We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”
Review of A Vela Branca

A Vela Branca
Ranked #265 of 621 Restaurants in Funchal
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This restaurant is popular with the Portuguese, which is generally a good sign. We found the food to be excellent. I recommend the fish soup or the mussels for starters, and the fillet steak for main course. Extremely generous portions! Their speciality is flambe which was entertaining to watch.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dancing2thebeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    67
    9
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gloucester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“wonderful fresh food. Good value lunch menu”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I have just read a poor review of this restaurant. Was he talking about the same place!! we ate here 4 times last year over the fortnight. This year we stayed at the Pestana for a week and ate at a vela branca on 6, yes, 6 occasions. The lunch time menu 1 drink and meal for 8 euros is incredibly good value. the meal was plentiful, the veg and salad fresh and the staff very friendly.
the tables are always well presented as are the staff. We recommended it to several people and they thanked us for doing so.
we love it and if we visit Madeira again we will go back there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service and reasonable prices”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We ate here twice, and found the food to be of good quality, the service friendly and helpful and the prices very reasonable. Well worth trying if you are in the 'hotel district' of Funchal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KentishMan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The food here was very good, and worth waiting for. Just as well, as service was slow, but all in a pleasant atmosphere, and many dishes hand cooked by the tables which probably slowed the process. Being on holiday that hardly mattered to us.

We enjoyed the black scabbard fish with banana, and a beef estpetada. Both were generous portions, very nicely cooked, and extremely tasty. Nice touch to be given passion fruit liqueurs with the bill, particularly as we had only had a single course meal. We would certainly go back there again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GeoffandHelenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Sunny Island
Level Contributor
160 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Nice food good service”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Ate here 26 February. Had garlic bread, it's ok. I had espada fish with banana, two pieces, came with boiled potatoes, fresh carrots, broccoli. My husband had chicken cutlet which was two large pieces of chicken, with sauté potatoes with onion and salad. We had water and a coke the bill was around €30. I have eaten here several times before and would recommend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank quillingartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Vela Branca also viewed

 

Been to A Vela Branca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing