We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect ambience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of O Calhau

O Calhau
Reserve with
O Calhau is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 600 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We're specialized in serving good caffe (Nespresso! What else?), Lunch and dinner, late dinner, breakfast and snacks, tapas and sandwiches. Also with street tables with view to the Cathedral tower in historic center of Funchal, we're your best spot for any occasion during your visit to town.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Just found this restaurant by chance and it looked so inviting from the outside we thought we would take a chance and have lunch there. We had sardines on bruschetta (freshly cooked) and steak sandwich, apple pie (like tart tatin) and capuchino all excellent. We sat inside on very comfortable sofas. Service was very pleasant. We will definitely go back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Calhau F, Community Manager at O Calhau, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your good experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    135
    34
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome coffee and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

A great coffee, wifi and service experience in the heart of Funchal. Highly recommend it. Tiramisu coffee a must.
Will and James

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Will T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Calhau F, Community Manager at O Calhau, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you, Will and James, for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
“Great Food, Fantástic and Unique Place and excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is The best place we have been the last years. best place in Madeira. I went with my wife 5 times in the week we was in Madeira. service with a smile! great food and a great place. All The best for Calhau Team

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank john S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Calhau F, Community Manager at O Calhau, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your review, from all the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The only thing they could say I am sorry and I can only say don't be sorry improve yourself”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I had dinner here and wanted to have an enjoyable evening.
The appetizer was great as was the wine my main course was an entrecote which was good, but my wife's tuna was overcooked and as such very dry. The restaurant was packed and under staffed so my wife ate the tuna after we complained. I even spoke to the chef and he was sorry nut no action taken.
A pity spoiling a nice restaurant
with bad cooking.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deiv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Calhau F, Community Manager at O Calhau, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Sorry for the late reply but only recently we've been managing the TripAdvisor account as Owners. We take in due consideration your note regarding the overcooked tuna. Allow us to say that local people do not appreciate at all rare or medium tuna, but only well done. Your review call us the attention and we will take it into due consideration, we shall ask customers, especially foreigners, how they want it so that it meets the customer's requirement. Thank you for letting us know that the rest of the meal and wine were of your satisfaction. We improve when we receive feedback. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The O Clahau staff makes you feel home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Last November 2013 I had the fortune to visit Madeira. I was sick and tired and on the top of that I needed to send some emails to my people back home, to tell them where I was. I was in a boulevar trying to get free WI-FI, but the conextion was really bad. While struggling I was aproached by a very nice and gentle guy; his name was Anselmo, who invited me to his cafeshop where they offer a great environment and complementary WI-FI. I wen there the place is very nice, the staff is very friendly and so welcoming. I relaxed there, and sent emails to family and friends and the same time I enjoy a delicious food and quite refrshing local beers. I hightly recommed this place to any one, who wants a warm and welcoming cafe...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank montanasinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Calhau F, Community Manager at O Calhau, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Sorry for late reply, but we want to thank you for your nice words. We hope you'll come back! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Calhau also viewed

Funchal, Madeira
 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to O Calhau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing