the lounge room
-simply breakfast (still satisfied)
-far from the cinty center (DEFENITELY NEED A CAR!)

definetely recommend it

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xarisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

As previously said it had a great view but was on a very steep hill! The hotel minibus only went once a day. It was very quiet and service very slow.Food was disappointing. Check your bills for minor errors! The pool was not heated as stated and there was a definite lack of staff around!
However I need to say that staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionaLittlehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucesterrshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This hotel has a stupendous view over the city and out across the bay - really wonderful. We would recommend it as an alternative to the seafront hustle and bustle, especially if you are looking for a quiet retreat, where you will be considerately looked after and well fed. Just one word of caution, it is way up above the town and so older travellers or people with limited mobility might need to consider the steepness of the hillside. And a tip for using the taxis would be to insist that they use the metre - the hotel is located just outside the city centre and so a few taxi drivers tried to charge us a fixed, and hugely inflated rate. Taxi from the centre should be around 10 euros, (as far as I can remember - not 25...).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manxamelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

An excellent, quiet, and classy hotel, with a fantastic restaurant, and which is away from the touristy areas in the town centre. The manager, Ricardo, greets guests personalky whenever he can ,and the sparkling wine on arrival and breakfast adds to the general ambiance nicely!
Thishotel is certainly away from the tourist areas, and that is exactly what we wanted. It is easy to get into town though. The hotel provides a minibus into town weekday mornings, and back at 5pm, and the local bus is another easy option (no. 19 from the next street down, Estrada da Livramento). Taxi into town should be about 6euros, and around 20 to the airport. It's an easy walk into town as well, as long as you have good knees! It takes about 25 min, but is very steep. We walked down several times in our 5-day stay, butwenoy walked back once! The hotel is at about 1000feet (320m), so the walk back up the hill from sea-level isn't for the faint-hearted!

Room Tip: The superior rom, with a view over the pool and to the sea, was well worth a few euros extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.7 mi away
Quinta do Monte
Quinta do Monte
#62 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
1.3 mi away
Funchal Design Hotel
Funchal Design Hotel
#57 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 979 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
1.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#19 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Mirabela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Mirabela

Property: Quinta Mirabela
Address: Caminho do Monte 105 107, Funchal, Madeira 9050-288, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#45 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Mirabela 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Quinta Mirabela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Mirabela Funchal
Quinta Mirabela Hotel Funchal
Quinta Mirabela Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing