We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"I'll be back"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lince Hotel Madeira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lince Hotel Madeira
Ranked #42 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“"I'll be back"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Booked in for one night by the office travel agent with a very low threshold to move. Perfect location in Lido area surrounded by fabulous restaurants catering for all tastes. Room was spacious and airy with Juliette balcony facing the splendid Atlantic vista albeit over the main road (which surprisingly caused no disturbance even on a weekend). Bathroom cleanish but with hairs still present on walls, toilet and bath Breakfast was reasonable quality but I was disappointed that juice was not fresh (watered down concentrate), coffee was afwful and there were no boiled eggs. With a little attention to detail this place could be outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kossakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    127
    61
    20
    3
See reviews for
48
187
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff and impressed that even after having spent day in the room and not leaving it until about 4pm, it was still cleaned which was lovely. Pool area very pleasant with a bar area, good breakfasts with lovely fresh fruit and good selections. The rooms were spacious, fresh and modern, with a nice balcony. Our room faced onto the road with sea views and was quite noisy with traffic noise (and occasional singing from bar across the road) which didn't bother us but the rooms have aircon so with the patio door shut shouldn't affect. No tea and coffee making facilities, we took a travel kettle etc, there is a cool box (not cold enough to be a fridge) to keep fresh food in. About 30 to 40 min pleasant walk into Funchal town centre and handy for nice walks along the promenade. Would not hesitate to stay there again

Room Tip: Rooms with sea views are on main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jwinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed for two nights. Good location near lots of restaurants. Clean and reasonably well equipped. Good internet service. Plentiful breakfast. Nice pool and decking area. Friendly and helpful staff. Well worth staying for a short break. Very good value for money

Room Tip: Go for high floor to get the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesA298a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
148 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

During my 2 week trip to Porto Santo my son and I decided to book an excursion to Madeira which involved a 3hr ferry crossing and then an overnight stay at a 4star hotel. We arrived at the hotel at 10:30pm staright from the ferryport and walked into a deserted lobby, lounge and bar area and were then met by a rude and abrupt member of staff who checked us in.
We were given a room on the 1st floor. Upon entering I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room, however, little did I know I would be having one of the worst nights sleep that ive ever had in a hotel room. Luckily, we were onlt stopping the 1 night so the lack of hanging space in the wardrobe wasn't an issue. The fridge was warm ( I think my water would have been cooler if I'd left it out on the table instead of putting it in the fridge). The TV was tiny, mounted on the wall and you could not even watch it properly it was so far away from the bed. The bed......no duvet just a cotton sheet, and the pillow were like cotton wool balls in muslin......no support at all and tiny.....I'veh ad more comfortable pillows on an aeroplane! Furthermore, I'd asked for a twin room and got a double. Luckily my son is 11yrs old, any older and this could have posed a problem.The room faced a main road that was busy and loud till 1am with traffic and then busy again at 6am.
The restaurant was closed at 10:30pm and room service had finished at 10:00pm...we were starving. Luckily there was a Spar shop across the road where we bought some wine, cheese and bread which we took back to our room.
Breakfast....frankfurter sausages and cannon ball croissants with juice that tasted like seawater. Fail!!!
We checked out about 9am but the hotel did have a luggage room where we left our belongings and returned around 4pm to collect. When we returned we were an hour early for our arranged taxi pickup but we were able to make the most of the English versions of Madeiran newspapers and free wifi/computer in the lounge........
Would not pick this hotel again....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Durham England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Hi the Lince was nice supprise. It is ultra modern and gives you a feeling of being in an "up market" hotel. The staff all very helpfull, rooms spotlessly cleen. Rooftop pool very nice but cool until afternoon sun warms up. Breakfast both english and european buffy style. Evening Meal typical Madeirian high standard. Positioned on Roundabout with plenty of traffic going by but drivers all seem very laid back no honking of horns as in spain/italy. Built next to several shops and a big supermarket over the road for supplies. Hair drier in room but no kettle ( we like a coffee on wakeup).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

As a frequent visitor to Madeira the standard of hotels in Funchal has fallen in recent years, so 5* hotels become more like 4* and so we felt that the hotel features were more like a 3**. Lacking in atmosphere in the bar area completely and decor very poor, two small pictures and mirror in wrong place as no near dresser. The mini bar in the hotel rooms are empty but can be filled on request, our fridge was hotter rather than cold but kept the water below boiling temperature. The rooms themselves are a good size as is the bathroom but no bottled shampoos/bath gel as already in a pump wall dispensor, no razor or shoe polish sponge. The entrance of the hotel is more like an emergency exit arrangement of a cinema, should have sliding electronic doors but we know the hotel was acquired and not designed by the owners, so it does not feel very welcoming. The staff in reception were excellent and the breakfast staff were also much friendlier after a couple of days. The plus is the garage, not something that we normally give excellent reviews but this is the best garage of any hotel that we have stayed. The location was excellent and close to lido for swimming in the sea and plenty of restaurants close by including a Pingo Doce supermarket etc. For cheaper meals, try the old town of Funchal as around € 6.50 a person.

Room Tip: Sea views are by the road, so expect traffic noise. Land views are at the side and by a one way qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed here for a week and cannot fault the service, cleanliness and presentation of the hotel. Any problems we had such as asking for more pillows was dealt with immediately and in a friendly way. The breakfast was ok, the gym was small but functional and the pool was great. All very civilised and quiet. Perfect!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RJPerrelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Raga Hotel
Raga Hotel
#43 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#41 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.7 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#44 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Four Views Monumental Lido
1.8 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#31 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Girassol
Hotel Girassol
#50 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lince Hotel Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lince Hotel Madeira

Property: Lince Hotel Madeira
Address: Estrada Monumental 274, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#41 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lince Hotel Madeira 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Lince Hotel Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lince Hotel Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing