We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb hotel, surprising value and excellent restaurant”
Review of Quinta Mirabela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quinta Mirabela
Ranked #47 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2012

An excellent, quiet, and classy hotel, with a fantastic restaurant, and which is away from the touristy areas in the town centre. The manager, Ricardo, greets guests personalky whenever he can ,and the sparkling wine on arrival and breakfast adds to the general ambiance nicely!
Thishotel is certainly away from the tourist areas, and that is exactly what we wanted. It is easy to get into town though. The hotel provides a minibus into town weekday mornings, and back at 5pm, and the local bus is another easy option (no. 19 from the next street down, Estrada da Livramento). Taxi into town should be about 6euros, and around 20 to the airport. It's an easy walk into town as well, as long as you have good knees! It takes about 25 min, but is very steep. We walked down several times in our 5-day stay, butwenoy walked back once! The hotel is at about 1000feet (320m), so the walk back up the hill from sea-level isn't for the faint-hearted!

Room Tip: The superior rom, with a view over the pool and to the sea, was well worth a few euros extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 270 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed for a week at this tasteful, elegant Hotel with and extraordinary view of the Funchal harbour from up above. We did daily excursions and walked a lot in the mountains and in the afternoons we enjoyed the turkish steam sauna or pool ( depending on the weather). The chef provided packed lunches for a small fee.Some nights we were to exhausted to take the bus that runs regularly, only 2min from the Hotel, to downtown Funchal and then we enjoyed dinner in the Hotel restaurant. Frankly this restaurant was also the best restaurant in the entire Funchal and it is also recommended in the guide Michelin-despite this the prices are very modest .

Room Tip: All the rooms in the hotel are excellent but a little small ( New York City size) but the more expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimmiDanderyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The Quinta Mirabela was exceptional from the overall design, neighbourhood location away from the main tourist area of Funchal, the incredibly delicious breakfast and some of the best dinners I have ever eaten.

The property is endless in it's common areas which make this hotel seem large and uncrowded. And the view of the bay and the town is honestly quite surreal.

We travelled to Funchal right before the busy Christmas season and the hotel was nearly empty. We were treated to amazing service-how can you beat complimentary champagne on check-in and being seen to your room by the property manager?

The breakfast is included and delicious. Fresh fruit, delicious cheese, which I wish I knew the name of, and great coffee and service.

We stayed at the hotel for five nights and enjoyed most of the amenities including the shuttle service to town, the pool, sauna, spa, turkish bath, the restaurant on a few nights, the decks and back garden. We even enjoyed room service, many bottles of wine and spending time in the basement TV room reading magazines left by international travelers.

Funchal was a little sleepy the time of year we visited, but we did go to town and eat at a number of restaurants and did some shopping. We toured Blandy's wine, the pier, a few of the parks including the one at the top of the gondola-which I would highly recommend. We visited a few of the neighbourhood pubs including one just at the top of the hill from the hotel and the bakery at the bottom of the hill.

Ricardo was an amazing host as was all the staff. If you like to feel pampered and enjoy a small boutique hotel, you will absolutely love this property.

Do explore the neighbourhood, do negotiate the taxi fare with the drivers at the end of the hill and absolutely eat in the restaurant-the food is incredible and the setting is very romantic if you want it to be or great for the group. I obviously can't say enough...

Fantastic, worth every penny!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenR0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

This is a great hotel. Quiet, relaxed, loads of space. Great breakfasts. Lovely modern spa with sauna and turkish bath. Even when it is busy you won't really notice. You'll need a hire car to be honest, unless you like taxis, as it is a 300m ascent from Funchal city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the superior balcony rooms - 101 to 105 - which are very private, have great views an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Thinking back of the week we stayed at this place, we can only enphasize how happy we were to have opted for the more sophisticated experience.

The hotel itself is in very good condition; modern and traditional at the same time. What is best about it is definitely the size of the overall property. Think of a rather small but really well maintained estate that offers several spots to just retreat, sit back and relax. There are several deck chairs and couches placed in several areas of the property so that you can enjoy some quiet moments nearby the pool, in the back yard, on the stunning terrace etc. You should absolutely order a glass of wine at sunset and enjoy the amazing view from the terrace.

Our room was situated in the main building - it was quite spacious with a comfortable bed, clean bathroom and everythin we could have wished for. It was cleaned daily and fresh towels were provided as often as we wanted. Bath robes were provided. All in all, the room was very tasteful. We had a wonderful view over Funchal and the ocean.

The only things that seemed to need slight improvement was the breakfast. It was buffet style with eggs and coffee served at the table. Some of the food was rather unspectacular and not always as fresh as one would expect it to be from such an upper class place. Also the choices offered could have been more numerous. The dinner on the other hand (which was not included in our package but which we tried once) was exceptionally delicious!

The value of the location of the hotel clearly depends on individual preference and expectations. Personally we liked that is was not situated in the centre of the city but up in the hills. The walking distance to the city centre was about 20 minutes; be warned however: Due to the steep streets, walking every day rather seems an option for the sportive people amongst us. We rather took the car (there are free parking spots available next to the hotel) and parked somewhere in the city which is not that expensive. Generally, we can strongly advise everyone to rent a car for discovering this island- there are good value offers and it just makes exploring so much more convenient and independent than relying on the local bus service.

One time we went to a big hotel near the sea to ask for scuba diving possibilities: There we could truly see the difference between an unpersonal, totally crowded hotel and the one we chose. And it's not as expensive as you might think: We booked with Opodo one month before departure and it cost around 450 Euro per person for one week (including flight and breakfast). All in all: Great choice!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eurasia89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 6 night stay and throughly enjoyed this small modern exceptionally clean hotel. The manager Ricardo seems to be always there and nothing is too much trouble to ask. We only booked b/b but with the hotel being quite away from the centre of town we decided to eat there. The Chef ' Duarte' has produced a highly imaginative menu and reasonable cost. The wine list is extensive and good quality with competitive pricing. The Superior Rooms are well worth the extra cost as they have wonderful views over Funchal. No tea/coffee facility in the room but no trouble getting a pot of hot water from the bar. Good gym and spa but good idea to ring reception to have the sauna put on around 10 mins before in case it's not on.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littlemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed at Quinta Mirabella for a five-night getaway to re-charge our batteries in mid February and were enchanted. On arrival, we were offered a glass of sparkling wine and shown to our room, which had been upgraded for free to a room with balcony overlooking the pool as well as the whole of Funchal! Our room and bathroom was spacious and stylish and facilities were high-quality. Everything was very clean. Normally we like to eat in different places every night, but having tried the hotel restaurant on the first night, we proceeded to eat every one of our evening meals at the hotel. A first for us! Once Duarte, the chef, found out we were vegetarian, he started proposing special dishes for us, many of them local specialities. There was already a pretty decent vegetarian choice on the menu, but Chef pulled out all the stops, culminating in a personalised five-course vegetarian dinner menu for the Valentine’s night extravaganza! We cannot sing Duarte’s praises too highly. Having said how much we appreciated the beautiful views over Funchal, it should be noted that the views only exist because the hotel sits a fair way up above the town. We enjoyed being high up above the hustle and bustle, and found it remarkably easy to use the number 19 bus, which stops just 100 yards down the street from the hotel and takes you to/from the centre in about 15 minutes. Alternatively, the hotel apparently runs a minibus twice a day, and there seemed to be plenty of taxis. Only caveat is that getting from the motorway to the hotel by hire car for the first time, is not immediately obvious, since you must find your way up very twisty-turny steep streets, going far up beyond the hotel before dropping back down a one-way street. But once you know the way it’s a piece of cake. We loved our stay at Quinta Mirabella, which is run in amazing style by Mr Rodrigues and his staff, and proved excellent value for money. We'll be back next year!

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonAngloDanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#16 of 88 in Funchal
2,362 reviews
2.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Quinta do Monte
Quinta do Monte
#61 of 88 in Funchal
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#27 of 88 in Funchal
854 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#31 of 88 in Funchal
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Mirabela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Mirabela

Address: Caminho do Monte 105-107, Funchal, Madeira 9050-288, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#44 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $97 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Mirabela 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta Mirabela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Mirabela Funchal
Quinta Mirabela Hotel Funchal
Quinta Mirabela Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing