We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“good value, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lince Hotel Madeira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lince Hotel Madeira
Ranked #39 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good value, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

booked on the web.The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. About 25 minute walk into the centre of Funchal. There are a number of really good restaurants within a 10 minute walk. the airport bus stops outside

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    101
    44
    15
    2
See reviews for
37
152
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The rooms are large and kept very clean. The staff are very helpful. The view from the outdoor pool on the forth floor is good. Unfortunately the down side to this hotel is the location being by a busy roundabout so sitting out on the balcony listening to the traffic is not so good.
Also the breakfasts being a buffet style catering for continental and English are a nice idea but for some reason don't keep the cooked food warm even when it opened at 7:30. The only items that are warm are the toast you do yourself and the coffee.
Another down side was the hotels policy decision to turn off all the air conditioning for the whole floor/hotel because a single couple (who were staying a month) said it was to cold. One option was to keep the door to the balcony open so you could get a cool breeze along with the traffic noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBRCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked the hotel on an internet deal which made it incredibly good value. The hotel was modern, very clean and is located a short bus ride from the centre of town (about 10 minutes) with a stop of the Aero bus to the airport literally on their doorstep. Our room was big and modern and was kept clean throughout, as was the bathroom. We had a big balcony with double glazing, on to the side street but still with a view of the sea. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and replied promptly to our emails before we got there and once we were in Funchal of great help arranging taxis to drop us in walks. The room came with 600 free internet mins that came in handy when checking timetables and checking-in for the flights. Will (and have done) recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Lovely hotel, good food and helpful staff. Position local for Funchal which was in walking distance, but there are local buses, buy a GIRO and top up, they are cheaper if bought in the shops, than on the bus, but a very cheap mode of travel. There are plenty of restaurants local to the hotel, and one we found that the food was not only good but ample sized portions was the Bella Ilha (opposite the Enotel Hotel) The was a small Spar across the road from the hotel, and a larger supermarket down the hill opposite.We found the local people in Maderia to be friendly and helpful. The weather was changeable but generally warm for our stay in March, but don't be fooled by the clouds that hover over the mountains, we still managed to get sun burnt! This is a hilly terrain and there are quite a lot of cobbled streets so flat shoes are sensible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grannyjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here in March 13, great location, good food, rooms spotless and all staff smiling and helpful. Will definately be back this year.
Centrally located so walking to Adjuda/Madeira Forum or Funchal is reached in about 15mins. Good bars and restaurants right on the doorstep. Good balcony (ask for a large one) looking out over street, great for people watching, and nice sea views.
Excellant value for money, give it a try.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DF_JF209973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Booked this as a short winter break and couldn't fault the hotel from almost instant check-in to spacious classy rooms, the roof top pool looked gorgeous, although it wasn't quite warm enough altogether outstanding value - would stay here again if I ever get back to Madeira. Couldn't get to grips with the hop on hop off sightseeing bus, though it was a pleasant walk to the old town and there are some great bars & restaurants on the way

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

What a fantastic surprise.Beautifully appointed, classy, contemporary. We werent sure what to expect, how pleasantly surprised we were. The staff were friendly, helpful, professional, polite, happy... The room was large, well appointed, comfortable, well equipped. We like our food, local cuisine, architecture, culture, walking, travel, very pleased with all we did. But shop around, you can get a bargain if you try.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcdb1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Raga Hotel
Raga Hotel
#41 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Girassol
Hotel Girassol
#48 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alto Lido
Hotel Alto Lido
#43 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#32 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#27 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Views Monumental Lido
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lince Hotel Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lince Hotel Madeira

Property: Lince Hotel Madeira
Address: Estrada Monumental 274, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#42 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lince Hotel Madeira 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lince Hotel Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lince Hotel Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing